Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Page 16 of the Europe rulebook (under Phase 2: Combat Move):
“Scrambling is a special movement that the defender can make at the end of this phase.”
[Which I take to mean only during Phase 2]Also page 16:
“Surviving scrambled air units land during that turn’s Noncombat Move phase, before the attacker makes any movements.”
[Therefore even if scramblers still exist above the SZ, they retreat before UK makes their Non-Combat movements] -
That’s right, there is never scrambling in noncombat
Scramble on page 16 says it’s a special movement the defender can make at the end of this phase. It must be done after all of the attacker’s combat movements have been completed and all attacks have been declared.
The scramble rule on page 16 is at the end of Phase 2 Combat movement in the rulebook
So I’m just confirming simon.tressel
I am curious about your explanation that it is “how I am reading the rules”. Where does the question come from, if you don’t mind?
-
M max334 referenced this topic on
-
All,
Good morning from USA! Question about amphib assaults. Scenario is 10 infantry attacking a territory via land. In addition, two infantry + four artillery attacking same territory via amphib assault. Can all four artillery pair with infantry on the attack?? Or because only two infantry are part of the amphib assault, only two of the artillery can pair with the infantry. Any of you smart gents know the answer?? -
@Trout They can be paired together regardless of where they came from.
-
@Krieghund Got it - thx Krieghund
-
If India is under Japanese control and British forces from the Europe side retake W India and Sumatra, do the British get the income for those territories?
-
@captainwalker The UK Europe economy can never collect IPCs from territories under the UK Pacific economy, and vice versa, even if the regional capital of that economy is held by the Axis. See page 35 of the Europe Rulebook.
-
@Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@captainwalker The UK Europe economy can never collect IPCs from territories under the UK Pacific economy, and vice versa, even if the regional capital of that economy is held by the Axis. See page 35 of the Europe Rulebook.
So if Russia, the US, or Anzac retake West India, Borneo, Malaya etc. from Japan and India is Japanese controlled why do they get that income but not UKE?
-
@cond1024 It is the same situation that would exist if Leningrad were recaptured by the Allies while Moscow is in Axis hands. If USSR does the recapturing, it cannot collect the income, but if another Allied power does the recapturing that power can collect the income. The only difference is that UK’s territories’ administration is divided between two regional capitals.
-
Is the number of physical pieces also the limitation of the maximum number of allowed pieces? Specific case: Germany has 12 tanks out of the box, and 9 on the board of starting set-up. Can Germany ever have more than 12 tanks at one time?
-
@PvtUltima said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Is the number of physical pieces also the limitation of the maximum number of allowed pieces?
No.
See rulebook, page 7:
Plastic Chips
Use the chips to save space in overcrowded territories and sea zones. Gray chips represent 1 combat unit each, green chips represent 3 units each, and red chips represent 5 units each. For example, if you wanted to place 10 infantry on a space, you would stack up 1 red chip, 1 green chip, 1 gray chip, and 1 infantry unit on top. The number of stacks is not limited by the number of plastic pieces available. (If you don’t have enough pieces to top off all your stacks, use any identifying item, such as a piece of paper with the unit type written on it.)
Welcome to the forum :-)





