A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Rule clarification - sub retreat options
- 
					
					
					
					
 Im playing a game where the US attacked the japanese fleet in sz6. There was no defending destroyers but som subs, trannies and carriers with airplanes. US attacked with subs, destroyers, carriers and planes. As the battle turned out US kept his subs and sank all my boats but a japanese ftr prevailed in the overall seabattle. Now my question is: Are the subs allowed to retreat from the battle when the only units left are a defending ftr and some attacking subs or does the battle simply end? And by retreat I mean as in move back to one of the adjacent sea zones the subs came from? Any help would be much appreciated! (Link to game thread: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=31961.75) /Rasmus 
- 
					
					
					
					
 If the only Japanese units left were planes, the attacking US subs don’t have to retreat. The battle simply ends because neither of those units can hit each other. 
 Also, any defending transports will be killed by the subs and the planes can’t protect them.
- 
					
					
					
					
 I get that but are they allowed to retreat? 
- 
					
					
					
					
 I have been thinking about your question and I looked at the map too(did not really help). 
 I am not sure they can. Is it an error in AAA?
 I thought The attacker had to retreat all units and if he does, your Transports survive. Either your Transports or his Subs must occupy SZ6.We need a proper ruling. 
- 
					
					
					
					
 First of all, what Triple A does means nothing. There are many, many Triple A errors with regard to the rule book. 
 One of these errors is that Triple A give you a retreat option when there are only transports left, but this is illegal because you can’t retreat from units that have no attack value (transports and AA guns).However, you had defending aircraft still in the zone. See page 20 of 2nd edition Europe rulebook. 
 Condition A: “Once all units that can either fire or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends”You have subs that can fire. He has planes that can fire. It doesn’t seem to matter that they can’t possibly hit each other. Combat has not ended. It appears that you can retreat the subs because both sides still have units that can fire. You could even wait until you have sunk all the transports, and then retreat from the aircraft. I am not 100% sure on this answer because I can’t find anything definitive in the rulebook that answers this question. You need to ask Krieghund to be 100% sure. 
- 
					
					
					
					
 You can’t retreat if there’s nothing to retreat from. If neither side can hit the other, the battle’s over. 
- 
					
					
					
					
 Thank you all for your contributions and krieg for the official ruling! and very fast reply as well… You run a smooth operation! cheers 
- 
					
					
					
					
 This is your rules question: http://keltonburgpreacher.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/cat-in-junk-pile1.jpg This is Krieghund, a magnet for rules questions: http://www.visualphotos.com/photo/1x6578401/electromagnetic_crane_A0509A.jpg 




 
		 
		










