I would like to point out that per the bidding rules established for the league, you MAY bid tactical bombers, strategic bombers, armored units and any other land unit in China. Unless, of course, I missed something in the rulebook explicitly saying you may not own these units for China. (I believe the rules say you may not build the units, well, you aren’t you are bidding them into existence. Not really the same as building them since you did not need an industrial complex to produce them.)
To recap, the rule says:
- You bid for units (represented by bidding for money to spend on units prior to game start), with any extra IPC (up to a maximum of 2 extra) can be used for buying units in the first round of play.
- You may only place units in territories you own at the start of your turn
OR
- You may only place units in sea zones you start with naval units in at the start of your turn.
Page 10 of the Second Edition Pacific 1940 Rule Book:
At the beginning of the game, China has a United States fighter unit located on the map. This represents the American volunteer group the Flying Tigers. This fighter is considered part of the Chinese forces for purposes of movement and combat. It cannot leave the territories that China is restricted to, even to attack and return. If it is destroyed, the US player cannot replace this fighter unit for China.
In my opinion, this means you can bid American units into China as volunteers that, for the purposes of movement and combat, are considered part of the Chinese forces.
The rules do state that China may only purchase Infantry (with the exception of Artillery if the Burma road is open) but then go one to clearly abolish that rule when justifying a fighter unit for China. That leads me to believe, as long as the first dice aren’t yet cast, China can bloody well get tanks or more planes or any other unit that meets the criteria for placing your bid.
That explicitly blocks them from putting naval vessels out, which is good since it closes the loophole that Chinese forces may only be in legal Chinese territories and may not leave, even to attack and return.
Thus, I have to say, Chinese Armor, Tactical Bombers, Strategic Bombers, more Fighters, Artillery, or more Infantry are all legal since they are not expressly restricted from Chinese control. Unless, of course, I missed something, but I reread the 1940 Pacific Rule Book (2nd Edition) before posting this and I see nothing that says China cannot own a tank, they just can’t build a tank and cannot possess an industrial complex.
:P
(Oh, and feel free to use this against Cow. I’m sure he’d love to have his Japenese attack plans screwed up by the addition of a few Chinese armored units added to the mix. lol. Sorry, I couldn’t help it, you have your plan posted for all to see, and while I was impressed, I think you missed this aspect. Be interesting to see if it holds up still.)