Generally pacific builds consists of a 2 to 1 ratio of subs-destroyer. Following turn is 5-6 bombers. This forces Japan to start building fleet instead of troops for India/China crush.
I just had to give som additional thumbs up fo9r this comment :D Buying other combat ships than subs, dds (Or CW + ftrs) is rarely correct. the 2 to 1 ratio shos that sean knows how fodder works and how it is the most important thing in these battles.
The only reason to stop buying the subs is if japan for some reason dont respond with fleetbuilding and only buys planes instead. But then you should win anyways :D
which is why i said that it didn’t work against a too planeheavy japan. on theory, the DDs + other surface ships ofc needs to be enough to stop all the planes of japan + 2 rounds of plane only builds of japan.
What would prevent japan from attacking your fleet of subs-destroyers with air and a few destroyers. With 20+ planes they can whipe out your whole fleet with minimal losses as subs cant even hit the planes.
I normaly go for a carrier heavy fleet followed by subs destroyers for attacking power. Ideally i want my carriers to bait an early attack from japan that i can crush in the counter and get his carriers and BB out of the way so anzac and UKP can clean up the rest.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@krieghund Hello so am told you are the final answer when it comes to rule interpretations! By the way thank you so much for your work on this incredible game. It has brought me countless hours of entertainment. I have a question for you. Let’s say there is a destroyer built in sea zone around Japan by an American IC in Korea and there is a large Japanese fleet there (in same sea zone) including transports. I know the Japanese transports cannot load from Japan in combat movement due to the presence of the destroyer. Assuming the Japan fleet stays put including the transports and wins the sea battle, can Japanese land units then load onto the transports ( but not offload) from Japan during noncombat?
-
@jkeller said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@krieghund Hello so am told you are the final answer when it comes to rule interpretations! By the way thank you so much for your work on this incredible game. It has brought me countless hours of entertainment.
That’s good to know!
@jkeller said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
I have a question for you. Let’s say there is a destroyer built in sea zone around Japan by an American IC in Korea and there is a large Japanese fleet there (in same sea zone) including transports. I know the Japanese transports cannot load from Japan in combat movement due to the presence of the destroyer. Assuming the Japan fleet stays put including the transports and wins the sea battle, can Japanese land units then load onto the transports ( but not offload) from Japan during noncombat?
No, they cannot. They were involved in combat, so they are not eligible to act during noncombat movement. From page 22 of the Pacific Rulebook (Phase 4: Noncombat Move):
Transports can move to friendly coastal territories and load or offload cargo, unless they loaded, moved, offloaded, or were involved in combat during the Combat Move or Conduct Combat phase.
-
@krieghund Thank you so much for the quick response!
-
i still dont have a good grasp of these sea rules in this version. Can transport load in combat move with a sub in the sea zone? can it offload in a seazone with a lone sub?
-
Yes, subs can be ignored during combat movement and noncombat movement nor do they block loading or unloading of transports. (page 13, bottom paragraph)
The exception is amphibious assaults - by transport(s) only - over sub(s) that are in the destination sea zone (unescorted transports can go over subs in other seazones on the way) are not allowed. You just need one escorting warship (which could just be a sub) to overcome this, and you can still ignore the defending subs. (page 16 under transports)
-
Are land units with 2 move allowed to Non-Combat move onto friendly neutral through a friendly neutral that was captured this turn.
Ex, let’s imagine that west india had a mech infantry in addition to the regular infantry, would you be able to move the indian infantry to east persia then move the mech to persia? What if it was only a single mech? Could you take east persia+Persia on a single NCM?
-
By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
“Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a
power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
end of the Noncombat Move phase”.So the answer is “No”.
You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
The mech infantry can’t “move through”. -
Can German troops Enter Italian controlled eastern poland while germany is not at war with russia (and therefore collect the 5 IPC national objective)
thanks Panther
-
@panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
“Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a
power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
end of the Noncombat Move phase”.So the answer is “No”.
You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
The mech infantry can’t “move through”.Can I just ask a follow on question here. I know all combat movement happens simultaneously, but does the same apply for NCM? So what stops one unit from claiming the friendly neutral while another unit moves 2 through the territory after the first unit claimed it?
Would appear to be a loophole but I don’t see why it doesn’t apply.
-
@simon33 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
“Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a
power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
end of the Noncombat Move phase”.So the answer is “No”.
You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
The mech infantry can’t “move through”.Can I just ask a follow on question here. I know all combat movement happens simultaneously, but does the same apply for NCM? So what stops one unit from claiming the friendly neutral while another unit moves 2 through the territory after the first unit claimed it?
Would appear to be a loophole but I don’t see why it doesn’t apply.
The neutral territory is neutral until the end of Noncombat Move Phase (see quote above).
So let’s assume an Infantry and a Mech enter the “first” neutral territory ‘together’. The Mech would not be able to “continue” its move as it may not go through the first territory, that still is neutral (until the end of NCM). -
@ussgordoncaptain said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Can German troops Enter Italian controlled eastern poland while germany is not at war with russia (and therefore collect the 5 IPC national objective)
thanks Panther
Yes, as Eastern Poland - being Italian at that time - is friendly to Germany.
-
Japan/USA/British/ANZAC question
End of round2: No war
End of Japan 3: No war
End of USA 3: USA declares war on japan
End of British/Anzac 3: No war with japanJapan 4. Will a british/Anzac destroyer block a japan attack on USA or can Japan ignore it and not declear war on British/ANZAC?
HMMMM, I think yes, they may
-
Japan can ignore it because Japan is still not at war with UK/ANZAC
-
@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Japan can ignore it because Japan is still not at war with UK/ANZAC
good to get it confirmed! (and good to see you back in business)
-
Thank you! Feeling good.
I hope you’re not terrorizing your opponent TOO much with that. -
@oysteilo said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
End of British/Anzac 3: No war with japan
Why would any Allied Player NOT declare war on Japan during Round 3? There is no detriment to declaring war at this point and there are many positives. Don’t get it??? :shrug:
-
Right. Unless… The allied player wanted the attack on USA so that round 4 they can do the ANZAC DOW after blocking Japan transports, but that’s far-fetched. Especially with NO’s and everything.
Map?
-
I mean, I can’t think of any other reason off-hand
-
@gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Yes, subs can be ignored during combat movement and noncombat movement nor do they block loading or unloading of transports. (page 13, bottom paragraph)
The exception is amphibious assaults - by transport(s) only - over sub(s) that are in the destination sea zone (unescorted transports can go over subs in other seazones on the way) are not allowed. You just need one escorting warship (which could just be a sub) to overcome this, and you can still ignore the defending subs. (page 16 under transports)
What if you initate combat in the SZ in question, eg move a DD in to attack the sub? Can the transport still ignore the sub and load during CM? I assume not, since the SZ is not friendly anymore?
-
@myygames As long as you are loading you can ignore the sub.