Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
The way I see it is this:
A. If the rules do not specifically ban it, then it’s legal. �
Bidding is a house rule, it’s not to be found in the rule books, or I have yet to see it as even an optional rule. � For perspective, TECH is optional and is mentioned in the rule book, so it’s not a house rule even if implemented in a game.B. The rules already put non-Chinese units on the board for China and allow China to use them as if they owned them. � Allowing them to do the same for other pieces does not feel like much of a stretch,….
As Krieg has stated, the units that China can legally have are set out in the rulebook. From those that it can produce to the one extra special unit that it is given pre-game start, it is all in the rules.
Any bid would have to conform to units that it is able to build. Anything else would be a stretch.
Bidding is a nice mechanism to help level any inconsistencies and to give the game some variety, but giving a power the ability to obtain a unit that it normally can’t possess is beyond the scope (and intent) of the game.
-
Just because it’s been FOREVER:
West India is part of Europe United Kingdom, right? So they could, if they were so inclined, put a Minor Complex there and shuttle troops in, or was that part of Pacific UK?
-
West India is part of UK Pacific, so that plan doesn’t work. I had high hopes on that one too, actually. :)
-
West India is part of UK Pacific, so that plan doesn’t work. I had high hopes on that one too, actually. :)
Kay, means Egypt or Persia. No big deal. Glad I asked, it had been a WHILE and I know some territories for England have changed hands in the last year and a half. lol.
-
@Cmdr:
Just because it’s been FOREVER:
West India is part of Europe United Kingdom, right? So they could, if they were so inclined, put a Minor Complex there and shuttle troops in, or was that part of Pacific UK?
I think pacific gains west india and loses the Canadian provinces to UK Euro.
“There are two exceptions to this regional division. West India, on the Europe map, is part of the Pacific
economy, and the North American territories on the Pacific map are part of the Europe economy.” -
What is a pgm data error or java error for AAA global 1940 version? How do I fix that?
-
Visit the Triple A website
www.triplea.sourceforge.net -
Hi! im new here, had my first game of axis & allies yesterday, i have read the manual, and up to pag 20 in this faq, but i some doubts came up (even with the manual in hand in game ) and i couldnt remember all that i read here. So here it goes:
Wich zones could scotland scramble airplanes to defend? 119, 111, 109 ,110 and london?
Wich zones could souther italy scramble airplanes to defend? 97,95, silicy, northern italy,sardinia?
If a fight starts, and a carrier defeding having 2 fighters is hited in the first combat round, do the fighters are still are able to defend until the hole combat is resolved?
Carriers dont scramble airplanes right?:
Can you scramble airplanes to a zone where the defender has no units? example: germany land with a infatary in london ( has 0 units ) and the defender choose to scrambles airplanes to london.
If a sub fights a battleship, the subs make a surprise attack (does not matter if it hits or no) the battleship can roll its defense right? Im pretty sure that i does, but asking anyway.
If a a sub defends against a destroyer and airplanes, if the sub destroy the destroyer, the combat ends ? the planes have go back and land? -
Wich zones could scotland scramble airplanes to defend? 119, 111, 109 ,110 and london?
Wich zones could souther italy scramble airplanes to defend? 97,95, silicy, northern italy,sardinia?Not adjacent territories. Scrambling can be done to any adjacent sea zone and to defend an amphibious assault from any adjacent sea zone. This is how scrambling from Southern Italy could be done against ships in 95 if those ships are amphibiously assaulting Sicily or Sardinia or Northern Italy (or, of course, South Italy). Likewise, scrambling from South Italy can be done to Z97 if there are ships in 97 amphibiously assaulting Greece, Albania, Yugoslavia, or Northern Italy (or South Italy).
If a fight starts, and a carrier defeding having 2 fighters is hited in the first combat round, do the fighters are still are able to defend until the hole combat is resolved?
Yes. Fighters are always defending in the air, so they take off before carriers are hit. The only time fighters get trapped on carriers is guest fighters that are sitting on ATTACKING allied carriers.
Carriers dont scramble airplanes right?
Right, only air bases do scrambling.
Can you scramble airplanes to a zone where the defender has no units? example: germany land with a infatary in london ( has 0 units ) and the defender choose to scrambles airplanes to london.
Scrambling is only done to sea zones as explained above. You never scramble to an adjacent land territory.
If a sub fights a battleship, the subs make a surprise attack (does not matter if it hits or no) the battleship can roll its defense right? Im pretty sure that i does, but asking anyway.
Only if it isn’t sunk. If the 2nd hit taken by a battleship is from a sub surprise strike, that battleship gets no return shot (same with carriers)
If a a sub defends against a destroyer and airplanes, if the sub destroy the destroyer, the combat ends ? the planes have go back and land?
Right. Subs can’t target planes, ever. The planes can target the sub as long as the destroyer is there at the beginning of that combat round.
If you are unsure of anything after my answers, feel free to ask follow up questions.
