Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
In G40, if a defender has a sub And destroyer, the attacker has a Sub and some planes but no attacking destroyer, doesn’t the defending Sub with it’s First strike Fire first before the attacking Sub?
-
@nolimit I can’t see why it would go before the attacking sub.
-
@lennardf Not Me, but My opponent eventually Saw the light though!!!😁
-
@Nolimit I think your interpretation is correct.
Sub surprise strikes happen before the main combat rounds
Destroyers prevent surprise strikesSo in this case the defender’s side has a DD so the attacking sub does not get a surprise strike, but the attacker’s side does not have a DD, so the defending sub will surprise strike
https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/13666/submarine-alpha-2-rules/2
-
Yep surfer
-
Tried searching and all I get is “No Matches Found” lol
Is a transport considered a surface warship for the Italian Mediterranean Objective
Thanks
-
@barnee Nope. A warship = surface vessel with attack value. Not sure where this is in the rules so if you want to wait for someone more proficient in rules to weigh in, I understand.
-
@barnee But you can improve your search results by looking in “Titles and Posts” rather than just the default “Titles”. Several posts describe warships.
-
@barnee said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
Tried searching and all I get is “No Matches Found” lol
Is a transport considered a surface warship for the Italian Mediterranean Objective
Thanks
Searching the PDF-rulebooks is easier. While there are many mentions of the fact in the rulebook, the most clear definiton is given on page 31 Europe 1940.2, unit profiles, sea units:
“For the sake of these rules, the following are surface warships: battleships, carriers, cruisers, and destroyers. Transports are not warships. Submarines are warships, but they are not surface warships.”
-
-
@panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
“For the sake of these rules, the following are surface warships: battleships, carriers,
cruisers, and destroyers. Transports are not warships. Submarines are warships, but they are not surface warships.”Edit
Yes this is what I was missing. I went to the Objectives
• 5 IPCs if there are no Allied surface warships in the Mediterranean sea (sea zones 92 through 99). Theme:
Propaganda and strategic advantageI surprise myself to this day by missing the obvious lol
Still don’t know why my search didn’t return a result lol
-
@barnee A reasonable improvement to the rules would be:
if there are no Allied surface warships (battleships, carriers,
cruisers, and destroyers) -
P Panther forked this topic on
-
I can’t find the rule(s) that tell about:
When a unit of one ally is on another ally’s transport - can the ground unit amphibiously assault from the ally’s transport when it is his turn?
If so, can the defender scramble against it? If so, what if the attacker has no naval or air units in the zone to support it? Does the defending fighter stop the amphibious assault? Surely it doesn’t destroy anything… (the offloading ground unit or the ally’s transport)?Thanks - somebody asked me and we weren’t sure, and now it’s applicable in my game. Seems like it wouldn’t even be a very rare situation…
For anyone reading, I understand there may be a house rule for “balanced mod 4”, but I am playing “balanced mod 3” and I believe it uses the 2nd edition rulebook for this situation.I scoured the 2nd edition rulebook in what I thought were all the applicable sections, and I couldn’t figure out how to apply them to amphibious assaults from ally’s transports - I only saw the rule that says you can share aircraft carriers and transports with your allies… Thanks!!
-
@gamerman01 The only rules in the Rulebook specific to this situation are on page 21 (Europe) where it talks about multi-national forces, saying that your units load onto and offload from your ally’s transport on your turn. The FAQ elaborates further, saying this:
Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then the defender scrambles. What happens?
A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed. -
Perfect!!! We didn’t have the FAQ - that is the exact answer I needed - Thank you for the amazingly fast response, and can you point me to the FAQ please? For bonus points? Thanks again!!
-
@gamerman01 Unfortunately, I’m not sure where, if anywhere, the FAQs are currently posted. They are scheduled to be posted on this site at some point, but it hasn’t happened yet.
-
The links to the FAQ sheets in the respective game categories are broken, except for Pacific 1940 2nd edition. This one, for any reason, is still valid:
https://media.wizards.com/2015/downloads/ah/AA_Pacific_1940_2nd_Edition_FAQ.pdf -
That’s only about 7 years old!
A lot of those questions are for global, including the allied transport one I asked recently, but yeah maybe we don’t have some of them yet for Europe - thanks!! -
But it is the latest one that ever has been published. There has been one for Europe 1940.2, too, but the link is broken, as AH failed to include the FAQ-sheets when they relaunched their site.
-
Page 14 explains with bullet points your options when you start your turn with enemy surface ships in your zone.
One bullet point says you can leave, load units, and come back for combat.
Must you have a transport that can go load units, or can your warship(s) leave the zone and come back in a combat move in order to establish a zone or two to retreat to?