Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@simon33 It cannot. While not at war with Soviet Union, Japan must treat it as a neutral power. This means it cannot enter either original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories on either map. See page 36 of the Pacific Rulebook.
-
@Krieghund Can you amplify that answer? It can’t attack Soviet territory but I don’t see why it can’t move in to a German owned territory, even if originally Soviet.
-
“Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 14) on the other map, and Axis powers on the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps. For example, a state of war with only Japan lifts the neutrality restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only, and allows Japanese units to attack or fly over Soviet-controlled territories on either map. However, the Soviet Union is still restricted on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy must still treat the entire Soviet Union as a neutral power, and may not move units into or through any original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories. At the same time, Allied powers may move units into or through Pacific original Soviet territories and Soviet-controlled territories, but not European ones.”
-
@simon-tressel But the problem is that rule doesn’t activate in the scenario that an European former soviet territory is owned by Germany or Italy. Or I can’t see how it does.
-
“Axis powers on the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps… and may not move units into or through any original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories.”
-
@simon-tressel said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
“Axis powers on the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps… and may not move units into or through any original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories.”
Where is this quote from? A search of both rulebooks doesn’t find it.
-
I just edited out the bit in the middle with the example and added the emphasis. It’s from the same paragraph as above.
-
Hmm, my rules omit the bit about original soviet territories.
-
@simon33 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Hmm, my rules omit the bit about original soviet territories.
It’s been part of the rulebooks since 2013 (see copyright date/year on the back).
Always get the latest versions here:
https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/18546/global-1940-2-rules-available-for-download -
Hi all,
Here’s my rules question:
Is it legal to declare an attack with fighters that depends on a newly placed carrier for its landing zone?
For example, say Italy has two fighters on Rome, and there’s a UK destroyer in SZ 98. If Italy buys a carrier at the start of their turn, can the fighters do combat in 98 and land on the newly purchased carrier in SZ 97?
Thanks -
@PGsquig Yes… It’s in the rules somewhere.
-
@simon33 Just to clarify, you mean yes it is legal to do a combat move that is dependent upon landing fighters on a newly purchased carrier? I thought I remembered reading something in the rules that specifically prohibits this but I can’t find it now.
-
@PGsquig said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@simon33 Just to clarify, you mean yes it is legal to do a combat move that is dependent upon landing fighters on a newly purchased carrier? I thought I remembered reading something in the rules that specifically prohibits this but I can’t find it now.
Yes.
Pac rules, p13 “A fighter or tactical bomber can move its full 4 spaces to attack in a sea zone instead of saving movement, but only if a carrier
could be there for it to land on by the conclusion of the Mobilize New Units phase.” -
Is page 14 in Europe 2nd edition
-
@simon33 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@PGsquig said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@simon33 Just to clarify, you mean yes it is legal to do a combat move that is dependent upon landing fighters on a newly purchased carrier? I thought I remembered reading something in the rules that specifically prohibits this but I can’t find it now.
Yes.
Pac rules, p13 “A fighter or tactical bomber can move its full 4 spaces to attack in a sea zone instead of saving movement, but only if a carrier
could be there for it to land on by the conclusion of the Mobilize New Units phase.”@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Is page 14 in Europe 2nd edition
Thanks for the quick replies guys!!
-
I know you can’t pass the Turkish straits when they are strict neutrals, so you can attack and take Turkey to allow passage.
What if Germany/Italy attack Turkey but don’t take it. Turkey is no longer a strict neutral but a pro-allied now. Does this change in neutrality affect the straits? Could Italy attack and fail/retreat - and then Germany can go through straits?
Seems counterintuitive but it’s the strict neutrality that closes the strait so wondering if the change in neutrality affects the strait being opened or closed.
I’ve read lots of posts about attacking Turkey to take it but no comments on this aspect.
-
@dazedwit
Your faction must control Turkey at the start of your turn to allow passage through the Turkish Straits.It would make no sense whatsoever for Turkey be attacked (but not conquered) by Italy, and decide to reward that behavior by opening the straits to Germany.
-
You must control Turkey at the start of your power’s turn, in the same manner as other straits and canals
Gibraltar, Danish, Suez, Panama…
-
Being a strict neutral does not make this different.
A strict neutral that is attacked but not controlled may be flown over by everyone in subsequent turns, but this rule does not change the strait rule.
I can look stuff up if you want, for page #s
-
I’ve seen some real surprise answers from Krieg on here so I want to know what the rule is.
I looked at the rule book before posting this. I only have Pacific rule book (Atlantic walked off somewhere). I swear there was a section on straits/canals but I can’t find it in Pacific.
My memory of the section was it using the term, “strict neutral,” as to why you couldn’t pass through the Turkish strait.