Hi ANZAC. For the HBG 1939 map, think of a 4x8 sheet of plywood. Its is HUGE and awesome. You need a big room for that size table plus room to walk around on all 4 sides. I only played the 1939 game one time and I can say it is definitely superior in a hundred different ways, but playing it is an order of magnitude more complex than global 1940. Global 1940 seems like the kiddie game next to it, which is nuts because global 1940 is not an easy game by any means. I’d say your best bet is to get the global 1940 if only for the pieces, and then blow the extra money for the 1939 map and elite pieces if and when you and your crew outgrow it. Another option is to play 1940 on this site with triplea.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Captain walker: you can only place 3 on the turn you upgrade.
You do have to wait one turn as you thought.
Sorry, and good luck! -
thanks wittman! I thought that was the way it worked…was hoping otherwise.
-
Triple a makes a bunch of non intuitive rules lately, so I like to just ask when something comes up.
-
Are inoperative airbases (3 or more damage) incapable of launching rocket attacks or paratroopers?
Neither the tech rules nor the base rules address this specifically. The air base rules only say that an inoperative air base can’t increase air unit range or allow air units to scramble.
-
Are inoperative airbases (3 or more damage) incapable of launching rocket attacks or paratroopers?
Neither the tech rules nor the base rules address this specifically. The air base rules only say that an inoperative air base can’t increase air unit range or allow air units to scramble.
I’m sure they can’t do either if they’re damaged to that point.
-
That’s what I’m thinking, but I wonder what Krieghund will say…
I’m wondering if they forgot to consider inoperative status when writing the tech rules, because they should have said “from your operative air bases” or something like that in the tech rules. There is nothing in the rulebook that says you can’t use inoperative air bases for rockets and paratroopers.
-
Good question, well put.
I’m hoping the official answer will be yes you can, because it’s not in the rules that you can’t. Still, would that therefore be logical? Or should the correct answer be that inoperable Air Base cannot perform ANY functions?
-
clearly the only answer that makes sense is that an ab with >2 damage can perform NO functions. but i’ve been surprised before. :lol:
-
Rockets specifically mentions that the air base must be operative. As for paratroopers, from the context of the other air base rules (as well as from the term “inoperative” itself), it’s pretty obvious that inoperative air bases can’t perform any of their functions.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
DO YOUR HOMEWORK GAMERMAN!!! just kidding!!! :-P
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
no that is illegal. you can only place units in a territory that already has at least one unit of the placing power.
-
You can ask your league questions on the G40 league thread that is stickied in the league section
-
If Russia is only at war with Japan, can UK atlantic move into Russia?
-
No.
-
Cool.
-
I have a question regarding allied control of Dutch New Guinea.
Does Anzac or UK pac have to control that for Anzac to get the NO?
I’m just wondering because I have a game going on Triple A and the US has control of it…but Anzac isn’t getting the NO even though all other conditions are being met. -
tripleA does not compute some NO’s correctly. i have held calcutta with Germany and it doesn’t give Japan the NO - it can be held by any axis power to give japan the NO. same is true of NG, must be held by an allied power. in other words, it’s a bit of a pain in the butt, but you have to edit the bank account every round manually.
-
Thanks Boldfresh. Yes, that does seem like a pain in the butt…and I’ll have to explain it to my opponent now…I hope he agrees to it…Anzac needs that extra money!