Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Speaking of no combat values, I remember you answered my question that you can’t “attack” with transports only, because there is no attack value.
So this also means that an “attack” with all aircraft carriers and/or transports is illegal, correct?
This would rule out a tactic of moving units strategically (up to 4 spaces and to the other side of enemy naval units) using retreats. If there is no combat value, you are guaranteed that you won’t accidentally win, like when attacking a single unit.Anyway, it’s illegal to attack with only carriers and/or transports, right?
are you allowed to send units with no attack value (acc, trn) into attacks in order to retreat them with the rest of the fleet? i could see a rationale for the acc since they can take hits, but the transports?
not the best wording, but i’m saying if you were sending some units from one zone west of the attack zone and one zone east of the attack zone, for example, in order to retreat together to one zone.
-
Um, yeah, I asked Krieghund about it awhile back when it came up in a game I was in. I was trying to get an ANZAC transport from like Z57 back to Z54 by “attacking” a Japanese destroyer in 55 and then retreating to 54. I would have sent a transport from 54 or 62 as well.
Now I see what you’re meaning….
Yes, you can send transports and carriers into battle with the rest of the fleet in order to retreat them.
You just can’t send them alone. I’m trying to ask him if it’s the same for carriers too.
-
sub destroyer…. vs sub destroyer…
Do attacker and defender subs always roll first? Makes sense to me because subs can only hit naval. However if the defender sub hits the attacker has to figure out what he wants to lose, he would still roll it to attack but he has to figure out what he loses before the rest of the dice gets rolled.
What is the official ruling kreig?
-
@Cow:
sub destroyer…. vs sub destroyer…
Do attacker and defender subs always roll first? Makes sense to me because subs can only hit naval. However if the defender sub hits the attacker has to figure out what he wants to lose, he would still roll it to attack but he has to figure out what he loses before the rest of the dice gets rolled.
What is the official ruling kreig?
A sub and destroyer against a sub and a destroyer:
Neither sub has surprise strike capability because of opposing destroyers present.
General Combat Sequence
1. Place units along the battle strip
2. Submarine surprise strike or submerge
3. Attacking units fire (and defender must choose casualties)
4. Defending units fire (attacker chooses casualties and removes them)
5. Remove defender’s casualties
6. Press attack or retreat
7. Conclude combatThis is straight from the rulebook. Obviously since the subs do not have surprise strike or submerge capabilities, you would skip step 2.
So the answer to your question is NO the subs do not always roll first.Triple A does this dead wrong. Is that why you’re wondering? The attacker should NEVER have to choose casualties before seeing his own attack roll when he has destroyers present to nullify the defending subs’ surprise strikes.
You might have to roll out such battles using the forum dice roller and use edit mode to force the correct results in TripleA.
I had that happen to me in a recent G1. Destroyer, cruiser, bomber vs. 2 subs. Triple A makes you choose casualties before you see how many hits you score. This is wrong. The attacker does not choose casualties until step 4, and gets to see his attack roll in step 3.
-
How much structural damage can each building hold up to? airfield, naval, minor, and major?
-
Hi Cow. Major can take 20, the others 6. Any more than that makes no difference. (Anything above those figures is wasted, as they cannot be allocated.)
-
Yes, you can send transports and carriers into battle with the rest of the fleet in order to retreat them.
You just can’t send them alone. I’m trying to ask him if it’s the same for carriers too.
Yes, it’s the same for carriers. You must have at least one unit with an attack value in order to attack.
-
Do bombers do 1d6 structural damage or 1d6 +1 or 1d6 +2? I have not kept up with the times!
-
D6+2 for Strategic Bombers, just D6 for Tacs.
Tacs cannot attack factories, only Bases. -
Can i now repair a Battleship from an ally on my harbour?
So can an US harbour repair an UK Battleship ?I´m pretty sure in one Alpha Version it was not possible.
-
Can i now repair a Battleship from an ally on my harbour?
So can an US harbour repair an UK Battleship ?I´m pretty sure in one Alpha Version it was not possible.
Yes, it’s always been that way, since OOB.
The repair takes place on the ship owner’s turn in the purchase units phase. -
Does USA get to go to war when Germany conquers London?
-
@Cow:
Does USA get to go to war when Germany conquers London?
Yes. As does Russia.
USA can also go to war if any Axis power takes any territory in North America.
-
AAE40 2nd Edition Rulebook, page 28:
Only infantry, artillery, mechanized infantry, and tanks can capture hostile territories or convert friendly neutrals.
Thanks. I wasn’t aware of that. : :-D
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question! i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral… but what about when they activate a FBPN???
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
The answer should be no, because converting an empty enemy territory counts as a combat, and only planes can move in both combat and non-combat movement.
A general wording of this is found on page 22 of the Europe 2e book:
Phase 4: Noncombat Move
In this phase you can move any of your units **_that didn't move in the Combat Move phase or participate in combat during your turn.
Taking an empty enemy territory counts as a combat move._**
-
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
Yes.
What you can’t do is move a tank (or mech) a second space after entering a just-activated friendly neutral. -
@Eggman:
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
The answer should be no, because converting an empty enemy territory counts as a combat, and only planes can move in both combat and non-combat movement.
A general wording of this is found on page 22 of the Europe 2e book:
Phase 4: Noncombat Move
In this phase you can move any of your units **_that didn't move in the Combat Move phase or participate in combat during your turn.
Taking an empty enemy territory counts as a combat move.
You can blitz tanks over a hostile territory in the combat move, and complete its movement into a non-hostile territory in the combat movement phase (in fact, you must complete the tank’s movement then and not later)_** -
If you have a tank can you take an empty enemy terr in combat move and activate or non com into a just activated friendly neutral with the leftover movement point?
that’s a good question! i’m thinking movement ends when they activate the a friendly neutral… but what about when they activate a FBPN???
gamer you still didn’t answer this one. a FBPN territory that has a standing army - can a tank or mech move through the territory and move another space, thereby activating the standing army?