Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread


  • If two Cruisers attack two Subs  and get one hit, can the hit Sub fire back while the Sub that survives submerge?

  • Official Q&A

    Yes.


  • Thank you Krieghund. Thought so.


  • Naval mine fields
    Does the controller of the adjacent territorry of a naval symbol roll for mines for its enemys? For example germany has captured Washington and Britain enters Sz 1. Does Germany roll for mines on the british ships?

  • Official Q&A

    Welcome, Wildweasel!

    Minefields are not active when the naval base is controlled by an enemy power.  They are only active when it’s either contested or controlled by it’s original owner.


  • tx Krieghund


  • I know Battleship bombardment is limited to the number of troops offloading from a transport during an amphibious assault, but is this before or after coastal artillery fire?
    Ex. 3 French infantry and 1 French artillery with 2 battleships assault 1 Ottoman infantry and 5 Ottoman artillery in Albania. If 3 or 4 coastal shots hit, are the French limited to 1 or 0 bombardment shots, respectively?

    Thanks in advance.

  • Official Q&A

    Both battleships bombard, regardless of how many units make it to shore.  Just because they don’t make it ashore doesn’t mean they didn’t offload.

  • '22 '19 '18

    After reading the Kriegs answers thread I had a question about this post:
    "Q.
    If France moves into Spanish Morroco on Turn 1, no units activate, since it’s a colony, correct? I’m pretty sure the answer is yes but just making sure.

    A.
    Correct."

    1. So America can basically walk into Spanish Morroco and gain the 1 IPC without having to fight anything?
    2. The same rule doesn’t apply for Ethiopia because it has a large symbol on it, therefore anyone entering it would have to fight the 1 inf and 1 art?
    3. Are there any other neutral territories that don’t mobilize a force beside Spanish Morroco and the Balearic Islands?
    4. Can America take over Spanish Morroco before being at war?

  • Official Q&A

    1.  Yes.
    2.  Correct.
    3.  No.
    4.  No.

  • Customizer

    If a German cruiser moves into SZ1 when USA is still neutral but then attacks an American ship there in the combat phase does it have to roll for mines retrospectively?

  • Official Q&A

    No.


  • Krieghund when you get asked a question that is clearly in the rulebook do you ask yourself if the person even read the rulebook? or have you just gotten used to silly questions sometimes?

    THIS IS NOT ABOUT ANY QUESTION ON THIS TREAD OR FORUM. IT’S ME WONDERING.

  • Customizer

    While I agree that the rulebook need a good going over before asking, that rulebook is not well organized.  And an index would do wonders.


  • Why question is a general question not something about a specific game. and I’m talking about questions like “I read the rulebook and can’t find it what are all the dice for?” type question.

  • Customizer

    @Flashman:

    If a German cruiser moves into SZ1 when USA is still neutral but then attacks an American ship there in the combat phase does it have to roll for mines retrospectively?

    KH: No

    But if the Cruiser was accompanied by a loaded transport and you intended to invade America you’d have to declare the intention in advance, so this would make it in effect an act of war and activate the minefield, yes?

  • Official Q&A

    Yes.


  • Why would it make a difference if the land was being attacked or not? Doesn’t Germany have to declare war at the beginning of its turn (like in all the other games that have neutral powers). This would be before the movement phase so this should render all US units hostel, including their mined sz’s.

  • Official Q&A

    No.  There are no “declarations of war” in this game.  The US is only brought into the war before its fourth turn if a hostile act (as detailed in the rules) is committed against it.  Unlike a sea attack, an amphibious assault must be announced during the movement phase.


  • @cond1024:

    After reading the Kriegs answers thread I had a question about this post:
    "Q.
    If France moves into Spanish Morroco on Turn 1, no units activate, since it’s a colony, correct? I’m pretty sure the answer is yes but just making sure.

    A.
    Correct."

    1. So America can basically walk into Spanish Morroco and gain the 1 IPC without having to fight anything?

    @Krieghund:

    1.  Yes.

    This is not how I understand the rules. Morocco is a British colony and thus can’t be taken over by the USA. Krieghund, where in the rules is your reply supported?  We’ve been playing colonies controlled by major powers, such as Morocco contrllled by Britain, can’t be taken over by allies, but colonies not controlled by major powers, such as Belgian Congo, can be taken over and controlled by allies.

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

47

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts