@Gamerman01:
The move you describe requires the UK to not declare war, and ANZAC to declare war, so it is not without its costs.
UK cannot collect NO, and ANZAC makes unprovoked DOW on Japan, keeping USA out. And as Roboto said, there are things you can do. Like not leaving a mass of transports all in one place and counting on them to be able to load. It is sleazy, and Wheatbeer pulled it against me is how I found out. But he paid a price, and it was more gimmicky than anything.
Oh, you also are forfeiting a UK destroyer - even if it hits the Japanese just absorb it without loss
Actually no allied DOW is necessary. If Japan does an unprovoked DOW, the sea zone becomes hostile before the combat move and (by the rules) prevents the load although TripleA will allow it.
Yes, a Japanese player that expects it can just keep the tt’s loaded - if they know about it. It is gimmicky and a bit sleazy, but I’m not above using it myself so long as it exists so meh. Although I’d feel much better about using it if there was a clear example about that scenario in the rules.
Be aware that TripleA does allow Japan to load and move tt’s in this scenario, so if you pull it on an unknowing newbie and they just load/move out of it, expect a long debate and maybe some bad blood with rolling back that turn.
Caveat: Karl did just pull this stunt on me. I sort of knew about it but never seen anyone actually do it, so I’d count myself as unsuspecting rather than unknowing. I walked into it so it’s my own fault. No worries, my Japan game needed a little creativity anyhow.
…and he did just trap a sizable Japanese force on the mainland that he has to deal with - heh