Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@Young:
If Russian troops attack an empty Korea during turn 2… does that negate the Mongolian rule?
Doesn’t matter if it’s empty, if Russia attacks Korea before Japan attacks Russia, the Mongolians will never join the Russians
Similar to the NO where Japan can’t attack FIC. Empty or not
Thanks, not sure what happened to the sticky thread that explained the Mongolian rule in detail, it was helpful.
-
It was about 5 pages down (last post in August)
I bumped it for you
G40 boards -
-
Can a sub be ignored during an amphibious assault and still get shore bombardment from the same territory? if so, what would be the circustances required?
-
@Young:
Can a sub be ignored during an amphibious assault and still get shore bombardment from the same territory? if so, what would be the circustances required?
Yes. No special circumstances.
But you can’t ignore a sub with an unescorted (no warship) landing. Not 100% sure if a sub escort counts.
-
Simon, sub escort does count
YG, yes you can ignore subs and bombard.
-
Simon, sub escort does count
YG, yes you can ignore subs and bombard.
Ok, same with lone transports right, ignore them and get your bombardments?
-
Yes, that’s definitely true
-
My BB is damaged.
It is at an undamaged Naval Yard at the end of my turn.
Before my next turn the Naval Yard is damaged.
I pay to remove all counters from my Naval Yard.
Does the BB get repaired the same turn I pay to repair my damaged Naval Yard?
-
I reckon yes.
Repairs take effect immediately,
and the controlling player can use repaired facilities during the rest
of this turn. -
Simon told you right
-
Where is the books does it explain the American minor ICs getting upgraded to Major ICs once at war?
-
Europe book, page 39, additional rules
-
-
Here’s my question.
UK strafes neutral iraq from persia and transjord and retreats to transjord. 1 unactivated inf remains in iraq.Now its Italys turn and he has 1 tank 1 inf in syria.He wants to attack transjord with syria forces and amphibious troops from elsewhere.Can he activate iraq by moving his syria tank through iraq?
If so,can the iraq inf join this attack on tranjord?
If not, could the iraq inf be activated by Italian troops retreating back into iraq?I’m sure the amphibious troops can’t retreat. -
Here’s my question.
UK strafes neutral iraq from persia and transjord and retreats to transjord. 1 unactivated inf remains in iraq.Now its Italys turn and he has 1 tank 1 inf in syria.He wants to attack transjord with syria forces and amphibious troops from elsewhere.Can he activate iraq by moving his syria tank through iraq?
If so,can the iraq inf join this attack on tranjord?
If not, could the iraq inf be activated by Italian troops retreating back into iraq?I’m sure the amphibious troops can’t retreat.Nope, you can only activate friendly neutrals during noncombat movement. Any unit that moves in during activation has to end its movement there. Finally, the troops being activated do not have any movement that turn.
-
As soon as UK attacked iraq its no longer neutral true?
-
As soon as UK attacked iraq its no longer neutral true?
That is true. But read the bottom of page 11.
“The territory remains uncontrolled (place a national control marker on it face down to indicate its new status), but units from the side it�s now allied with can move into it and take control of it and its remaining units in the same way as if it were a friendly neutral.”
I just woke up from a nap, but I think the only difference between a pro-your side neutral that’s been attacked and one that hasn’t, is that you could land aircraft in the pro-your side neutral that has been attacked (but not conquered).
You still activate it as if it was never attacked before. Move a ground unit (not AAA) into it during non-combat.
-
Since Iraq is no longer neutral,can Italys tank pass through Iraq to attack Persia?Can any power fly over for combat or non-combat?
I can see this being an issue around spain too.Allies attack spain,but don’t defeat their standing army.Axis wants to drive mechs and tanks from SFrance>Gibraltor or fly aircraft over. -
Both sides can fly over (that’s what I forgot) and you can land in it, but you can’t pass through it. It needs to be activated with a noncombat movement of non-AAA ground units, and those units would have to end movement in the activated territory