Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Before Russia is in the war, can it move the cruiser and sub from sz 115?
-
Welcome to Axis and Allies.org, Trooper!
Yes, Russia is free to move the cruiser and sub to Zones 114 or 113, and can even move to Z112 if they obtain permission from the Germans! Or if the Allies have taken control of Denmark.
Note also that German ships do not block the Russian ship movement at all, because they are not at war with each other.
-
I thought so, but I wasn’t sure. Thanks Gamerman01.
-
Any time, you’re welcome
-
I have another question. It is round 2 and Russia is not at war. Russia moves sub from sz 127 to sz 112. On UK’s turn they move a lone destroyer to sz 112. Germany has their navy in sz 113. UK hasn’t any navy in the Atlantic, other than the lone destroyer. My question is, can Germany just attack the UK destroyer and not upset the Russian neutrality?
-
I have another question. It is round 2 and Russia is not at war. Russia moves sub from sz 127 to sz 112. On UK’s turn they move a lone destroyer to sz 112. Germany has their navy in sz 113. UK hasn’t any navy in the Atlantic, other than the lone destroyer. My question is, can Germany just attack the UK destroyer and not upset the Russian neutrality?
Yes, Germany can attack the UK destroyer and ignore the Russian sub.
At sea, you can ignore units of powers with which you are not at war, and you can attack units in the same sea zones belonging to powers with whom you are at war.
It’s on land that you must declare war on all powers that have units in the territory you are attacking. -
Thanks again!!
-
Question about the NO’s for global -
Does the US get the 25 IPC bonus when they are at war? or is that just in the European version?
Thanks!
-
Question about the NO’s for global -
Does the US get the 25 IPC bonus when they are at war? or is that just in the European version?
Thanks!
It’s different in Global.
@rulebook:
National Objective and Bonus Income: The objective of the United States is to become “the Arsenal of Democracy” and defeat the Axis powers. To reflect this objective, the United States collects bonus IPC income during each of its Collect Income phases in the following situations:
When the United States Is at War:
- 10 IPCs if the United States controls all of the following territories: Eastern United States, Central United States, and Western United States. Theme: Basic national sovereignty.
- 5 IPCs if the United States controls all of the following territories: Alaska, Aleutian Islands, Hawaiian Islands, Johnston Island, and Line Islands. Theme: National sovereignty issues.
- 5 IPCs if the United States controls all of the following territories: Mexico, South Eastern Mexico, Central America, and West Indies. Theme: Defense treaty and trade obligations.
- 5 IPCs if the United States controls Philippines. Theme: Center of American influence in Asia.
- 5 IPCs if there is at least 1 United States land unit in the territory France. Theme: Great Alliance collaboration -
Thanks!
I just wanted to make sure!
-
Welcome to the boards, Aaron - feel free to ask your rules questions here any time you have any doubts or wonderings.
-
Thanks Gamerman,
I have been a long time reader - but I just recently signed up. I’m glad to be here. Everyone I have encountered so far has been very helpful. :-D
-
Thanks Gamerman,
I have been a long time reader - but I just recently signed up. I’m glad to be here. Everyone I have encountered so far has been very helpful. :-D
Great to hear.
-
This may have been asked, but would like clarification on kamikaze rules. It was my understanding that an amphibious assault IN one of the designated sea zones could trigger an attack IF there were eligible unit involved in an attack on units in that zone or an amphibious assault was occurring IN that sea zone. Using tripleA, noticed that sending a transport from z35 to another zone for an amphibious assault (Only a transport) it triggered the kamikaze attack on the remaining ships in z35.
I feel this is inaccurate, but wanted clarification.
Thank you.
-
You’re right.
Kamikazes can only target surface warships, so if there are no surface warships then kamikazes cannot be used. -
Been away from the game for some time and just recently bought the second editions. Convoy Disruption Question: Am I reading this right? The rule book states, “The sea zone must be adjacent to one or more of YOUR controlled territories.” Is this in the pretense of me being attacked or myself the aggressor, because why would you disrupt a convoy adjacent to your own territory? Just reads unassumingly. Also, “At least one warship belonging to a power you are at war with must be in the sea zone.” Can you no longer disrupt convoy sea zones that are devoid of enemy ships? Also if there were enemy ships in the convoy wouldn’t a battle engagement precede the convoy disruption?
-
Same as OOB you just check convoy zones for enemy ships in the Collect Income phase.
On YOUR turn, you might lose income if ENEMY ships (and carrier based planes and tacs) are in convoy zones adjacent to YOUR territories.
It is independent of conventional naval combat. If an enemy ship is in your convoy zone after your combat phase (because it’s in the collect income phase at the end of your turn), you might lose income (depends on dice)
-
Thanks Gamer, that’s what I thought, just read a little funny to me from the rule book.
-
@RogertheShrubber:
Thanks Gamer, that’s what I thought, just read a little funny to me from the rule book.
No problem
That did answer all your convoy questions, then?
-
Yes,thanks





