Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Did you read the bit I bolded? If Japan DOW on UK, USA can then DOW on Japan before turn 3.
-
@simon33 yea i just did. It’s not listed here https://www.hasbro.com/common/documents/60D52426B94D40B98A9E78EE4DD8BF94/01976084F8F14994BE3DA27CAF498033.pdf
Is there a more recent ?
OK triplea does it correctly
Thanks
-
That hasbro PDF doesn’t read right on my computer but it does still have the same bit at the back for Global rules.
-
@simon33 thanks again
-
The rulebooks are now provided by Renegade, as noted here:
-
-
@Panther So i don’t see any difference in the new link. At least as far as what I’m asking. From Renegade Europe
The United States may not declare war on any Axis power
unless an Axis power either declares war on it first or
captures London or any territory in North America, after
which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its
following turn.Renegade Pacific
*It may not
declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or
makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United
Kingdom or ANZAC. Following any such unprovoked
declaration of war by Japan, the United States will receive an
immediate one-time bonus payment of 30 IPCs, representing
the total mobilization and transfer of military assets within
the continental United States. *I know USA doesn’t get the 30 PU bonus. Is there a Global specific scenario ?
I’ll just ask my question directly to you.
In Global 1940, If JPN Declares War on UK and ANZAC Round 2 but not the USA, can the USA Declare War on JPN and All Axis Round 2 ? That same turn ?
Or must they wait until Round 3 ?
My reading of it says USA needs to wait until Round 3.
Thanks
-
-
You are still not looking in the global rules which are at the back of the manual.
-
@simon33 I will look again Thanks for replying
-
@simon33 OK I finally found it. Triplea does this correctly. USA is able to DOW on JPN Round 2 the same turn JPN Declared War on UK/ANZAC.
-
its asked before…
@Panther @simon33 @gamerman01 @MrRoboto
Japan controls Philippines, but has no land or air units there,
There is a defending japanese sub in the sea zone (sz35)
USA attacks with 2 destroyers, a bunch of planes and a transport carrying a mech
Both destroyers are dead by kamikaze
what happens? Can the mech capture philippines or does the sub prevent it?
Unsure if the kamikaze is a sea battle or not
-
The sub prevention is for combat move only.
You are in the combat phase. Both destroyers are gone, so you have loaded transport vs. sub. Sub gets a shot, and if it misses, the transport retreats because the attacker has no chance against that sub now
-
Kamikazes do create a sea battle - one kamikaze stops all bombardment
-
so philippines are under japanese control and transport and mech has to retreat? after a failed sub defense shoot
-
The transport can’t possibly beat a sub, so the mech will never be able to land. Best case scenario for attacker is getting the hell out after a sub miss
-
That is the power of kamikaze!!! :fearful:
-
eh - kamikazes plus submarine, that is. The kamikazes alone can’t stop the landing since they can’t hurt transports, of course
-
@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
That is the power of kamikaze!!! :fearful:
I did right then!
-
-
@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
The sub prevention is for combat move only.
You are in the combat phase. Both destroyers are gone, so you have loaded transport vs. sub. Sub gets a shot, and if it misses, the transport retreats because the attacker has no chance against that sub now
I was also wondering about this scenario.
My interpretation would be that the US player can chose to ignore the sub in the CM. This is possible due to surface warships present. US DD are then sunk in the Combat phase.
I would assume the sub is still ignored. Is this incorrect? @gamerman01 ?
-
I think that combat is created by kamikaze rather than the attacker.
-
No, I was wrong.
I searched for Krieghund’s responses on the matter, and he clearly states that kamikazes don’t force combat.
The destroyers are sunk, but the transport can conduct amphibious assault despite the sub because kamikazes don’t create a sea battle.