Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Hmm. That brings up an interesting question.
If some how japan attacked russia on the euro map while russia still neutral in europe, would russia still be neutral there?
Or could american bombers land in pac russia if japan and russia are neutral, but italy and germany have taken russian territories on pac map?
Wont happen, but wondering.This is, I believe, directly answered in the rules. E40 p. 37:
Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15) on the other map, and Axis powers on the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps. For example, a state of war with only Japan lifts the neutrality restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only, and allows Japanese units to attack or fly over Soviet-controlled territories on either map. However, the Soviet Union is still restricted on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy must still treat the entire Soviet Union as a neutral power, and may not move units into or through any original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories. At the same time, Allied powers may move units into or through Pacific original Soviet territories and Soviet-controlled territories, but not European ones.If somehow Japan attacked Russia on the European map while Russia is still neutral in Europe, would Russia still be neutral there?
Yes.The harder question is, could Russia then attack these Japanese-held territories?
As written, the rules seem to say no. But I might be sympathetic to a player who argued that Russia should be able to attack Japanese-held formerly-Russian territories on the European map–assuming no Italian or German units are in them at the time. Except of course that, by this time in the game, Russia probably has the ability to DoW whomever it wants: if that’s the case, I’d live by the letter of the rules.Could American bombers land in Pacific Russia if Japan and Russia are neutral, but Italy and Germany have taken Russian territories on the Pacific map?
No. -
I’ve read through the first 120 pages of this Q&A thread, which constitutes the first three years’ worth of questions. As I did so, I gathered notes and grouped them by topic. Figuring that others might find this useful, I’m posting my compilation back into this same thread. Players may find it useful for clearing up common rule confusions, or even for raising points they may not have thought of yet.
Disclaimers:
-
I’m not trying to claim credit for the work that all the many contributors to this thread have made. Their postings have been invaluable to me in clearing up the finer points of the A&A rules.
-
Nor am I trying to assert that what I’m posting is official, for it isn’t. I could very well have misunderstood, or distorted the context in which some of the answers were given. Again, this document has not been officially vetted and may be inaccurate at points. (And the document itself clearly states this as well.)
-
I asked Krieghund for his permission to post this here, and he has no problem with me doing so.
Unofficial Compilation of Clarifications from the first 3 years of this thread:
A&A Global 1940 - Lessons Learned from the Official Q&A Thread.pdf
-
-
Rule question:
Can planes fly from SZ 100 to 99 (over neutral Turkish straits?) -
Rule question:
Can planes fly from SZ 100 to 99 (over neutral Turkish straits?)Think I just found it….should be a yes.
-
Wow, Plastic. Not sure what to say - just glanced over your document -
I will have to read through that sometime and will probably learn several things myself. What a project, and what a good-looking document. Props, and upvote!
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
You’re forced to lose both units.
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
You’re forced to lose both units.
Yeah, that’s what I figured.
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war? Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war? Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
Interesting question, but I think that they can not.
It is like U try to move through Bosporus, but Turkey is true neutral and U can not.
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war?
Yes, see top of page 9
Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
Yes, same rule
You can even move the Russian ships through the Danish straits if you can get the German player’s permission! (Only before Russia is at war with Germany)
-
If the US enters the war on the collect income phase on its 3rd turn, then since the mobilize units phase was before that, does that mean that the US can only build 3 units on each factory?
-
If the US enters the war on the collect income phase on its 3rd turn, then since the mobilize units phase was before that, does that mean that the US can only build 3 units on each factory?
Yes, exactly right
-
If I have tech and have made the rocket breakthrough as UK, I can target Germany from both Scotland and London, right?
-
Each of your airbases may make an attack on enemy facilities, range permitting. The more airbases you have, the more potential attacks you can do
-
Yeah, I haven’t played tech for a long time, but reading the rules on rockets, there’s nothing that says you can’t target the same facility multiple times in the same turn, so I echo Bob
-
Is rocket range 4 instead of 3 in G40? I think (East) Germany is 4 spaces away from London and Scotland.
-
Is rocket range 4 instead of 3 in G40? I think (East) Germany is 4 spaces away from London and Scotland.
Yes:
@rulebook:
Rockets. Your air bases can now launch rockets. During the Strategic and Tactical Bombing Raids step of
your Conduct Combat phase each turn, each of your operative air bases can make a single rocket attack
against an enemy industrial complex, air base, or naval base within 4 spaces of it. This attack does one die
roll of damage to that facility. Rockets may not be fired over neutral territories. -
While playing the game find some questions:
1. Can air units hit ground units even without enemy air units?
2. If liberate a city with a factory, can mobilize units on the new factory in mobilization phase?
3. Do French have to liberate Paris then they can use their bonus 12 points or when liberate other parts of France homeland they can use the money? -
1 air units can attack anything during a battle( special rues for subs) defender picks what the lose.
2you can only mobilize new units at a ic that was yours at the start of your turn, so no.
3 you must liberate the capitol…paris