@redrum:
I asked a few NWO players from the lobby and here is the response:
“1) LHTR is unchecked, and in that case fighters can’t land on new carriers
2) LHTR is checked and in that case normally fighters should be able to land on new carriers, but combat move before purchase makes impossible to validate the move
so, I would say, if LHTR is unchecked, surely not possible, if LHTR checked, most probably not possible (and definitively not allowed by the engine)”
Of course, the only reason the purchase phase comes after the combat movement phase is a matter of convenience, iirc. It shouldn’t affect whether a move is legal or not, right?
But, that being said, the LHTR rules still can be used, just not to validate a fighter’s move in combat. Ice said this on the other thread:
"about manuevering planes so they can land on newly phurcased carriers: no another mumbojumbo rule that yust wont fit into the bigmaps we have. not to mention the rules already covers this:
The Carriers that will be picking up the aircraft must be CAPABLE of moving to their Pickup Destination DURING Combat Movement phase, BUT they do not actually have to make the movement until the Non-Combat Movement phase.
in other words when there is no carrier u surely cannot do it.
ice "
So, I will defer to ice’s interpretation and expertise on the NWO and related maps. Since the purchase is not made until after the combat move (whereas in G40 it is, for example), the purchased carriers cannot be used to validate the legality of the combat move. This is not to say that the fighters cannot land on the newly purchased carrier – in your example, Balladeer, if Iceland belonged to the Allies, then you could make the combat move since the fighters would have a place to land, and then during non-com still move the fighters to SZ17 to land on the newly purchased carrier (which you could not do without the LHTR box being checked, so it does still matter).
So let it be written, let it be done… :-D
Is everyone good with that? This will apply to WaW and TRS as well – I’m not sure why I’ve never had this come up in WaW, must just be a strange quirk…