Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Can China move forces into Burma when not an ally? Japan didn’t DOW against anyone but France on J1. On China’s turn, China flew their fighter into Burma. Is this legal and if so, does it give Japan provocation to DOW on UK?
I know the allies can’t move units into China without causing provocation. But I didn’t see anything about China moving units into UK provoking a war and I didn’t see any conditions attached to China moving forces into Burma/Kwangtung.
Sort of a followup question that I just considered as I was reading what could provoke Japan.
At the beginning of the game, Japan is at war only with China. Japan considers movement of units into China by any other Allied power as an act of war against it.
Say hypothetically, G1 passes without a DOW. On R1, Russia sends mech and/or air into China. No DOW on J1. Germany DOWs against Russia on G2 making Russia an allied power. Does this mean that the Russian units already in China give Japan reason to DOW? Or do they have a turn to get out of China? What if they don’t move? As the wording says movement and not anything about sitting in place.
-
Yes, China can move forces into Burma/Hong Kong before UK is at war with Japan.
You are right, it is UK/ANZ that cannot move over or into China at all without a DOW on Japan, but China can move into Burma/Hong Kong before Japan and UK are at war with each other.
China IS an ally with UK at game start because UK is at war with G/I and China is at war with J, and J and G/I are allies.No, this movement to Hong Kong or Burma by China is not a provocation for Japan. ONLY UK/ANZ can “provoke” Japan, and this ALWAYS comes in the form of a DOW by UK/ANZ on Japan.
Russia has to be at war with Japan before Russia can move anything into China. I think that’s what you’re missing.
So Russia is an allied power as of R1, although only on the Pacific map.Japan can DOW Russia any time and Russia can DOW Japan any time. No action by Russia can ever be considered provocation that allows J to declare war on UK/ANZ without bringing USA in. Provocation only comes from UK/ANZ, and would always come in the form of a DOW by UK/ANZ on Japan. A DOW is required by UK/ANZ to fly over anything Chinese or move anything into China.
-
So u must drop at least one unit from each zone from which ships are bombarding. And drop at least one unit per bombarding ship in aggregate regardless from which zone.
Exactly
Can a fleet from one seazone split to bombard 2 assaults simultaneously?
Example: Battleship and Cruiser in SZ110, 2 Units to drop into Belgium, 2 into Normandy. Can 1 ship bombard Belgium and the other Normandy?
-
@JapanDOWRound1Fan:
So u must drop at least one unit from each zone from which ships are bombarding. And drop at least one unit per bombarding ship in aggregate regardless from which zone.
Exactly
Can a fleet from one seazone split to bombard 2 assaults simultaneously?
Example: Battleship and Cruiser in SZ110, 2 Units to drop into Belgium, 2 into Normandy. Can 1 ship bombard Belgium and the other Normandy?
Yes
-
Thanks for clarifying the China question. I was pretty sure it was legal when my opponent did it, but I wasn’t 100%.
As for the part two, ignore that ever came up. This is what happens when I’m sleep deprived, I thought I was a genius and was wondering why no one else did this whenever Russia sent units into China. I don’t think I made any blunders while in that state and I’m glad I went to bed right after posting that question. :-P
-
@JapanDOWRound1Fan:
So u must drop at least one unit from each zone from which ships are bombarding. And drop at least one unit per bombarding ship in aggregate regardless from which zone.
Exactly
Can a fleet from one seazone split to bombard 2 assaults simultaneously?
Example: Battleship and Cruiser in SZ110, 2 Units to drop into Belgium, 2 into Normandy. Can 1 ship bombard Belgium and the other Normandy?
Yes. Of course, the 2 units from 1 transport must stay together and drop on the same territory. You couldn’t drop 2 infantry on one and 2 tanks on the other. And yes you can split up the bombardment however you like, subject to the “no more bombardment than # of units dropped” rule
-
@seththenewb:
Thanks for clarifying the China question. I was pretty sure it was legal when my opponent did it, but I wasn’t 100%.
My pleasure. It actually helped me become more clear and confident on the issues as well, as I had to re-read the Pac 2nd edition rulebook political situation portion to be 100% sure.
-
Can Japan build a major in Kiangsu or Manchuria?
-
Afternoon ghr2.
Afraid not. It is considered Chinese originally owned territory, only occupied by Japan. -
People at gencon were saying that in global 40 2nd edition, that Japan was allowed to do that.
-
I remember Krieg saying they could not, as I always thought they could.
Wait on Him or Gamerman then.
Hope you had fun incidentally. -
No, Japan definitely cannot build a major in Manchuria or Kiangsu because they are considered originally Chinese territories. I know Krieghund has said the same.
It must be an originally Japanese territory, as in, yellow on the game board.
Korea is the only eligible site for a Japanese major in 2nd edition.
-
I’m not quite sure how to find this in a 67 page FAQ, so maybe it has been asked before. But for the purpose of retreat, does a transport constitute an ‘attacking unit’? So if I enter some fighting naval units into combat from one sea zone, and add a transport to it arriving from a different sea zone, could I then, after a round of combat, retreat all units towards where the transport came from?
-
@Herr:
I’m not quite sure how to find this in a 67 page FAQ, so maybe it has been asked before. But for the purpose of retreat, does a transport constitute an ‘attacking unit’? So if I enter some fighting naval units into combat from one sea zone, and add a transport to it arriving from a different sea zone, could I then, after a round of combat, retreat all units towards where the transport came from?
Yes, you can.
You must only have at least 1 unit with attack value (so something besides a transport or a carrier) come from SOMEwhere. You CAN establish new retreat routes with transports.Excellent question - I asked this same question of Krieghund several months ago :wink:
I know, if you don’t have the search function, it’s tedious to find your question in the FAQ thread. If you have the search function (apparently not everyone does), it’s on your menu bar.
“Home, Help, Search, Profile, My messages, members, chat, logout” -
Thank you! And nope… no Search for me… :-(
-
Is this the correct order of operation for the combat section of the turn:
1. make all combat moves
2. declare scrambles
3. start rolling battlesso you cant change the forces in a combat after a declared scramble because you realized you are sol?
-
Sequence of events:
Combat move phase: Player moves bombers and escorts to target territories
End of combat move phase: Defender makes scrambling decisions
After combat move phase and before conduct combat phase: Defender must make intercept decisions
Beginning of conduct combat phase: Defender makes kamikaze decisions
Conduct combat phase: Player has option to roll all SBR’s and then all rockets, or all rockets and then all SBRs. All rocket targets must be selected before rolling any rocket dice. Specific facility targets for SBRs are not chosen until AFTER ANY AIR BATTLES with interceptors are complete.So yes, majik, Scramble decisions are made after all combat movement is complete. After the scramble decision(s), no combat moves may be changed.
-
Ok here is a good one for you guys:
Can i attack a fleet with a sub to demonstrate that I have a “chance” of giving my planes a valid landing spot, only to submerge the sub saving it to fight another day in combat.
-
Ok here is a good one for you guys:
Can i attack a fleet with a sub to demonstrate that I have a “chance” of giving my planes a valid landing spot, only to submerge the sub saving it to fight another day in combat.
Yes, I’m pretty sure I remember Krieghund saying you could actually submerge it (to make the flight plan legal).
The only part I can’t remember for sure is if you have to go a round with the sub or if you can submerge it immediately.
-
You have to fight one round.