Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
See page 13-14 of the Europe manual for your options when you begin your turn with enemy surface warships in your zone. There are 4 bullet points at the top of 14
Transports can load in that seazone, but only to conduct amphibious assaults. See blue bar on page 12, first paragraph.
-
Got it! Thanks Gamerman!
-
Just to be certain: does a defending submarine have the right to surface if the defender also scrambles an air unit into the same sea zone during an amphibious assault?
-
Just to be certain: does a defending submarine have the right to surface if the defender also scrambles an air unit into the same sea zone during an amphibious assault?
yes
-
Agree with Bold
Ignoring subs is only a combat movement phase thing. Scramble creates combat in the zone, and the sub is in the zone
-
Is it a rule that all units must unload from transports on an amphibious assault?
Example. Transport picks up two inf enters a sz and unloads only one inf for the amphibious assault. -
They don’t have to all unload, but any units that don’t unload are stuck on the transport until the next turn.
-
Okay I think I have answered my own question. Rule book states that any units loaded during the combat phase must unload for an amphibious assault. Pg 15. I don’t have a second edition rule book can this be confirmed? Thank you.
-
They don’t have to all unload, but any units that don’t unload are stuck on the transport until the next turn.
Both have to unload into the same territory if loaded in the Combat Round (for an amphibious assault). In Non Combat, you can choose to leave one on board.
-
Ah, true, if they are loaded during the combat phase then yeah, they both have to unload. Missed that part of his question.
-
Quote from: Zhukov44 on October 05, 2014, 10:26:39 am
Well the reason this came up is following Italy’s declaration on Russia and invasion of Russia, Germany did not declare on Russia, but moved forces into formerly Russian territory. Should Germany get the peacetime NO in that scenario?
Yes germany double dips here. They get the no for peace but their sub blocks the Russian no.
I am experiencing the above scenario in a game that is on hold till later after Turkey Day. I am playing Germany and Italy. I was able to DOW Russia on IT turn 2. I blitzed a tank from Romania through Eastern Poland and into Baltic States (both countries were void of any Russian unit). On German Turn 3 I am not going to DOW Russia. I am going to put a warship in SZ 124. I will move units into Baltic States and Eastern Poland. I will transport a load of two units into Baltic states from SZ 115 and be able to ignore the Russian cruiser and sub there because Germany is not at war with Russia. So Germany will get the bonus for not being at War with Russia and Russia will not get a bonus because of an Axis Warship in SZ 124.
In addition on Russia turn three they cannot attack Italian controlled Eastern Poland or Baltic States or the transport in SZ 115 because they cannot DOW Germany until Turn 4. So does all this ring true? If so it seems rather odd. But I would really enjoy being able to give this experience as a present to my Russia opponent.
Thank you for any replies.
-
Couple things, Von
First, I think you mean zone 125. Everything you wrote is correct until you got to the part about Russia not being able to declare war on Germany.
As soon as one of the European Axis powers (Germany or Italy) is at war with Russia, Russia is free to declare war on the other one. Russia does NOT have to wait until turn 4 to declare war on the Germans unless the Italians and Germans both lay off.
-
Thanks Gamer.
Yes I meant 125. It makes sense that Russia should be able to DOW after being attacked.
Thanks
-
If you fail a tech research, you conserve all your tech tokens as AA 50th Anniversary?
-
No, that was changed. There are no tokens. That was AA50 and AA50 only.
Plus, you still can’t get more than 1 at a time (In classic you could get all 6 at once for 30 IPC’s if you rolled 6 6’s).
And some of them are so weak!
You may want to houserule it and play with tokens, or reduce the cost, or something. -
Can chinese units move to Burma or Kwangtung if British isn’t at war with Japan?
-
Yes, Chinese can move into Burma or Kwangtung at any time. (Although in all practicality, there will never be any Chinese units in Hong Kong before UK is at war with Japan :-))
There is a rule against UK/ANZ entering China when not at war with Japan, but no rule against China going to Burma or Hong Kong, and no stipulation that UK/ANZ must be at war with Japan first.
Neutral rules don’t apply because China is not neutral, and neither is UK/ANZ (at war in Europe, and can declare war on Japan on round 1 if they want).
-
Rules question regarding this game. I am pretty sure it can be done, but wish to make certain as a lot as it stake here.
http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=34792.75
Can I move my Italian destroyer in Z92 to Z108, thus ignoring the American submarine, during NCM.
-
The american destroyer is in Z91 btw.
-