2015 League General Discussion Thread


  • Useful tip since we’re in this uploading crisis:

    When you load the game and you’re at the setup dialog, right before you click the Play button, keep the Play By Forum option enabled as you would normally, but uncheck the Attach save game to summary checkbox, which will still allow you to post the game summary but without uploading the game. In addition, enable the Play By Email option and fill it out as you would for a PBEM game. Now, with both PBF and PBEM enabled, you can SIMULTANEOUSLY post the summary to the forum while having it email the game to your opponent (instead of posting it to the topic). That way, you’re back to just the one click for posting, and not having to save the game and then attach to email and send outside of TripleA. Will save you on time and headache!

  • '16 '15 '10

    Good info Axis-Dominion, thanks!

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    My second game back in the league, and I already have questions!  :-P :-P

    What is the rule if I upload my opponent’s map, make my turn, but before I ROLLED the combats, my opponent had posted an edited map that I didn’t see and that implicates my combats, i.e. move units in or out of a combat?

    Put more simply: I was unaware my opponent changed his NCM moves on a second map until I had conducted combat on his first map.

    There is no problem here. Shin JI and I came to an agreeable result, but I just want to know if there is a default rule in case of future issues.

    This probably only applies to trigger-happy fanatics like me and Mr. Roboto……  8-)


  • @Karl7:

    My second game back in the league, and I already have questions!  :-P :-P

    At your service

    What is the rule if I upload my opponent’s map

    pretty sure you mean DOWNload

    , make my turn, but before I ROLLED the combats, my opponent had posted an edited map that I didn’t see and that implicates my combats, i.e. move units in or out of a combat?

    League rule is that the moment you post a map, your turn is FINAL and cannot be changed in any way without your opponent’s consent.

    Put more simply: I was unaware my opponent changed his NCM moves on a second map until I had conducted combat on his first map.

    You have all the rights.  You give up all your rights when you post a completed phase (in this case, the whole move, so the place units phase is complete)

    There is no problem here. Shin JI and I came to an agreeable result, but I just want to know if there is a default rule in case of future issues.

    This probably only applies to trigger-happy fanatics like me and Mr. Roboto……  8-)

    Trigger-happy people can cause serious consequences for themselves, just like in the old west….  :-)
    Happy gaming, Karl

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    @Karl7:

    My second game back in the league, and I already have questions!  :-P :-P

    At your service

    What is the rule if I upload my opponent’s map

    pretty sure you mean DOWNload

    , make my turn, but before I ROLLED the combats, my opponent had posted an edited map that I didn’t see and that implicates my combats, i.e. move units in or out of a combat?

    League rule is that the moment you post a map, your turn is FINAL and cannot be changed in any way without your opponent’s consent.

    Put more simply: I was unaware my opponent changed his NCM moves on a second map until I had conducted combat on his first map.

    You have all the rights.  You give up all your rights when you post a completed phase (in this case, the whole move, so the place units phase is complete)

    There is no problem here. Shin JI and I came to an agreeable result, but I just want to know if there is a default rule in case of future issues.

    This probably only applies to trigger-happy fanatics like me and Mr. Roboto……  8-)

    Trigger-happy people can cause serious consequences for themselves, just like in the old west….  :-)
    Happy gaming, Karl

    Ok, good to know. So, when you post your first map, you are stuck unless the other side allows a modification.

    Most of the time, players will post modified maps for NCM edits all the time, but it is not usually an issue because the other player won’t be so quick as to download the first map before the second is posted.


  • Right - that is the league default rule

    I recommend checking up front with your opponent if you’re not familiar with them
    Make arrangements with your opponent for late edits in advance, or use the old “So you want to be a Millionaire” technique - say “final answer.”  There are lots of possible solutions - just beware that you cannot assume that you can post moves and then change them later, even if it’s 1 minute later.  Technically requires consent of your opponent.

    But if you don’t make any arrangements, you post a move, and you later want to make changes, if your opponent wants to be a stickler the moderators will side with your stickler opponent because those are the default league rules.  The line has to be drawn somewhere so that it’s definitive.  :-)

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Here is another question:

    If USA attacks sz 6 by air only because of a blocking dd, and USA fails to clear 6 but the only defending units left are scrambles Japan air units, can the USA move into 6 on its ncm, assuming that the scrambled air units are not in control of the sz because they had to land back in Japan?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    so basically do I need to keep a surface warship in 6 to keep it hostile after an all out air strike by the USA?

