Unfortunately it’s not clear in the rules, but that’s been corrected in the second edition. The same principle applies to destoyers cancelling submarines’ abilities - once the destroyers are gone, the subs regain their abilities in the next combat round.
Moving through canels question
-
Hi peops…
An example is this: Canal,
If you capture a canal in your combat phase can you move your boats through the canal ( now your’s ) in a non combat of that same turn?
BH
-
No, you can’t do that.
@rulebook:
…
If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move
sea units through it (you can’t use it in the same turn that you capture it).
…HTH :-)