Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
D6+2 for Strategic Bombers, just D6 for Tacs.
Tacs cannot attack factories, only Bases. -
Can i now repair a Battleship from an ally on my harbour?
So can an US harbour repair an UK Battleship ?I´m pretty sure in one Alpha Version it was not possible.
-
Can i now repair a Battleship from an ally on my harbour?
So can an US harbour repair an UK Battleship ?I´m pretty sure in one Alpha Version it was not possible.
Yes, it’s always been that way, since OOB.
The repair takes place on the ship owner’s turn in the purchase units phase. -
Does USA get to go to war when Germany conquers London?
-
@Cow:
Does USA get to go to war when Germany conquers London?
Yes. As does Russia.
USA can also go to war if any Axis power takes any territory in North America.
-
AAE40 2nd Edition Rulebook, page 28:
Only infantry, artillery, mechanized infantry, and tanks can capture hostile territories or convert friendly neutrals.
Thanks. I wasn’t aware of that. : :-D
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question! i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral… but what about when they activate a FBPN???
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
The answer should be no, because converting an empty enemy territory counts as a combat, and only planes can move in both combat and non-combat movement.
A general wording of this is found on page 22 of the Europe 2e book:
Phase 4: Noncombat Move
In this phase you can move any of your units **_that didn't move in the Combat Move phase or participate in combat during your turn.
Taking an empty enemy territory counts as a combat move._**
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
Yes.
What you can’t do is move a tank (or mech) a second space after entering a just-activated friendly neutral. -
@Eggman:
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
The answer should be no, because converting an empty enemy territory counts as a combat, and only planes can move in both combat and non-combat movement.
A general wording of this is found on page 22 of the Europe 2e book:
Phase 4: Noncombat Move
In this phase you can move any of your units **_that didn't move in the Combat Move phase or participate in combat during your turn.
Taking an empty enemy territory counts as a combat move.
You can blitz tanks over a hostile territory in the combat move, and complete its movement into a non-hostile territory in the combat movement phase (in fact, you must complete the tank’s movement then and not later)_** -
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question! i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral… but what about when they activate a FBPN???
gamer you still didn’t answer this one. a FBPN territory that has a standing army - can a tank or mech move through the territory and move another space, thereby activating the standing army?
-
You can blitz tanks over a hostile territory in the combat move, and complete its movement into a non-hostile territory in the combat movement phase (in fact, you must complete the tank’s movement then and not later)
You’re actually agreeing with me. The question is: can a tank claim an empty space in combat movement and then claim a neutral in non-combat movement. The answer is no.
-
@Eggman:
You can blitz tanks over a hostile territory in the combat move, and complete its movement into a non-hostile territory in the combat movement phase (in fact, you must complete the tank’s movement then and not later)
You’re actually agreeing with me. The question is: can a tank claim an empty space in combat movement and then claim a neutral in non-combat movement. The answer is no.
His question was whether you can blitz and then claim a friendly neutral all in one move and the answer is yes
-
tripleA only allows the claiming of a friendly neutral in noncombat movement. what do the rules technically say? is it done in combat or noncombat?
still doesn’t answer my question of whether the first space of a blitz can be through a friendly but previously neutral country (not a friendly neutral) and move into combat on the second space and thereby activate the standing army if there is one.
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question!� i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral…� but what about when they activate a FBPN???
gamer you still didn’t answer this one.� a FBPN territory that has a standing army - can a tank or mech move through the territory and move another space, thereby activating the standing army?�
This could be interpreted two different ways. Is the FBPN the FIRST territory or the SECOND territory.
I didn’t answer it separately because in this case the FBPN is no different than a friendly neutral.If the friendly neutral or FBPN is the FIRST territory of the tank’s movement, it cannot move another space.
A tank can blitz and take control of an empty non-neutral, non-FBPN territory and then move a SECOND space into any neutral (friendly or no) or FBPN.In other words, A GROUND UNIT CAN NEVER MOVE ANOTHER SPACE AFTER ACTIVATING A FRIENDLY NEUTRAL
-
also if the activation of a friendly neutral can be done in the combat move, can the first space the tank moves be into the friendly neutral and can it then move another space during combat? if the activation can only be done in noncombat, if the first space of the tank’s noncombat movement is into the friendly neutral, can it then have a second space of movement?
-
tripleA only allows the claiming of a friendly neutral in noncombat movement.� what do the rules technically say?� is it done in combat or noncombat?
Only non-combat, so if TripleA doesn’t let you claim a friendly neutral in combat movement, it is correct.
still doesn’t answer my question of whether the first space of a blitz can be through a friendly but previously neutral country (not a friendly neutral) and move into combat on the second space and thereby activate the standing army if there is one.
Jeez, calm down! :-)
-
also if the activation of a friendly neutral can be done in the combat move, can the first space the tank moves be into the friendly neutral and can it then move another space during combat? if the activation can only be done in noncombat, if the first space of the tank’s noncombat movement is into the friendly neutral, can it then have a second space of movement?
This is the fourth time you’ve asked this question in a matter of minutes, and the answer was in the post prior to this! In fact, the answer was in my first answer reply. I did not miss your question.
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question!� i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral…� but what about when they activate a FBPN???
gamer you still didn’t answer this one.� a FBPN territory that has a standing army - can a tank or mech move through the territory and move another space, thereby activating the standing army?�
This could be interpreted two different ways. �Is the FBPN the FIRST territory or the SECOND territory.
I didn’t answer it separately because in this case the FBPN is no different than a friendly neutral.If the friendly neutral or FBPN is the FIRST territory of the tank’s movement, it cannot move another space.
A tank can blitz and take control of an empty non-neutral, non-FBPN territory and then move a SECOND space into any neutral (friendly or no) or FBPN.In other words, A GROUND UNIT CAN NEVER MOVE ANOTHER SPACE AFTER ACTIVATING A FRIENDLY NEUTRAL
what i’m getting at is since a FBPN is different than the friendly neutral because air can land in it prior to activating the standing army, i could see possibility that a tank could move THROUGH the territory in noncombat and activate the standing army.