Hi ANZAC. For the HBG 1939 map, think of a 4x8 sheet of plywood. Its is HUGE and awesome. You need a big room for that size table plus room to walk around on all 4 sides. I only played the 1939 game one time and I can say it is definitely superior in a hundred different ways, but playing it is an order of magnitude more complex than global 1940. Global 1940 seems like the kiddie game next to it, which is nuts because global 1940 is not an easy game by any means. I’d say your best bet is to get the global 1940 if only for the pieces, and then blow the extra money for the 1939 map and elite pieces if and when you and your crew outgrow it. Another option is to play 1940 on this site with triplea.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
no that is illegal. you can only place units in a territory that already has at least one unit of the placing power.
-
You can ask your league questions on the G40 league thread that is stickied in the league section
-
If Russia is only at war with Japan, can UK atlantic move into Russia?
-
No.
-
Cool.
-
I have a question regarding allied control of Dutch New Guinea.
Does Anzac or UK pac have to control that for Anzac to get the NO?
I’m just wondering because I have a game going on Triple A and the US has control of it…but Anzac isn’t getting the NO even though all other conditions are being met. -
tripleA does not compute some NO’s correctly. i have held calcutta with Germany and it doesn’t give Japan the NO - it can be held by any axis power to give japan the NO. same is true of NG, must be held by an allied power. in other words, it’s a bit of a pain in the butt, but you have to edit the bank account every round manually.
-
Thanks Boldfresh. Yes, that does seem like a pain in the butt…and I’ll have to explain it to my opponent now…I hope he agrees to it…Anzac needs that extra money!
-
@captain:
Thanks Boldfresh. Yes, that does seem like a pain in the butt…and I’ll have to explain it to my opponent now…I hope he agrees to it…Anzac needs that extra money!
it’s not something he needs to agree to. you just give yourself the money and tell him why :wink:
-
I’ll just change territory ownership from US to Anzac…then I won’t have to add the NO each turn.
I’ll let my opponent know what’s going on …it’s just a friendly game so I don’t want him to feel like I’m making up rules as I go. -
that’s fine except for if you ever want to build a base on the territory - the base would be purchased, placed, and operated by USA, unless axis takes NG back and then another power retakes. just make sure there are no other original anzac territories that are not owned by the axis to thwart the NO.
-
hey guys, sorry for a nub question……I forgot about the relationship between airfield damage and scramble. Does a certain amount of airfield damage negate the ability to scramble, or does that only relate to air movement?
-
Hi Zhukov. You cannot scramble or get the extra one movement if the AB has 3 or more damage. Not one or two.
-
Sorry if that last phrase was unclear.
I meant with 1 or 2 damage you can still scramble and get the extra movement.
It is 3 damage that negates these two abilities. -
And for the tech players out there -
I recently got clarification from Krieghund that air bases with 3 or more damage can’t launch paratroopers (or rockets - which was clear in the rulebook).
-
What about Interception, can i intercept when my airbase has +3 or more damage? I guess yes but a clarification would be nice! thxs
-
What about Interception, can i intercept when my airbase has +3 or more damage? I guess yes but a clarification would be nice! thxs
No ab needed for intercept
-
thxs Boldfresh for your fast answer :-D
-
@wittmann:
Hi Zhukov. You cannot scramble or get the extra one movement if the AB has 3 or more damage. Not one or two.
Thanks. I had never really thought about it. And it’s a very significant detail indeed.