The confusion seems to be in you’re holding back naval ships for naval bombardment. The advantage about scrambling planes is that it forces the attacker to commit all their naval ships regardless if they want to or not. That’s why it is sometimes wise to scramble in a losing battle if the enemy is relying on bombardment for victory. The easiest situation would be when Japan invades the Philippine islands. If Japan was so aggressive that all they brought was two infantry with two cruisers as example. I would scramble the fighter in that situation because while I will lose the sea battle, if you choose to invade the island after the battle, you’re doing it without naval support which gives my defending infantry a better chance at winning.
Flying Tigers - allowed to scramble?
-
Hello,
I know that all chinese are limited in movement and occupation to their original territories. But whats about i.e. UK builds an airbase either in Kwangtung or Burma (doesnt matter why this should happen) and the Flying Tigers get stationed there?
Could they scramble?
Kind regards,
N. -
Morning hecatomb.
I am afraid not. The Ft cannot leave the territories designated in the rules. Sea Zones are not included in the list. -
Thanks for your fast answer, Wittmann. Honestly, I’d wish it would have sound different. :wink:
I thought about because in ruleset theres spoken about active movement and occupation. So I hoped scramble could work.
Thanks!
N. -
Pretty difficult to get into a position where it might be possible. An airbase on Kwangtung or Burma are the only things which don’t depend on Japanese action. In the latter case, I’m assuming an airbase is not removed like an IC is when a Chinese territory is liberated.
-
I also think there are not that much situations for this. :wink:
Its only for my, hm, call it personal wisdom. 8-)
-
Pretty difficult to get into a position where it might be possible. An airbase on Kwangtung or Burma are the only things which don’t depend on Japanese action. In the latter case, I’m assuming an airbase is not removed like an IC is when a Chinese territory is liberated.
That’s correct, but China cannot repair a damaged base either. Once the base is out of commission, it is out of commission until someone other than China controls the territory and repairs the base.
Marsh
-
On the subject of the Flying Tiger unit allocated to China, by the way, a nice way to provide a distinctive sculpt for it is to borrow a green American fighter sculpt from A&A 1941. The 1941 Allied fighter in that game is a Curtiss P-40 Warhawk, the plane actually flown (famously painted with a shark mouth design) by the Flying Tigers.





