@simon33:
You also need to refer to the China Rules:
…
Otherwise it would be a local rule.
In fact there is no need to refer to the China rules.
Most important is that the roundel printed on the territory indicates the ‘original controller’.
And this is a general rule stated on page 8 of the Europe as well as Pacific rulebook.
This is valid regardless of who is the current owner. What makes those Chinese territories special
is that Japan has already conquered them at the beginning of the game.
For arguing whether a Japanese Major IC is allowed or not the roundel (indicating the original controller) just is enough!
@rulebook:
When the rules refer
to the “original controller” of a territory, they mean the
power whose emblem is printed on the territory. (A few
territories in China have a Chinese emblem on them but are
controlled by Japan at the start of the game. These territories
are considered to belong to China originally, but have been
captured by Japan.)