Okay guys, a few more Pacific 1940 S.E. questions please:
1 - Pages 8 & 9 of the rulebook seem to have conflicting or even contradictory rules regarding when Japan may attack Dutch territories. Under ‘The Political Situation’ guidelines for Japan on page 8 it says: “Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the UK and ANZAC.” However, on page 9 under the guidelines for the UK and ANZAC it says: “Additionally, the UK & ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly.” Well, which is it to be? Some clarification is much needed here.
2a - On page 2 of the rulebook it states: “On Turn 3… the United States will declare war on Japan.” The operative words here being will declare war. However, on page 9 it states: “… if the US is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase.” The operative words here being may declare war. So, which is it? Is the US declaration of war on Japan automatic & compulsory, or is the US player truly free to not declare war? And if the latter is true, then what happens to the US economy from the Collect Income phase of its third turn onwards? i.e. Does the US still stay at 17 IPCs until it declares war (on a subsequent Combat Move phase)?
2b - Also, if Japan obeys all of the rules regarding its restrictions/obligations toward the Allies & the US during peacetime, and then the US elects to declare war against Japan on its 3rd turn, would that not be an unprovoked declaration of war? What would the implications of this be?
3 - ‘Declaring War’ on page 11 is a little unclear. If a power declares war on an opposing power, then is it true that that opposing power does not also have to declare war back on its next turn? This seems obvious but the wording in the rulebook is a little vague to me.
4 - Is it true that French Indo China will initially stay French unless it is captured and controlled by Japan? And then subsequently, let’s suppose it is liberated by the UK - Does the UK then take control (adjust IPC chart) of it instead? Also, is F.I.C. treated in the same way as Dutch territories in that the UK & ANZAC may move land units into it during their Noncombat Move phase, in order to take guardianship of it and thereby control it (again, adjust IPC chart)?
To confirm, these questions are purely for the Pacific 1940 S.E. game and have no bearing at all on Global.
Thank you all very much.