Generally pacific builds consists of a 2 to 1 ratio of subs-destroyer. Following turn is 5-6 bombers. This forces Japan to start building fleet instead of troops for India/China crush.
I just had to give som additional thumbs up fo9r this comment :D Buying other combat ships than subs, dds (Or CW + ftrs) is rarely correct. the 2 to 1 ratio shos that sean knows how fodder works and how it is the most important thing in these battles.
The only reason to stop buying the subs is if japan for some reason dont respond with fleetbuilding and only buys planes instead. But then you should win anyways :D
which is why i said that it didn’t work against a too planeheavy japan. on theory, the DDs + other surface ships ofc needs to be enough to stop all the planes of japan + 2 rounds of plane only builds of japan.
What would prevent japan from attacking your fleet of subs-destroyers with air and a few destroyers. With 20+ planes they can whipe out your whole fleet with minimal losses as subs cant even hit the planes.
I normaly go for a carrier heavy fleet followed by subs destroyers for attacking power. Ideally i want my carriers to bait an early attack from japan that i can crush in the counter and get his carriers and BB out of the way so anzac and UKP can clean up the rest.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Question 1:
Your understanding is correct.
@rulebook:
Transporting Multinational Forces: Transports
belonging to a friendly power can load and offload
your land units, as long as both powers are at war.
This is a three-step process:
1. You load your land units aboard the friendly
transport on your turn.
2. The transport’s owner moves it (or not) on
that owner’s turn.
3. You offload your land units on your next turn.Question 2: yes
and
Question 3: noSee
@rulebook:
A quick reaction team of no more than 3 defending
fighters and/or tactical bombers (strategic bombers can’t
scramble) located on each island or coastal territory
that has an operative air base can be scrambled to
defend against attacks in the sea zones adjacent to those
territories. These air units can be scrambled to help
friendly units in adjacent sea zones that have come under
attack. They can also be scrambled to resist amphibious
assaults from adjacent sea zones, whether or not the
territory being assaulted is the territory containing the
air base. They may defend against the enemy ships
conducting the amphibious assault even if friendly ships
are not present. Air units belonging to powers friendly to
the attacked power may be scrambled by their owner if
the owning power is at war with the attacking power, so
long as the limit of 3 total air units is respected.Question 4 and Question 5:
The British Units can invade Italy during Britain’s turn provided that Italy does not scramble.
@Official:
Scrambling
Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any
supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then the defender scrambles. What
happens?
A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the
US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone
can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed. -
So, if the U.S. transport were loaded with ANZAC or French (lol) units and Italy purchased and deployed a boat in that sea zone, then the ANZAC units could not conduct the amphibious assault even without Italy scrambling due to ANZAC not being able to clear the boats from the sea zone, correct?
-
So, if the U.S. transport were loaded with ANZAC or French (lol) units and Italy purchased and deployed a boat in that sea zone, then the ANZAC units could not conduct the amphibious assault even without Italy scrambling due to ANZAC not being able to clear the boats from the sea zone, correct?
Correct, provided the “boat” is a warship.
-
With Q5, in the event that Britain still attacks, whether or not Britain provides forces to attempt to clear SZ95 the American transports are not destroyed even if there are extra hits left over, but the assault does not proceed. There needs to be an actual scramble to stop the assault - this is important if you want the plane to do something else, like scrambling to SZ97 or intercepting.
-
With Q5, in the event that Britain still attacks, whether or not Britain provides forces to attempt to clear SZ95 the American transports are not destroyed even if there are extra hits left over, but the assault does not proceed. There needs to be an actual scramble to stop the assault - this is important if you want the plane to do something else, like scrambling to SZ97 or intercepting.
So in this case, if Southern Italy were defended by nothing but a single fighter and the allies had 1 transport in SZ95 and 1 transport in SZ97, Italy would have to decide between 3 options:
1. Scramble to SZ95, letting Southern Italy get captured by the British troops invading from SZ97 (and the fighter could land in Northern Italy)
2. Scramble to SZ97, letting Southern Italy get captured by the British troops invading from SZ95 (and the fighter could land in Northern Italy)
3. Defend the land battle and hope 1 fighter can kill whatever is loaded on the two transports. -
That’s exactly right.
-
Hi there,
USA is not at war yet. Can USA use a UK Naval Base
1.) If UK is not at war, too
2.) If UK is at war.Thanks in advance.
H. -
@Hecatomb If not at war, the US cannot use another nation’s NB.
-
Sad.
Thanks for your fast response!
-
I should also have added that the two nations have to be allied.
-
I think it should be pretty clear that an Ally nation couldn’t use an Axis nations’ base and vice versa. 🤔
-
@Wittmann said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
I should also have added that the two nations have to be allied.
@Hecatomb said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
I think it should be pretty clear that an Ally nation couldn’t use an Axis nations’ base and vice versa.
I think that @Wittmann wanted to point out that being allied is the key to use other power’s bases.
As long as USA is neutral they can’t use other bases. See US restrictions on page 14 Pacific rulebook:… It [The US] may not move units into territories or onto
ships belonging to another power or use
another power’s naval bases, nor may
another power move land or air units
into its territories or onto its ships or use
its naval bases.or page 15 Europe rulebook:
… It [A neutral power] can’t move units into or through
territories or onto ships belonging to another power
or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another
power move land or air units into or through its
territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.They need to be allied to do so.
-
I got it, thanks, I wouldn’t kid anybody.
-
And it is the same between UK and Anzac regardless of their special relationship?
-
@Hecatomb
They are allied (from the beginning of the game), so they can use allied bases. -
Even if they are not at war with Japan?
-
@Hecatomb Being at war with a special power is totally irrelevant here. Be allied to use bases of allied powers, as those are friendly (and unrestricted).
-
Thanks a lot!
-
Just want to make sure I’ve been doing this correctly. I SBR an AB and attack a SZ. The SBR is decided first, so if it’s disabled, no units can scramble to the SZ battle ?
So if playing on triplea, you would need to use the “Roll Dice” function and ask the player if they want to intercept. If yes, you’d roll the air battle and then any surviving bombers you’d roll the AA battle, then the bombing damage if necessary.
If the AB is disabled, you then player enforce not scrambling and adjust the damage/ unit losses accordingly after combat.
Is that how people are doing it ?
-
@barnee
Scrambling by the rules is a defender’s move that occurs as the very last action during the attacker’s Combat Move Phase.
SBR occurs at the beginning of the Conduct Combat Phase.
So by the rules scrambling is always happening before SBR.(TripleA handles all of this correctly. In this context an issue with rocket technology has been resolved recently, but is only available in the latest pre-releases (Engine version 1.10.x).)