99% sure open communication is allowed. The extent to which it’s allowed is up to you, though. With my play-group we cut it off at “talk of general strategy is allowed, anything more specific is not.” We do it this way because of bad experiences where multi-player games would devolve into the “good” Axis Player and the “good” Allies Player forcing their teammates to obey their orders on what to do each turn, effectively turning the game into a 1v1 with a peanut gallery. That’s not much fun for anyone.
Build/Placement question…
-
It’s on page 22 in the 1st edition and page 23 in the 2nd edition.
-
Man, if you would give me a second….
I edited it before I saw your post. I have a hard copy of 1st edition rulebook because I bought the 1st edition game. The 2nd edition rulebook has almost the same numbering, but at some point gets off a little.
-
Ya’ll are gonna have to wait for Krieghund. I don’t see that intentional over-purchase is disallowed.
Re-reading Krieghund’s reponse, he says “if for some reason you have purchased more units”
STILL room for interpretation! Can you over-buy intentionally, or NOT?!
I’m guessing intentional over-buy is not allowed, and that if you were playing face to face, you could stop your opponent during the purchase phase, but what do I know? No rule against intentionally over-buying, and Krieghund hasn’t yet said there is.
-
very important issue to clear up - should we assume krieg is reading this thread or post to the official FAQ thread?
-
He’ll see it because he posted to it, I’m sure
-
tripleA does not allow you to build more units than you have production capacity i believe so that’s helpful.
-
How about you test it, and go from “believe” to “know”? :-)
Yes, if it is illegal to deliberately over-buy, that will be helpful in automatically controlling that.
-
well, it would not automatically control the issue, but it would put at least a potential roadblock up which would deter most players… :-P
-
How would it not automatically control it? Edit mode doesn’t count
-
yeah a player could do an entire move and then say, tripleA wouldn’t allow my legal move so i just edited through it. LOL
-
Sure, that’s not what I meant. It controls someone sneaking in this move.
-
Ya’ll are gonna have to wait for Krieghund. I don’t see that intentional over-purchase is disallowed.
Re-reading Krieghund’s reponse, he says “if for some reason you have purchased more units”
STILL room for interpretation! Can you over-buy intentionally, or NOT?!
I’m guessing intentional over-buy is not allowed, and that if you were playing face to face, you could stop your opponent during the purchase phase, but what do I know? No rule against intentionally over-buying, and Krieghund hasn’t yet said there is.
Need Krieghund to see this
-
tripleA does not allow you to build more units than you have production capacity i believe so that’s helpful.
Not true. TripleA only gives you a prompt saying you have more units than you can place. You can just click through if you want. This came up in a game of mine recently where Japan never actually declared war on the USA, and since the factories don’t become majors until after the buy, it told me I couldn’t place. I just said, w/e and clicked through, placed all my units just fine.
-
I just confirmed it with Japan as well. YOu can totally buy however many units you like in TripleA - it just warns you, and then saves them for later rounds when you don’t place.
-
there ya go. so it’s a minor roadblock at best.
-
There’s no rule that says you can’t intentionally over-purchase.
-
so there we have it. thanks krieg.
-
Two related questions:
1. If you over-purchase, can you choose not a mobilize carrier if one of your planes can’t land without it?
2. If you over-purchase, can you choose not to mobilize a carrier whose purchase was originally required to launch an attack (by creating a hypothetical landing zone)?
For the record, I will not be over-purchasing in my games, I just wish to know what my opponents can get away with.
-
More simply put, is there ever any exception to the part of the rules that reads “your choice of units” (page 23 rev.2 rulebook)?
-
Your choice doesn’t allow you to violate other rules, so:
1. No.
2. Only if the air units that were going to land on the carrier either no longer exist or have another place to land.