Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
clearly the only answer that makes sense is that an ab with >2 damage can perform NO functions. but i’ve been surprised before. :lol:
-
Rockets specifically mentions that the air base must be operative. As for paratroopers, from the context of the other air base rules (as well as from the term “inoperative” itself), it’s pretty obvious that inoperative air bases can’t perform any of their functions.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
DO YOUR HOMEWORK GAMERMAN!!! just kidding!!! :-P
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?
no that is illegal. you can only place units in a territory that already has at least one unit of the placing power.
-
You can ask your league questions on the G40 league thread that is stickied in the league section
-
If Russia is only at war with Japan, can UK atlantic move into Russia?
-
No.
-
Cool.
-
I have a question regarding allied control of Dutch New Guinea.
Does Anzac or UK pac have to control that for Anzac to get the NO?
I’m just wondering because I have a game going on Triple A and the US has control of it…but Anzac isn’t getting the NO even though all other conditions are being met. -
tripleA does not compute some NO’s correctly. i have held calcutta with Germany and it doesn’t give Japan the NO - it can be held by any axis power to give japan the NO. same is true of NG, must be held by an allied power. in other words, it’s a bit of a pain in the butt, but you have to edit the bank account every round manually.
-
Thanks Boldfresh. Yes, that does seem like a pain in the butt…and I’ll have to explain it to my opponent now…I hope he agrees to it…Anzac needs that extra money!
-
@captain:
Thanks Boldfresh. Yes, that does seem like a pain in the butt…and I’ll have to explain it to my opponent now…I hope he agrees to it…Anzac needs that extra money!
it’s not something he needs to agree to. you just give yourself the money and tell him why :wink:
-
I’ll just change territory ownership from US to Anzac…then I won’t have to add the NO each turn.
I’ll let my opponent know what’s going on …it’s just a friendly game so I don’t want him to feel like I’m making up rules as I go. -
that’s fine except for if you ever want to build a base on the territory - the base would be purchased, placed, and operated by USA, unless axis takes NG back and then another power retakes. just make sure there are no other original anzac territories that are not owned by the axis to thwart the NO.
-
hey guys, sorry for a nub question……I forgot about the relationship between airfield damage and scramble. Does a certain amount of airfield damage negate the ability to scramble, or does that only relate to air movement?
-
Hi Zhukov. You cannot scramble or get the extra one movement if the AB has 3 or more damage. Not one or two.
-
Sorry if that last phrase was unclear.
I meant with 1 or 2 damage you can still scramble and get the extra movement.
It is 3 damage that negates these two abilities. -
And for the tech players out there -
I recently got clarification from Krieghund that air bases with 3 or more damage can’t launch paratroopers (or rockets - which was clear in the rulebook).