Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
I don’t reckon the rules are clear on that one…
…since there is indeed no escorting warship for the assault.Maybe here is a misunderstanding: The requirement of an escorting warship is not ‘bound’ to the assault itself that takes place in the Conduct Combat Phase. It is a requirement for the Combat Move Phase, see again:
@rulebook:
However, a transport
is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious
assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy
submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the
attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end
of the Combat Move phase.Pretty clear, as I think.
This is only the rules of course, I do understand that you do not feel comfortable with that.
-
Alright, I guess then it is clear. I assumed that the requirement to be escorted was attached to the Combat phase - but it makes perfect sense for it to be attached to the Combat Movement phase. So then it follows that if your TT starts Combat movement in a hostile SZ and is forced to move, it can still move to a SZ with a sub and not attack it.
Now I follow what you were saying with the “Combat phase” above.
-
Is it acceptable for China to noncombat units into Burma on China 1, before Japan and UK are at war?
TripleA allows it, but I’d like to be sure.
-
Yes China can, because China is at war with Japan, and the UK is at war with Germany so neither are neutral.
It’s considered an act of war for the UK/ANZ to move into or fly over China, but China has no such concerns (in reverse, moving into UK territories)
-
Not sure if this has been asked/answered yet. Do air units that start on carriers in a SZ next to a controlled air base gain an extra movement point as well?
-
@ProtesT:
Not sure if this has been asked/answered yet. Do air units that start on carriers in a SZ next to a controlled air base gain an extra movement point as well?
Nope.
-
@ProtesT:
Not sure if this has been asked/answered yet. Do air units that start on carriers in a SZ next to a controlled air base gain an extra movement point as well?
Nope.
Because:
@rulebook:
Air Bases
…
Unit Characteristics
Increased Air Unit Range: When taking off from a friendly territory that has an operative air base, air units gain 1 additional
point of movement range. At that point fighters and tactical bombers can move 5 spaces, and strategic bombers can move 7
spaces. Note: Air units on carriers in a sea zone adjacent to a territory containing an air base don’t benefit from this additional
movement range. -
Can you go from Central America to Venezuela by land, or does Colombia get in the way?
-
Can you go from Central America to Venezuela by land, or does Colombia get in the way?
Takes two moves via Colombia, at least in Triple-A. Looking at the map image, it’s less clear.
-
Central America and Venezuela are not adjacent to one another.
-
Can you go from Central America to Venezuela by land, or does Colombia get in the way?
Takes two moves via Colombia, at least in Triple-A. Looking at the map image, it’s less clear.
Are you sure? I think it’s always been adjacent in Triple A, and using edit mode just now it counts it as 1 move from Central America to Venezuela.
Krieghund’s answer is a big surprise to me. I’ll have to look at my game board when I get home -
I’ll have to look at my game board when I get home
In triplea Central America and Venezuela got a border, on the game board they got a point, in reality they got neither. :-)
-
Ugh, guilty of trusting Triple A again
-
Ugh, guilty of trusting Triple A again
I have reported this issue in the tripleadev forum.
http://tripleadev.1671093.n2.nabble.com/ww2global40-2nd-edition-Map-error-tp7593051.html
-
Are you sure? I think it’s always been adjacent in Triple A, and using edit mode just now it counts it as 1 move from Central America to Venezuela.
Krieghund’s answer is a big surprise to me. I’ll have to look at my game board when I get homeOops, you’re quite correct. How about that. I’ve always gone via Columbia!
-
I’ll have to look at my game board when I get home
In triplea Central America and Venezuela got a border, on the game board they got a point, in reality they got neither. :-)
OK, I just checked the board and no, Central America clearly doesn’t border Venezuela. It’s generous to even call it a point. I just got suckered in by a Triple A error
-
Thanks everyone. It is hard to tell if there adjacent or not.
-
I have a question about Russia’s two theatres of war and how they interact.
My scenario is that Russia is not at war with Germany or Italy at the end of Russian turn one. Then on Japan’s turn one, Japan declares war on UK-Anzac-US-France but not Russia. Let us move ahead to Russian turn 2. Germany and Italy still have not DOW’d on Russia, so Russia is still neutral in the European theatre. Russia on turn two now declares war on Japan. So on US turn 2, I believe it would be okay for the US to send units to Russia on the Pacific side. They would be in range to fly aircraft to Russian territory. How far westward can these US units go while Russia is neutral on the Europe side?
Thanks for responses.
I apologize if this subject is answered elsewhere. If it has been, please point me to those posts.
-
You are correct, USA units can go to East Russia once Russia is at war with Japan, and USA is not neutral.
The limit is the edge of the Pacific board(s). If you’re not playing on the actual board game, then you need me to tell you - the last Russian territories on the Pacific boards are Evenkiyskiy and Timguska. So the USA can’t go beyond those (but may occupy as far west as these two territories) while Russia is not at war in Europe -
Question. TT starts in a hostile SZ with a power you are already at war with - i.e. new DOW exemption doesn’t apply. Can you move to another SZ, pick up troops but then not unload them? AFAIAA, if you pick up in Combat Movement you have to unload. Can you just leave the units on the transport then?
And what about if you want to unload to a friendly space while I’m asking. I presume the exemption covers this scenario though.