Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
2nd edition Europe manual page 15 sidebar, first sentence under “combat”
“a power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with which it is not at war.”It is also on page 15 of the “1st edition” Europe manual.
-
Does that include SBR? For instance, if Japan is not at war with UK, can they SBR moscow if there is a British fighter there or must they declare war first?
-
Well, an SBR is an attack…
-
OK thought so, just checking
-
Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?
I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.
Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.
-
Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?
I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.
Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.
Yes, it’s legal. As long as the attacked SZ is cleared (or only has submarines and/or transports ) ships that didn’t move during combat movement can NCM into and/or through this SZ.
-
Can i clear a SZ with planes (there is a TT and a DD in the SZ) and NCM my fleet through this SZ to another one?
I saw this in a Tripple A match i followed on the forum.
Is this a legal move? Tripple A will let you do this.
Yes absolutely. You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.
-
Yes absolutely. Â You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.
Ground units too? So i can move a tank trough a newly conquered territory? Of fortify a territory i just conquered?
-
Yes absolutely. � You are always allowed to move ground or sea units (that weren’t moved or used in the combat phase) through or into newly conquered territories or nonhostile seazones (subs and transports don’t make a seazone hostile) during the noncombat phase.
Ground units too? So i can move a tank trough a newly conquered territory? Of fortify a territory i just conquered?
absolutely. Which can be used very strategically, for example holding holding mech or tanks back from attacking so that they can drive through to reach another newly conquered territory that they couldn’t reach before. This is a common move in A&A50 with Germany’s first turn, leaving tanks out of the combat in poland so that they can drive thru the baltic states to reinforce a newly captured karelia during the noncom of G1.
-
Yeah, I was surprised when I found that out, too, orania (couple years ago on this site)
They’re telling you right -
Two questions:
First why do some territories in Canada have a Canadian symbol instead of a British symbol? Canada isn’t a power in the game and the UK controls them.
Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking) -
First why do some territories in Canada have a Canadian symbol instead of a British symbol? Canada isn’t a power in the game and the UK controls them.
Those emblems are there simply to honor Canada’s contribution to the Allied war effort. They have no significance in actual game play.
Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking)
The Chinese territories controlled by Japan at the beginning of the game have Chinese emblems printed on them, so there is no need to use control markers to indicate Chinese control - just remove the Japanese ones. The only territories that will ever require the use of a Chinese control marker are Burma and Kwangtung, and then only if China captures them from the Axis while India is Axis-held. As a result, five Chinese control markers are plenty.
-
Those emblems are there simply to honor Canada’s contribution to the Allied war effort. They have no significance in actual game play.
Here, Here.
-
Second why does China only come with 5 tokens considering they only have 6 territories to take over shouldn’t they come with 7 tokens (one for each territory and one for IPC tracking)
If you really want more Chinese control markers, you could get them at HBG. He has a lot of National control markers available in sheets of 20 and they are good thick ones like used in the 1940 games. He even has some for nations that aren’t represented in the 1940 games (Romania, Hungary, Dutch, Spain, Communist China, etc.) in case you want to try out the 1939 varient.
On occasion, we like to try out some weird varient where China can go outside of it’s own borders, so we then need more Chinese markers. -
National objective IPC bonuses for the United States. In global, does the United States continue to get the 40 IPC bonus for going to war that it gets in “Pacific” as a stand-alone. Without that bonus, it seems like it would get insufficient IPCs to balance out the IPCs that the axis powers are likely to have by that point. I know that there are “new” bonuses in the “Global” variant as stated in the Europe 1940 rules, but I am wondering of the United States would get that additional 40 point boost from the pacific game.
Thanks!
-
No, that is a pacific objective only.
-
According to the new rules, does the US start with minor or major industrial complexes for Global 1940 2nd ed?
Minor for Global (revisions to the setup and rules for Global are located in the rule book). Major for Europe only - which is the setup printed on the boxes.
I know this was in alpha 3, but I can’t find anything in the 2nd ed rules about starting the US with minor factories in G40.
-
According to the new rules, does the US start with minor or major industrial complexes for Global 1940 2nd ed?
Minor for Global (revisions to the setup and rules for Global are located in the rule book).� Major for Europe only - which is the setup printed on the boxes.
I know this was in alpha 3, but I can’t find anything in the 2nd ed rules about starting the US with minor factories in G40.
Look here:
@Europe:
Additional rules
The industrial complexes in Eastern United States, Central United States, and Western United States begin the game as
minor complexes. They are upgraded to major complexes at no cost when the United States enters a state of war and
may be used as such immediately. They may be upgraded prior to that time in the normal way. -
Thank you!
-
2. Can you use allied airbases to launch your attacks?�  So can the US launch from England AB? If you can’t use allied airbases than paratroopers is pretty much useless for the US.
No. The tech only applies to your own airbases. However, if the US has a forward airbase (a captured one or one built on captured territory), it can use them.
The rule just reads “Up to 2 of your infantry in each territory with an airbase…”. Â Unlike rocket tech, it does not specifically say it has to be one of YOUR airbases. Â I think it is valid for the US to use England’s AB. Â At least that’s how I read it.