@Frank:
I have a question about where US ships can move before US enters war. From my understanding they can not enter a sea zone adjacent to a Japanese controlled sea zone. For instance does that mean they could not enter sea zone 6 but could enter one space next to it? Or does it mean they can’t move one space next to it as well while not at war?
@rulebook:
Political Situation: The United States begins the game at war with no one. In addition to the normal restrictions (see
“Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15), while it’s not at war with Japan, the United States may not move any units
into or through China or end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories. While
not at war with Germany or Italy, the United States may end the movement of its sea units on the Europe map only in sea
zones that are adjacent to U.S. territories, with one exception: U.S. warships (not transports) may also conduct long-range
patrols into sea zone 102.
So in your example US ships may enter SZ 6, but only if they are able to pass through it, as they may not end their movement there.
They may end their movement for example in SZ 7 or SZ 16 or SZ 18.