@Jeff28:
Sub on sub naval battle:
Does the attacking sub get a free shot before the defender can submerge?
If submerge is chosen by the defender, if a 1 or 2 is rolled does the first shot sink the sub?
–Jeff
Krieghund said the official answer is yes
in this post:
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28344.0
However, the official rulebook for 2e Europe '40 doesn’t support that, so maybe the rules are different between versions:
(2e Rules p 19, my emphasis):`**_Attacking or defending submarines that choose to submerge are immediately removed from the battle strip and returned to the game board in the contested sea zone, removing them from the remaining battle sequences. Note: Decisions on whether attacking and defending submarines will fire or submerge must be made before any dice are rolled by either side. The attacking player decides first.
Each attacking submarine conducting a Surprise Strike rolls one die. Attacking submarines that roll a “2” or less
score a hit. After the attacking player has rolled for all attacking submarines, the defender chooses 1 sea unit submarines can’t hit air units) for each hit scored and moves it behind the casualty strip. (Note: Undamaged
capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.) Then each defending submarine conducting a Surprise
Strike rolls one die. Defending submarines that roll a “1” score a hit. After the defending player has rolled
for all defending submarines, the attacker chooses 1 sea unit for each hit scored and removes it from play. (Note: Undamaged capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.)
Note: In both cases, attacking or defending, transports can be chosen as casualties only if there are no other
eligible units. Submerged submarines can’t be chosen as casualties since they have been removed from the battle. Once all attacking and defending submarines that conducted a Surprise Strike have fired, the casualties they have generated are removed from the game and this step (step 2) is over for this round of combat.`_**