Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Questions regarding transport loading and blocking of said loading.
My understanding is:
1. A transport may not load in a hostile sea zone.
2. A transport may move to avoid combat during the combat movement phase, even if it is not performing a combat move.
3. A transport may not move, load, or unload during non-combat if it moved, loaded, unloaded or participated in combat or combat movement. Including escaping combat, as stated above.Question: Is a sea zone that becomes hostile, due to a DOW, that turn, treated the same as a SZ that was hostile at the beginning of the turn? If not, which of these restrictions still applies, and which do not?
Example: Transport starts the combat movement phase in SZ with (new or ongoing) enemy surface warship.
If the transport leaves the SZ to avoid combat, it must do an amphibious assault or nothing at all, besides that movement during that turn.Please tell me if there is a difference, and anywhere I might be wrong in what I’ve stated. Thanks!
-
You should read the first paragraph in the blue side bar on page 12 of the rulebook, because this is where the exception is clearly given. It is about the mechanics of declaring war
-
@P@nther:
… Triple A is not allowing me to leave sz 6. …
I have recreated a similar scenario and TripleA showed no issue at all … it worked as expected, as it allowed me to move the loaded transport out of the seazone containing the enemy sub and back to the intended destination (original seazone).
Can you please open a thread and provide a savegame in the Software subforum? This would possibly enable us to investigate …Thank you.
I have also checked and found no problem.
-
If Allies declares war on neutrals, does Mongolia also become pro-Axis or is Mongolia subject to different rules?
Edit: It appears this question is answered in the first post of the Mongolia thread. So from what I can tell, TripleA has it right that if Allies declare on true neutrals, Axis can’t activate Mongolia (unless Russia declares on Mongolia).
-
That’s right, there’s a rule that Mongolia will never turn pro-Axis unless Russia attacks Mongolia
-
Where in the rulebook does it say that allied units in a SZ don’t participate in an attack on that SZ (triggered by a scramble)? Situation: USA holds SZ112, Britain attacks W Germany. Scramble. USA ships shouldn’t participate in sea combat. However, I can’t find that in the rulebook.
-
Where in the rulebook does it say that allied units in a SZ don’t participate in an attack on that SZ (triggered by a scramble)? Situation: USA holds SZ112, Britain attacks W Germany. Scramble. USA ships shouldn’t participate in sea combat. However, I can’t find that in the rulebook.
It’ s here:
@rulebook:
Multinational Forces
Units on the same side can share a territory
or sea zone, constituting a multinational
force. Such forces can defend together,
but they can’t attack together. (This doesn’t
mean powers can share income: only the
power that controls a territory collects
income for that territory.)
A multinational force can’t attack the same
space together, because each power moves
and attacks with its own units only on its own
turn. Any units in a sea zone in which a battle
occurs that belong to an ally of the attacker
(other than cargo on an attacker’s ship) can’t
participate in the battle in any way. Such
units can’t be taken as losses in the sea
combat and have no effect on defending
submarines.
…HTH :-)
-
Here is the situation;
Taranto Raid. U.K. brings a fighter and a bomber down from London, plus an Aircraft Carrier, Cruiser, Destroyer, Tactical Bomber from SZ 98, plus fighter from Malta.
Italy scrambles 2 fighters into SZ 97, Germans scramble 1 fighter.
After the first round the UK gets 4 hits and Italy gets 5 hits.
Question-Italy loses Battleship, Cruiser, and 1 fighter, and UK loses Carrier, Destroyer, Cruiser, fighter. If UK were to break off their attack does the Italian transport survive or is it lost with the other ships?
-
Italy keeps their transport. I would wonder why they would lose their BB first though.
-
The reason for the question is that I was wondering for the sake of the Italian player if he lost his boats first if the UK player would then break off the attack or if they should do what you said and lose the BB last. My guess was that the transport would survive in this case but I just wanted to confirm that. Ultimately, I’m just trying to understand if I should scramble the fighters in a Taranto Raid or not.
-
If there was a sub bid on sz98 and the bb is lost, the sub would have to roll to hit the tt since it can’t hit any more ships but planes prevent an auto kill
Generally scrambling is a negative tuv expectation when you include that the Luftwaffe will kill the remaining fleet easily but might be worth it from the point of view of enabling greater Italian flexibility i1.
-
1. Can transports alone pass through sea zones with just an enemy sub?
2. Is a lone sub deemed a warship for the purpose of defending a sea zone before an amphibious assault?
3. Can your sub be brought in to a sea zone to ignore an enemy sub for the purpose of an amphibious assault or do you need a surface warship?
Thanks
-
1 Yes
2 Sort of. There is a special rule that forbids unescorted (by warships) transports from performing amphibious assaults
3 Yes. -
My thanks. Thanks for your succinct answer!
Cheers -
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
-
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
It would have been illegal to load AAA onto the transport in the combat movement phase. It would be possible to unload AAA immediately after a successful amphibious assault only if you had loaded that AAA onto a transport in a previous non-combat movement phase.
-
Has to be a different transport to be strictly rules compliant.
-
Right, because you can never unload one unit from a transport in the combat movement phase and then another in the non-com phase. Once a transport unloads, it’s DONE for the turn
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
Yes