Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
The turn 4 requirement only applies to declaring war on Germany and Italy, not Japan.
Russia can declare war on Japan on R1.You should read my Mongolia guide, here:
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=30776.new#newand then if you still have questions, feel free to ask here on the FAQ thread
-
Is blitzing through unfriendly neutrals with no standing army units allowed?
i.e. Italian tank blitzes from Iraq through NW Persia into Persia
Actually, Mgonzo, I recommend you read the Mongolia/neutrals “guide” that I created, also. Use the link in the above post
That guide addresses the blitzing unfriendly neutrals question and much more. -
I think it makes sense that you should be able to blitz through unfriendly and true neutrals on a combat move. It’s an attack, just as with hostile territories. I just don’t see any evidence of this either way in the rulebook. Do you have a reference for this?
Look at these two rules out of the AAG40.2 rulebook:
Tanks, Mechanized Infantry, and BlitzingA tank can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a move that can end in a
friendly or hostile territory.Territories
All territories exist in one of three conditions:
Friendly: Controlled by you or a friendly power.
Hostile: Controlled by a power with which you are at war.
Neutral: Not controlled by any power, or controlled by a power on the other side with which you are not yet at warMy blitzing question is two part:
-
Where on this spectrum do unfriendly and friendly neutrals fall? You can’t blitz through friendly neutrals. That is clearly stated. My understanding was that until an enemy power that was at war activated an unfriendly neutral by moving land units into it, the territory was neutral because it was not controlled by any power. Are unfriendly neutrals to be considered hostile territories before activation by an enemy power at war? Or are they neutral until the side they are sympathetic to declare war?
-
Where’s the clarification for blitzing in regards to neutral territories?
-
-
Page 11 of the rulebook
Unfriendly neutrals:
“When a neutral territory is invaded, it’s no longer considered neutral and immediately becomes part of the alliance opposing the power that attacked it”Strict neutrals:
“Strict neutrals are treated exactly the same way as unfriendly neutrals” (except for the way they all turn against you if you attack one)So unfriendly and strict neutrals become hostile immediately upon attacking them. This is why you can blitz them with tanks.
-
Scenario:
Germany captures London on G3 and ends that turn with loaded carriers in SZ110.
Americans attack the German fleet in SZ110 damaging the German carriers on US3, forcing German planes to land in friendly territory and choose to land on London.
The British attack the surviving fleet in SZ110 on UK3.Can Germany scramble from the London airbase on UK3?
I ask because the rules say:
“If you capture an air base or naval base, you can’t use the added flight or sea movement or receive repairs until your next turn”
It doesn’t say scrambling, but I could see someone interpreting “added flight movement” that way. -
Can Germany scramble from the London airbase on UK3?
I ask because the rules say:
“If you capture an air base or naval base, you can’t use the added flight or sea movement or receive repairs until your next turn”
It doesn’t say scrambling, but I could see someone interpreting “added flight movement” that way.Yes, Germany can scramble from the London airbase on UK3.
Added flight or sea movement is surely referring to adding a movement point to aircraft or naval units starting their turn at the base, and not referring to scrambling in any way.
There is nothing in the scrambling rules that says “unless the air base has not yet been controlled for a full round”. If you had to wait until the conqueror’s next turn to scramble, it would say so in the rule book.
-
Thanks :-)
Good thing too, 12 of my transports are riding on it :lol:
-
hello, were going to play a global game and i was wondering, does the us start with its major complexes, or do they start with minor complexes and once the US is at war they get an upgrade to major. Its been a long while since i set my teeth in a global game looking forward to it :p thanks
-
In 2nd edition, USA starts with minor complexes which get upgraded immediately when USA is at war
-
thanks another question comes to mind in the revised edition france has a fighter in Uk can it scramble in defense when Germany attacks the royal navy or is it limited to the seazone containing the French cruiser
-
Any allied plane can be scrambled to defend any allied ships or neighboring territories being amphibiously assaulted from a sea zone that is adjacent to the air base.
A German fighter in South Italy can be scrambled to Zone 97 to defend against a UK assault on Albania.
-
Any allied plane can be scrambled to defend any allied ships or neighboring territories being amphibiously assaulted from a sea zone that is adjacent to the air base.
… as long as the owning power is at war.
-
This has probably been asked, but can someone answer this for me? i just posted a quote from my current game below for sake of time:
quote:
to be clear, all you have to do is hold 8 VC’s in europe or 6 VC’s in the pacific for a full turn AND hold one of the axis capitals at the end of that round.
so THEORETICALLY, you could take the 6th pacific VC at the beginning of Japan’s turn and EVEN IF at the beginning of that turn, the allies HELD Berlin, Rome, and Tokyo, as long as you held (the same?) 6 VC’s at the end of Japan’s next turn AND at least one of Berlin, Rome, or Tokyo, you would have the victory.
The only thing that is unclear to me is whether the VC’s held must be the SAME VC’s or if the only requirement is that it be any combination of the 6 or 8. In other words, would it be a victory if Japan held Tokyo, Manilla, Calcutta, Hong Kong, Hawaii, and Beijing at after J10, and then at the end of J11 Japan had lost Hawaii but had taken Sydney. Would this qualify? I don’t know, I will ask in the FAQ.
Cheers
-
Any combination, does not have to be the same.
But in your example when Japan lost Hawaii between J10 and J11, they lost the chance of victory by J11. If they took Sydney J11 for the 6th city, the clock starts again. They must maintain 6 cities for a round of play.
Here’s a wacky example to illustrate this clearly.
Say Japan has Tokyo, Manilla, Calcutta, Hong Kong, Hawaii, and Beijing at J10.
US/UK takes Calcutta back UK 10.
Axis only has 5 cities now, so victory clock stops.
Italy takes Calcutta back and also takes Sydney. Axis has 7 cities, and the clock starts again as of I10.
ANZ liberates Manilla. Axis are down to 6 cities, so clock is still going - Axis will win as long as they keep ANY 6 Pacific VC’s through I11 now.
Japan takes WUS on J11. Axis are at 7 cities.
USA liberates Hawaii. Axis are at 6 cities.
Game goes to I11 without VC changing hands.
Axis wins because they control at least 1 Axis capital in the world, and have maintained 6 or more VC’s in the Pacific constantly without interruption for an entire round of play, from I10 to I11. -
makes perfect sense - thanks Gamer!
-
Anzac have built minor in Malaya. I can upgrade to major because it’s a 3 and not a Chinese territory, correct?
-
Mallery: only UK (India) can do that, as the original controller of Malaya. Not Anzac.
-
@wittmann:
Mallery: only UK (India) can do that, as the original controller of Malaya. Not Anzac.
Damn, was looking to put my 60 bucks to good use….oh well, time to add a third complex!
-
can russia land planes in burma when russia is at war with japan but uk isnt. urgent! :-P
-
can russia land planes in burma when russia is at war with japan but uk isnt. urgent! :-P
YES they can
UK is at war (With Germany/Italy)
Once Russia is at war on the Pacific boards, she can land planes on Allied territory (on the Pacific boards only). UK and Russia are Allies because they are both at war with the Axis, in your situation.





