Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Further to this point guys - from what I can see Russia can land it’s fighter in Scotland round 1. Nothing wrong with it, and attack against it would be DOW. I know the chinese can land their fighter in Burma.
The only power that has any real restrictions is USA, or powers entering China.
I think many of us have been playing on an alpha era assumption/rule that this was illegal. It’s not so anymore… ?
No! Russia is neutral at the beginning of the game, and neutral powers can’t land planes in other countries, and other countries can’t land in neutrals. USA at war with Japan can NOT land in (Pacific map) Russia when Russia is not at war with Japan.
Russia can’t land in Scotland R1 unless Germany declared on Russia G1. Russia has all the same neutral restrictions as in the original 2012 OOB version of the game, at least in these regards.
-
E40 p. 15:
Neutral Powers: When a power is not at war with anyone, it is neutral. Powers that begin the game neutral, such as the United States and the Soviet Union, aren’t initially part of the Allies or the Axis. The Axis powers are on the opposite side of these neutral powers, but they are not yet considered enemies. While a power remains neutral, it operates under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move land or air units into or through neutral territories. It can’t move units into or through territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another power move land or air units into or through its territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases. -
No restrictions saying a party at war can’t land in a party not at war’s territory?
Page 15 sidebar, the part AFTER what you quoted in your first post:
A neutral power
can’t move land or air units into or through neutral
territories. It can’t move units into or through
territories or onto ships belonging to another power
or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another
power move land or air units into or through its
territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.The same could be said for the British bomber - it could attack a baltic fleet and land in russia without consequence?
No, no Allied planes can land in Russia while Russia is neutral
-
No restrictions saying a party at war can’t land in a party not at war’s territory?
Page 15 sidebar, the part AFTER what you quoted in your first post:
A neutral power
can’t move land or air units into or through neutral
territories. It can’t move units into or through
territories or onto ships belonging to another power
or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another
power move land or air units into or through its
territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.The same could be said for the British bomber - it could attack a baltic fleet and land in russia without consequence?
No, no Allied planes can land in Russia while Russia is neutral
The damn search function on the PDF I am reading of the rulebook doesnt search those areas LOL oh well. My apologies gentlemen.
-
Karl - Right, enemy subs being ignored is only during the combat movement phase. Once you’re in the combat phase and rolling dice, there is no such thing as ignoring subs/transports, so Plastic and Bob are right.
Important tidbit…in combat phase AND rolling dice. If subs/transports are ignored AND the only defensive units in seazone, there is no combat.
-
Further to this point guys - from what I can see Russia can land it’s fighter in Scotland round 1. Nothing wrong with it, and attack against it would be DOW. I know the chinese can land their fighter in Burma.
The only power that has any real restrictions is USA, or powers entering China.
I think many of us have been playing on an alpha era assumption/rule that this was illegal. It’s not so anymore… ?
No! Russia is neutral at the beginning of the game, and neutral powers can’t land planes in other countries, and other countries can’t land in neutrals. USA at war with Japan can NOT land in (Pacific map) Russia when Russia is not at war with Japan.
Russia can’t land in Scotland R1 unless Germany declared on Russia G1. Russia has all the same neutral restrictions as in the original 2012 OOB version of the game, at least in these regards.
I had a bit of a problem with russia, but have it now.
Russia has a special world neutrality compared to all others. If rus at war in europe, still neutral on pac map and vive versa.
Slight add on to gamer…rus can still go to land in scotland, even if not at war with germany. BUT rus must be at war with italy. -
Hmm. That brings up an interesting question.
If some how japan attacked russia on the euro map while russia still neutral in europe, would russia still be neutral there?
Or could american bombers land in pac russia if japan and russia are neutral, but italy and germany have taken russian territories on pac map?
Wont happen, but wondering. -
To elaborate on the answer above, USSR can’t land planes on London while at war with Japan but not Germany, but USA can. USSR is special in this regard. Similarly if USA gets to war against Germany (or Italy) before it’s at war with Japan, it can land its fighters on any UK/Chinese/ANZAC/French territory, or activate any friendly neutral.
