Thank you guys! That is exactly what I was hoping to hear.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@Krieghund Thank you for the timely reply.I thought,just maybe,this was a way to more efficiently utilise US transports with UK land units in sz 110.
-
Man, I donāt remember ever coming across this.
I scoured the rulebooks but couldnāt find, also the FAQs
You can ignore subs/transports in combat movement phase.
It appears to me that you donāt have to say whether youāre actually attacking the sub(s) until you decide to roll that battle, that sea zone. (So you never need to declare ahead of time, just decide when you get to that sea zone)
Is this correct? Surely I missed something somewhere.
Triple A (which we never trust, like P@nther has in his signature) makes you say whether you are attacking transports/subs before any dice are rolled.
-
I realize you canāt move units in the combat movement phase that are not going to conduct combat.
However, in this situation a destroyer was escorting a transport over subs, so the destroyer must be moved in combat movement. Then does that destroyer have the option of attacking the subs, and does the player get to wait until getting to that battle in the conduct combat phase to actually decide to attack or not?
I know you can ignore subs in the combat movement phase, but do you have to declare that youāre not going to attack them? I canāt find that you have to declare in advance.
Canāt wait to hear this answer.
-
Is not it still like you wrote: āYou can ignore subs/transports in combat movement phase.ā So during combat MOVEMENT you decide to ignore or not?
-
Thatās the whole point of my question.
I canāt see in the rulebook that you declare anything about attacking subs in combat movement. -
@gamerman01 You must decide during combat movement whether or not you are ignoring enemy subs/transports.
-
And so you have to tell your opponent.
Curious where it says this in rulebook?
-
@gamerman01 It doesnāt say it explicitly, but the intent of combat movement is to either initiate or avoid combat, so it follows that the intent must be stated when the movement is made.
-
Nice!! Thatās what I wanted, and as always you are so fast
Thanks Krieghund, have a nice day
-
Just for fun:
Kamikazes were involved in my situation also š
So it can be a big deal that you have to declare before kamikaze attacks rather than after.But it didnāt matter because I had 2 mighty subs that @oysteilo didnāt dare attack with a single destroyer in an amphibious assault attempt. He wanted Korea, and he got it. I never saw it coming.
-
Ok. Hereās a related amphib assault question ā no kamikazi though.
US assaults FIC with 1 Sub + transports
Japan has 3 subsAs the US attacker, I can ignore the subs and launch an amphib assault, if the transport is escorted by a āwarshipā because of the following in the rules
āA transport that is part of an amphibious assault must end its movement in a friendly sea zone (or one that could become friendly as result of sea combat) from which it can conduct the assault. However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.ā
Subs do not make a SZ friendly or hostile. So what effect does the escorting sub do?
One interpretation is that a sub is a āwarshipā and suppresses the other subs. But I see it equally possible that āwarshipā = surface vessel, and thus the escort cannot suppress the subs. Combat will occur if the defender wishes to fightāhe has the option to submerge. -
Subs are warships - just not surface warships (see the heading under Sea Units on p. 31 of the Europe rulebook).
-
@matttodd1 ok. Thanks for that clarification
-
@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
I canāt find the rule(s) that tell about:
When a unit of one ally is on another allyās transport - can the ground unit amphibiously assault from the allyās transport when it is his turn?
If so, can the defender scramble against it? If so, what if the attacker has no naval or air units in the zone to support it? Does the defending fighter stop the amphibious assault? Surely it doesnāt destroy anything⦠(the offloading ground unit or the allyās transport)?Thanks - somebody asked me and we werenāt sure, and now itās applicable in my game. Seems like it wouldnāt even be a very rare situationā¦
For anyone reading, I understand there may be a house rule for ābalanced mod 4ā, but I am playing ābalanced mod 3ā and I believe it uses the 2nd edition rulebook for this situation.I scoured the 2nd edition rulebook in what I thought were all the applicable sections, and I couldnāt figure out how to apply them to amphibious assaults from allyās transports - I only saw the rule that says you can share aircraft carriers and transports with your allies⦠Thanks!!
So I have this situation in one of my games, potentially. It is BM4. I am wonderingā¦what do you mean by āI understand there may be a house rule for ābalanced mod 4"ā? I know itās been awhile⦠I appreciate any guidance you can give!
-
Yes that was over 2 years ago, but I can answer.
Only difference between BM4 and BM3 is 14 cost bombers
BM3 uses 2nd edition rules for generally most things, including this. So there are no āhouse rulesā for BM4, where I wasnāt sure about that in 2022So, pretty sure you can amphibiously assault off an Allyās transport on your turn (see Krieghundās reply).
I know for sure a scramble stops that assault (see Krieghundās reply to that old post)
-
@gamerman01 Thanks for the quick reply!
-
Hello A&A community, quick question about a specific scenario that I cannot find clarity on in the rulebook. Playing G40, US attacks SZ 95 where Italian navy and German U-Boats are located. I know that U-Boats can submerge as US Navy has no destroyers. But hereās where I am lost ⦠If I submerge the U-Boats which would mean certain destruction of the Italian navy there, then UK Navy move to SZ 95 for an attack which includes destroyers, would the German U-Boats (combined with scrambling Luftwaffe from Southern Italy) be defending against the UK navy and the US navy boats that are there or just the UK navy which is attacking on its turn?? The answer is crucial for my current game as we are playing with Captainās house rules where U-Boats are lethal.
-
@Trout - On UKs turn, only the UK ships are attacking. Any US ships in the sea zone are ignored in such an attack, on UKs turn.
-
@matttodd1 Got it. Thanks for the prompt reply!
-
If an unfriendly neutral is attacked but not conquered, Iām pretty sure that enemy air units may land in it without enemy land units to activate it. However, Iāve had a look and I canāt see where that is clearly stated in the rules - seems implied but is that it?