Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
There are a couple of other minor changes on the map that I noticed.
1 – The upper border of Sea Zone 6 now connects directly with the border of Korea and Amur. On the old map it connected on Korea and made it look like Sea Zone 5 was also adjacent to Korea.
2 – The Western United States no longer has that annoying “50” on it, which was only used in Pacific 1940 and was supposed to represent the 40 IPCs that the US got for switching to a wartime economy, basically the US National Objective. The thing is that Western US is only worth 10 IPCs – Like if Japan captured it, even in the Pacific game, they only raised their IPC income 10 points. Of course, in the Pacific game, Western US was considered the US capital so Japan also got any unspent US IPCs and, let’s face it, pretty much won the game. Anyway, it’s nice not to have that “50” on the Western US territory. I just think it looks better.I have a question. If US ships join ANZAC ships in SZ 54, and Japan declares war on ANZAC only and goes after the ANZAC ships in SZ 54, the US ships would still not participate in the battle? In the rules, it says any unprovoked declaration of war by Japan on UK and/or ANZAC makes it possible for the US to declare war on Japan. However, since Japan moves before the US and the US DOW has to happen during the US Combat Move phase, then when Japan declares war on ANZAC and attacks it’s ships in SZ 54, the US ships are still neutral, right? So they have to sit there and watch the ANZAC ships get slaughtered. After that battle, the Japanese ships will be stuck in SZ 54 with the US ships. Then on the US Combat Move phase, they can declare war on Japan and kill the Japanese ships in SZ 54, right? Or, I guess they could even NOT declare war and just sit there sharing SZ 54 with the Japanese ships too. Or they could retreat, like if the Japanese fleet was bigger.
You know, that would be an interesting way for Japan to invade Australia without committing a lot of warships if they didn’t mind losing transports. They send just enough warships to take out the ANZAC ships and possible scramble fighters, a few transports full of guys and tanks to land on Queensland. Then if the US declares war and kills the Japanese navy there, Japan already has a large force of troops and tanks right there on Australia which the US can do nothing about. -
Knp7765: Except if US has taken his APs to SZ54, he would have them loaded with ground units and could drop them on Australia to retake it. Suppose it would come down to who had more troops.
Also because the capital is in NSW, not off SZ54, am not sure Japan can reach it before US and is probably only worth doing if you capture Sydney.
I do not have time to do the moves. Have you tried?
Cow might know.
Start a thread though. Not here. -
Yep in rare circumstances it could happen. Just think if after the Anz fleet/air was taken out, and the Japanese fleet still outgunned the US fleet. The funny thing is that if the Japanese amphib was also successful and Japan got control of the naval base on Queensland, the US fleet couldn’t outrun the Japanese fleet either (couldn’t retreat to the safety of Hawaii).
You would really have to catch the US asleep at the wheel. There is normally a lot of Allied fire power off Queensland, and the Anz generally have some ftrs on the Queensland airbase to protect their tiny navy. The Japanese navy could be pretty dinged up if they scrambled so it would defiantly be a situational thing or really lucky dice. Not sure if it is in Japans best interest to go “all in” early on, they are nothing w/o the navy.
-
If germany attacks yugo and fails, does the UK (or other allied power) take control of it or does it remain pro-allied?
-
One Allied country takes it over and can use its Remaining Inf in its go. UK makes the most sense, but the Allies choose.
It is no longer Pro Allied, as the German invasion has activated it. -
Sorry Wittman, that’s not exactly accurate. From pg. 11 of the rulebook: “If the attack upon the formerly neutral territory is unsuccessful (the territory is not captured), any remaining defending units stay in the territory but can’t move. The territory remains uncontrolled (place a national control marker on it face down to indicate its new status), but units from the side it’s now allied with can move into it and take control of it and its remaining units in the same way as if it were a friendly neutral.”
Even though the territory is now a part of the appropriate alliance, the units still cannot move until activated by a major power.
-
Thank you. Do remember someone saying that now.
Thank you Ziggurat.
Makes sense, otherwise Yugoslavia/UK could leave and activate Greece and really stir things up for poor old good meaning Germany!
My apologies Karl. -
Which begs the question - can England land there now, since Germany failed to take it? (yea right, aint never gunna happen, but it may be a plausible landing zone now.)
-
England can land there anytime, but it would be madness!
First SZ 97 has to be made friendly, then they would have to face the wrath of 15+ German and Italian units.
Greece I can understand, a half dead Yugoslavia landing, never! -
Thanks all. I figured it out after reading the rule 3 times. Not the clearest exposition.
-
on the turn a friendly neutral is occupied(liberated?) by a power at war, can the power land air?
-
Allweneedislove: No. See page 22 of Europe Rules. They can only land on a territory that was Friendly at the beginning of the turn. Not in a recently converted Friendly Neutral.
-
@wittmann:
Allweneedislove: No. See page 22 of Europe Rules. They can only land on a territory that was Friendly at the beginning of the turn. Not in a recently converted Friendly Neutral.
thank you wittman, it was on page 22, i must have missed it.
-
@wittmann:
Hi Antholin. The only map changes I can see are that the National Production chart is on the map now(40 on each) and the two Canadian territories on the Pacific map(Yukon and BC) are now one (no change in IPCs)called Western Canada.
As you said, rules and some pieces have changed.Thank you for the info. I was hoping that WoTC didn’t re-issue the games with major changes to the map.
-
So can Anzac still land 3 fighters on Java the same round it takes Dutch island? But yugoslavia or northern persia etc (pro allied neutrals) are a no go.
-
@Cow:
So can Anzac still land 3 fighters on Java the same round it takes Dutch island? But yugoslavia or northern persia etc (pro allied neutrals) are a no go.
The DEI are already friendly territories. They’re not neutral. The only difference between DEI and a french territory (for example) is that control is transferred to the UK/Anzac should a land unit of their enter the territory, which would not occur with a french territory. But both are allied friendly and NOT neutral.
So yes, the planes can land. And no, they cannot land in a neutral.
-
I’m trying to clarify retreat rules and amphibious assaults. If you attack a territory by amphibious assault with planes I know the land units can not retreat, but can the planes retreat after any round of combat? Do you have to wait until all the land units were killed before you can retreat your planes, or can they retreat after any complete round of combat regardless of whether or not ground units are still alive. If they can, do they all have to land in the same territory? Does that territory have to be one that at least one plane came from?
If you amphibious assault and attack overland to the same territory, can the amphibious units retreat if you so choose? As long as it is to a territory that overland units came from of course.
-
I have understood that Air units can retreat at the end of any round of combat along with any Ground units that did not land amphibiously, leaving the amphibiously landed Ground units to fight to the death. Air can retreat therefore, but the eligible Ground units would have to retreat too(usual one space from which at least one came). Amphibiously landed units cannot ever retreat. See page 18 of Europe.
-
Air units can retreat at any time after the first round of combat. They don’t “retreat” to a territory, though. They stay in the territory, removed from the battle. Then in their NCM phase they can use any remaining movement points to get where they want.
If an amphibious assault includes overland units, overland units may retreat at any point after the first round of combat. The overland units may retreat to any territory that any overland units came from. All overland units must retreat simultaneously and to the same territory (ie, no split retreats) that at least one unit came from.
Units which assaulted amphibiously can never retreat once they leave the transport. If there was a sea battle prior to the land battle, and a retreat was needed in the sea battle, the loaded transports could retreat with the retreating naval units. They would then have to remain loaded until the next turn. If an amphibious assault is aborted in this fashion, all overland and air units are still committed to at least one round of battle before they are allowed to retreat.
-
Thank you Fortress. You explained that more clearly than me.