Have a few questions, or comments. Some may have been addressed before (apologies).
- Kinda surprised to see no Denmark straight rule when you have both the Turkish and Gibraltar straights now in the game. Thought Denmark would control passage in or out of the Baltic (between sz17 & sz18). Was it just thought to give Germany too much protection?
2a) If you have a coastal IC, can you build a naval base and mobilize ships in the same turn. Or would you need to build the naval base in one turn, and mobilize ships in the next turn.
2b) Say UK builds a minor IC in Cairo. Cairo starts with a naval base in sz 47, so you could build ships in the Med (no problem). Upper Egypt also has a naval base that services sz 64 (adjacent to Cairo), are you allowed to utilize that sz’s naval base to build ships in the Red Sea? I know the rules on page 12 clearly say the IC & NB need to be in the same territory, but I thought that maybe this question didn’t come up in testing. It would be silly for the UK to build a second NB for sz64 to drop ships there.
-
If using paratroops does the bomber(s) get to participate in the battle (roll at 8 or less). Or is it drop bombs or drop troops can’t do both? Have thought about allowing bombers to participate at a lower value (maybe roll at 5 or less?)
-
Just to clarify, Russian partisans are placed on the board at the beginning of Russia’s turn right, so if they already have one partisan in that territory from the turn before you just replace it with a Russian inf that can be used in combat immediately or NCM . Just wanted to make sure that it wasn’t done during mobilize units (end of Russia’s turn)
-
Page 16 (and on the set-up cards), the last sentence of Russia’s Sleeping Bear says “If Russia is at war with Japan, Russia can attack Germany and Italy at the beginning of turn five”. So if Russia is rolling low numbers and hasn’t yet got to 48 production on their 4th turn, all they have to do is DOW on Japan at the beginning of turn 5 and it allows them to also DOW on Germany & Italy turn 5? Or is this stipulation only if Japan starts hostilities and DOW with the Russians first. Page 26 leads me to believe Japan has to provoke war w/Russia for the Soviets to start the war in Europe on turn 5.
-
Russia pg 26, says Russian can DOW Poland, Baltic States, Finland and any strict neutral not in Europe. Page 30 also has a one liner under #12 Strict Neutrals that says: While Nations are not at war, units that are moved must end their turn in their own territories or in a sz next to an original territory. I know this applies to the US (it is noted in the US political section on pg 28), and I would guess that the Russians would be bound by it too. So does Russia need to break neutrality to activate or invade pro and strict neutrals in the Mid East or Mongolia? A DOW w/Japan would lift Russia’s neutrality and allow the Soviets access to pro & strict neutrals that aren’t in Europe then. Also when Russia is at war with Japan only, can they move their navy away from Russian territory?
-
I like the new relationship between the Dutch and FEC. It should keep the DEI off limits to Japan unless they want to go to war w/FEC (UK) right away and boost the US production.
7b) About pro & strict neutrals, their units and ships. So take the Dutch, if Germany captures Holland G1, then the DEI all become FEC, but the ground units remain Dutch and can’t move (only def). If the UK (or Anz) NCM over will the Dutch units become UK like any other pro allied ground unit?
7c) I like getting the dice involved like you do with the Vichy. Once Germany captures Holland ships in sz 88 (off Dutch NG) are rolled for. If a 1-2 is rolled that ship becomes German?, or can they give it to the Japanese? Does it stay in that sz, or can it be moved to a friendly Japanese NB or fleet? If a 9-12 is rolled then that ship escapes capture and stays in sz88 because of the naval base that is there. That NB would now be owned by the FEC, so you would swap out the Dutch ship in favor of an FEC ship?.
7d) When a coastal ship joins the enemy or friendly navies does the coastal tag comes off or is it just stuck where moved the rest of the game in the same sz. Can a coastal ship be moved along a coastline to def in an adjacent sz. A coastal ship would still be swapped out in the color of the power that ends up with it.