-
Hmm. That brings up an interesting question.
If some how japan attacked russia on the euro map while russia still neutral in europe, would russia still be neutral there?
Or could american bombers land in pac russia if japan and russia are neutral, but italy and germany have taken russian territories on pac map?
Wont happen, but wondering.This is, I believe, directly answered in the rules. E40 p. 37:
Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15) on the other map, and Axis powers on the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps. For example, a state of war with only Japan lifts the neutrality restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only, and allows Japanese units to attack or fly over Soviet-controlled territories on either map. However, the Soviet Union is still restricted on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy must still treat the entire Soviet Union as a neutral power, and may not move units into or through any original Soviet territories or Soviet-controlled territories. At the same time, Allied powers may move units into or through Pacific original Soviet territories and Soviet-controlled territories, but not European ones.If somehow Japan attacked Russia on the European map while Russia is still neutral in Europe, would Russia still be neutral there?
Yes.The harder question is, could Russia then attack these Japanese-held territories?
As written, the rules seem to say no. But I might be sympathetic to a player who argued that Russia should be able to attack Japanese-held formerly-Russian territories on the European map–assuming no Italian or German units are in them at the time. Except of course that, by this time in the game, Russia probably has the ability to DoW whomever it wants: if that’s the case, I’d live by the letter of the rules.Could American bombers land in Pacific Russia if Japan and Russia are neutral, but Italy and Germany have taken Russian territories on the Pacific map?
No. -
I’ve read through the first 120 pages of this Q&A thread, which constitutes the first three years’ worth of questions. As I did so, I gathered notes and grouped them by topic. Figuring that others might find this useful, I’m posting my compilation back into this same thread. Players may find it useful for clearing up common rule confusions, or even for raising points they may not have thought of yet.
Disclaimers:
-
I’m not trying to claim credit for the work that all the many contributors to this thread have made. Their postings have been invaluable to me in clearing up the finer points of the A&A rules.
-
Nor am I trying to assert that what I’m posting is official, for it isn’t. I could very well have misunderstood, or distorted the context in which some of the answers were given. Again, this document has not been officially vetted and may be inaccurate at points. (And the document itself clearly states this as well.)
-
I asked Krieghund for his permission to post this here, and he has no problem with me doing so.
Unofficial Compilation of Clarifications from the first 3 years of this thread:
A&A Global 1940 - Lessons Learned from the Official Q&A Thread.pdf
-
-
Rule question:
Can planes fly from SZ 100 to 99 (over neutral Turkish straits?) -
Rule question:
Can planes fly from SZ 100 to 99 (over neutral Turkish straits?)Think I just found it….should be a yes.
-
Wow, Plastic. Not sure what to say - just glanced over your document -
I will have to read through that sometime and will probably learn several things myself. What a project, and what a good-looking document. Props, and upvote!
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
You’re forced to lose both units.
-
If I attack a fighter and carrier with a sub and cruiser, and if the defending fighter and carrier both roll hits, am I forced to lose both my units, or can I assign the carrier hit to my cruiser and then say that the fighter can’t hit my sub?
You’re forced to lose both units.
Yeah, that’s what I figured.
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war? Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war? Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
Interesting question, but I think that they can not.
It is like U try to move through Bosporus, but Turkey is true neutral and U can not.
-
Can British ships move through the Panama Canal when the US is not at war?
Yes, see top of page 9
Can Russian (surface) ships move through the Strait of Gibraltar, the Panama Canal, or the Suez Canal when neither Russia nor the US is at war?
Yes, same rule
You can even move the Russian ships through the Danish straits if you can get the German player’s permission! (Only before Russia is at war with Germany)
-
If the US enters the war on the collect income phase on its 3rd turn, then since the mobilize units phase was before that, does that mean that the US can only build 3 units on each factory?