Don’t feel like you have to read 20 pages of this FAQ. If you have read the rule book and you’re still not sure about something, just ask it here! Ask all the questions you want. -
Thanks! I did read it at work during the week while there was some free time hehe, but is a lot of information to remember for a first game and i dont have a very good memory . About the scramble, omg! i think we read around 3 times the rules about scramble yesterday and we didnt notice about scrambling being only for sea zones o.o, and I looked now and it’s there , that was…kind of stupid haha.
And one more doubt, is the zone 110 consider to be adjacent to scotland? -
Thanks! I did read it at work during the week while there was some free time hehe, but is a lot of information to remember for a first game and i dont have a very good memory . About the scramble, omg! i think we read around 3 times the rules about scramble yesterday and we didnt notice about scrambling being only for sea zones o.o, and I looked now and it’s there , that was…kind of stupid haha.
And one more doubt, is the zone 110 consider to be adjacent to scotland?110 is not adjacent to Scotland.
However, you can go between Eire and Scotland by land, even though they are not touching on the game board.I understand about reading the FAQ thread while at work.
-
This was probably answered a while ago, this is best explained by example: ANZAC has 3 fighters, 1 inf, 1 rt in queensland, 1 carrier off NSW, and a transport off queensland. Japan has 2 land units on java. Anzac can use his transport to attack java along with 1 or 2 fighters because the carrier can non-com to the java seazone to catch the fighters. My question is, after the battle, during non-com, if there are any surviving fighters in the java battle, does ANZAC still have to non-com the carrier to pick up the fighters or can they be ignored and left to crash?
-
You must always catch all surviving fighters if possible.
You can never voluntarily let fighters crash without picking them up when you can. If you don’t want to move the carrier out, then you may want to choose fighters as casualties before ground units, and you may want to think carefully about how many fighters you want to send. It’s a gamble because you don’t know if the Japanese ground units will whiff. -
Are you positive Gamer? I seem to recall the common strategy was that you could decide NOT to collect your aircraft, they just died. You had to have a valid landing zone available at the end of your combat movement round, so said carrier wouldn’t be able to sail off and fight elsewhere if it couldn’t be used as a legal landing zone for the fighters.
Of course, that’s Classic, Anniversary and Revised. Not sure if Larry decided to stop that practice in Second Edition Global. :roll: And I really don’t feel like opening the Europe book and looking right now.
-
I don’t know to what common strategy you are referring, but indeed, it has always been the rule that if you could catch surviving fighters that you were required to do so. I cannot even remember an Axis and Allies game where that was not the case….
-
Hmm, may have been a house rule, I did play quite a number of house rules.
-
Right. I remember the “Classic” game rules saying that you could not “kamikaze” aircraft.
You must pick up aircraft if possible.Now, you could make your aircraft flight path legal by sending a submarine or a single aircraft at an enemy fleet that is in the way of your carrier collecting the aircraft, and you can effectively strand your fighters (tacs) that way, but if during the noncombat phase it is possible to save your fighters/tacs, you absolutely must.
@Jenn - For future reference - if I am not 100% sure when answering questions on this thread, I always make that clear.
-
Okay, so current theory is this is an illegal move, but neither Gamerman nor I are 100% sure on it:
Can you over fly a friendly neutral you are activating that round, during non-combat movement.
Example:
- England has an aircraft somewhere. In order to fly it to where she wants it to be, she has to fly over a friendly neutral. She happens to have an infantry unit available to activate the friendly neutral and does so. Is the air space considered a valid space to fly?
Rationales:
1) Literally the territory was not friendly or hostile at the start of the round.
2) You wouldn’t be able to blitz through the territory legally.
3) It is not a combat move, even hostile nations cannot stop you from flying over them in non-combat movement.
4) You cannot fly over neutrals in non-combat movement.
5) You may certainly fly over friendly territories during non-combat movement, and you are making it friendly by sending a liberation force to remove the oppressive regime currently there (I dunno, how do you justify Persians and Greeks surrendering to the British???)I’m not referring to true neutrals or hostile neutrals. Just friendly ones. I’m thinking NO, but then, I’ve only had 1 game back in 9 months, and I am not going to open the shrink wrap on my new global boxes and pull the rules especially as my trusted go to people don’t really know for sure one way or the other. :P
-
I have a question about AA guns. If a territory has AA guns from more than one country, are they all treated as the same AA defense? Or do you count each nation’s AA gun separately?
For example: In oztea’s 1942 setup, India is defended by 2 UK AA Guns and 1 ANZAC AA gun. Normally, it would be up to 9 AA shots OR the number of planes if all 3 AA guns were from the same country. If you have AA guns from different countries, does it still work the same?
Say Japan attacks India with 5 aircraft. Since the UK has 2 AA guns, they would get 5 AA shots at the Japanese planes. Would the 1 ANZAC AA gun also get an additional 3 AA shots at the Japanese planes? Or would the ANZAC AA gun not shoot at all unless the Japanese came with 7 or more planes?I know in Global 1940 this doesn’t really come up but in oztea’s 1942 setup, there is a lot of mixing of Allied forces right from the get-go.
-
@Cmdr:
Can you over fly a friendly neutral you are activating that round, during non-combat movement.
No.
I have a question about AA guns. If a territory has AA guns from more than one country, are they all treated as the same AA defense?
Yes. They are all defending together as a group.





