@Gamerman01:
Not at all
Afghanistan is neutral at the start of the USA turn. USA cannot fly over Afghanistan on this turn except with planes that are attacking Afghanistan in combat move
Then on UK’s turn immediately following, UK can freely fly over Afghanistan.
OK, attacked previously means attacked on an earlier turn, it doesn’t mean at any moment in time previously to now (it does not mean USA can fly over in noncombat movement because she attacked in an earlier phase of the turn)
It’s simple: You can’t fly over a territory that was neutral at the beginning of your power’s turn. Attacking it directly is not “flying over”
Gamer, I’m curious what is the source for the equivalency ur drawing between “previously” and “before the start of your turn.” If u look at the official rules, the game designers used the phrase “since the start of your turn” repeatedly in places where applicable. (e.g., “If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move
sea units through it (you can’t use it in the same turn that you capture it).” p. 9). Presumably, if they intended for that concept to apply here, they would have used the same language. But they didn’t.
Particularly noteworthy, in this regard, is the language that appears on page 11, addressing neutral territories. It states, “When a neutral territory is invaded, it’s no longer considered neutral and immediately becomes part of the alliance opposing the power that attacked it.” (Emphasis added). It does not state that the change in alliance occurs at the start of the next players turn. It states that the change occurs immediately. The consequence would be similar to the change that occurs when one power declares war on another–the DOWed power immediately loses its neutral status, and fly over restrictions it entails.
Thus, it would be permissible, for example, for UK to attack Afghanistan with a single infantry, lose the fight, and the non-combat planes from India to Moscow over the now-hostile territory. Everything in the official rules appears to point to that conclusion.