  • '16 '15 '10

    @Karl7:

    so basically do I need to keep a surface warship in 6 to keep it hostile after an all out air strike by the USA?

    Yes I think so.  From what I understand, the scrambled fighers are back in Japan at the end of the combat move.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Zhukov44:

    @Karl7:

    so basically do I need to keep a surface warship in 6 to keep it hostile after an all out air strike by the USA?

    Yes I think so.  From what I understand, the scrambled fighers are back in Japan at the end of the combat move.

    Yes, I agree. I looked at the rule book (shocking, I know!) and it says that scrambled aircraft return to base before the moving player starts his NCM.  So if there are no ships, there is not hostile sea zone and the USA can move into 6 if there are no defending ships.

    Does tripple a reflect this?  I seem to recall that “cleaning up air battles” happens after the ncm move is over, but I could be wrong.


  • Yes you can move into the sea zone if there are no surface enemy ships remaining.
    I think Triple A will let you do that with no problem, yes


  • Should the ruling about MrCunego’s games be made an official part of the rules? Seems like it would be a logical addition.

    So extend section 7 with something like “All games are included in the league year in which they are reported, unless the game is decided by default (see sections 5d, 5e), in which case the game is included in the league year in which the losing player made their last turn post (or partial turn post).”


  • I don’t think so…. isolated incident - I appreciate the suggestion - considered it, but felt it presents other problems

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Ok, just so I am clear, for an Axis win, they need to hold 8/6 VCs for an entire round from when the condition is achieved.  So G10 to G11, or It10 to It11 and if the allies manage to capture one VC in the interm and then even lose it back to the Axis, the victory condition is reset.

    And tripple A has this wrong.

    Thanks


  • @Karl7:

    Ok, just so I am clear, for an Axis win, they need to hold 8/6 VCs for an entire round from when the condition is achieved.  So G10 to G11, or It10 to It11 and if the allies manage to capture one VC in the interm and then even lose it back to the Axis, the victory condition is reset.

    And tripple A has this wrong.

    Thanks

    I am not sure, but I think it depends on when the axis take the vc back. For example. If and when the axis grab the 6th vc on J10 and the axis loses a vc on I10 and grab a 6th vc back during the G11 turn, then its still a win for the axis. However if it is Japan that needs to grab the vc back, then you are right. Basically the vc win condition checks if you have the required amount of vc to win the game and checks if you still have it when it is your next turn with that country. Might be wrong, but I think this is the way it is.


  • Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    ts

    can you post a link to you response?

    the ambiguity is if is the allies snatch a VC back if only for a turn during a round. Example: Ger gets 8 on its turn, USA takes 1 back, Italy gets it back – my understanding (now) is that this resets the Victory condition.  So The Axis would have to hold the 8 VCs until Italy’s next turn.

    That is correct, right?

    The rule book actually I think is too clear on that and could use an example to illustrate that.

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Karl7:

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

    This very frustrating:

    So, the rule is this:

    The axis must hold 8 or 6, VCs depending on the theater, from the time an Axis power takes the final requisite VC and first meets the condition until that power moves again for the Axis to win without losing any of the necessary VCs between that time.

    Right?


  • Yes

    @Karl7:

    @Karl7:

    @Gamerman01:

    Please see my answer in the FAQ thread

    When the Axis have met victory conditions, to win, they must maintain that number of cities or more in that theater AT ALL TIMES for a complete round of play

    Right but a complete round of play from what?  The beginning of the round, or the turn in the round that the 8 or 6 were taken?

    This very frustrating:

    So, the rule is this:

    The axis must hold 8 or 6, VCs depending on the theater, from the time an Axis power takes the final requisite VC and first meets the condition until that power moves again for the Axis to win without losing any of the necessary VCs between that time.

    Right?

Suggested Topics

  • 13
  • 18
  • 15
  • 13
  • 24
  • 240
  • 275
  • 2.7k
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

68

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts