Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
No Cow.
Has to be a ground unit with an attack value, so it is the only one which cannot.
Explains it in the section at the back: Land Units. -
Wittman is right, again.
I hereby nominate Wittman to be a rules deputy. :-)
-
cow knows surprisingly little about the game for how great he claims to
be… :roll: -
-
Triple A allows two tacs on a carrier…is this legal? I thought you could have two fighters or one fighter and one tac…was this rule changed in 2e?
-
@captain:
Triple A allows two tacs on a carrier…is this legal? I thought you could have two fighters or one fighter and one tac…was this rule changed in 2e?
Rule changed apparently cuz u can have 2 tacs on an acc.
-
@captain:
Triple A allows two tacs on a carrier…is this legal? I thought you could have two fighters or one fighter and one tac…was this rule changed in 2e?
No, you could always have 2 tacs on a carrier from the beginning
-
I have a question about factory upgrades.
In a game Im currently playing my opponent took Moscow and reduced the major to a minor. Russia took Moscow back and was able to grab some of the Eastern Europe territories…so they collected 54 pu’s.
Can I pay for the upgrade and immediately place ten units in Moscow…or do I have to wait a turn? It will be another few turns before Germany threatens Moscow again and I want to get as many units placed as I can. -
Captain walker: you can only place 3 on the turn you upgrade.
You do have to wait one turn as you thought.
Sorry, and good luck! -
thanks wittman! I thought that was the way it worked…was hoping otherwise.
-
Triple a makes a bunch of non intuitive rules lately, so I like to just ask when something comes up.
-
Are inoperative airbases (3 or more damage) incapable of launching rocket attacks or paratroopers?
Neither the tech rules nor the base rules address this specifically. The air base rules only say that an inoperative air base can’t increase air unit range or allow air units to scramble.
-
Are inoperative airbases (3 or more damage) incapable of launching rocket attacks or paratroopers?
Neither the tech rules nor the base rules address this specifically. The air base rules only say that an inoperative air base can’t increase air unit range or allow air units to scramble.
I’m sure they can’t do either if they’re damaged to that point.
-
That’s what I’m thinking, but I wonder what Krieghund will say…
I’m wondering if they forgot to consider inoperative status when writing the tech rules, because they should have said “from your operative air bases” or something like that in the tech rules. There is nothing in the rulebook that says you can’t use inoperative air bases for rockets and paratroopers.
-
Good question, well put.
I’m hoping the official answer will be yes you can, because it’s not in the rules that you can’t. Still, would that therefore be logical? Or should the correct answer be that inoperable Air Base cannot perform ANY functions?
-
clearly the only answer that makes sense is that an ab with >2 damage can perform NO functions. but i’ve been surprised before. :lol:
-
Rockets specifically mentions that the air base must be operative. As for paratroopers, from the context of the other air base rules (as well as from the term “inoperative” itself), it’s pretty obvious that inoperative air bases can’t perform any of their functions.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
-
Thank you
I see I did not read the 2nd edition rules on rockets. If I had, I would have seen the word “operative” and would have been sure that that extended to paratroopers as well.
DO YOUR HOMEWORK GAMERMAN!!! just kidding!!! :-P
-
I am sorry if this might not be the right place for this question because it is about bid units but I don’t know where else to ask it.
Would it be legal to bid an ANZAC infantry and place him on a British transport?