Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@Tall:
Guys,
––I’m marking this thread for reference purposes. Thanks.
“Tall Paul”
The dot didn’t do it? :-)
-
#1. Germany has a submarine, a destroyer, and an empty air craft carrier which is being attacked by 3 british fighters. The attacking British fighters hit once and the defending German surface warships hit once…… can Germany use the sub as a casualty, considering that they have a destroyer present?
#2. Germany has entered a sea zone containing one enemy submarine with one loaded transport for the purpose of conducting an amphibious assault. Can Germany’s transport ignore the Submarine and land their troops safely into an adjacent hostile territory?
#3. Japan conducts an amphibious assault on Hawaii with 10 aircraft carriers, 20 carrier based planes, and 10 fully loaded transports, while Hawaii has 1 American Fighter. Japan needs the carriers to legally land all 20 air units which have been assigned to the land battle, so America scrambles it’s single Fighter from their operational air base and sinks up to $500 in Japanese units while landing their fighter safely on land. Is this true or false?
-
#1. No. UK must have a destroyer in order for its planes to hit subs.
#2. If there is at least one German warship in the sea zone at the end of combat movement, yes; otherwise, no.
#3. False. The US fighter will be safe, but the surviving Japanese ships can retreat after one round of combat. Of course, all of Japan’s planes will be lost, having nowhere to land.
-
@Young:
#3. Japan conducts an amphibious assault on Hawaii with 10 aircraft carriers, 20 carrier based planes, and 10 fully loaded transports, while Hawaii has 1 American Fighter. Japan needs the carriers to legally land all 20 air units which have been assigned to the land battle, so America scrambles it’s single Fighter from their operational air base and sinks up to $500 in Japanese units while landing their fighter safely on land. Is this true or false?
#3. False. The US fighter will be safe, but the surviving Japanese ships can retreat after one round of combat. Of course, all of Japan’s planes will be lost, having nowhere to land.
Krieghund, confused here. I know in retreat all units would retreat to the same space/sz in a direction from which at least one of them came from. (so all the ships would retreat back one space). The 20 air units were involved in a different battle on land (not the same sea battle as the ships). That land battle didn’t happen because the 1 ftr scrambled to the sea, so the air units wouldn’t be retreating would they. If they had movement points left (2 moves), they could reach the carriers couldn’t they.
Of course the moral of the story is to cover the scramble ability of your enemy, especially when you are in a position to over kill.
-
@WILD:
If they had movement points left (2 moves), they could reach the carriers couldn’t they.
Yes, they could. However, from the wording of the original question (“Japan needs the carriers to legally land all 20 air units”), I assumed that they had only one movement point left. Perhaps that was an invalid assumption, as it was not stated that they needed to be in that particular sea zone.
-
Ok cool, thought I missed something
-
@WILD:
If they had movement points left (2 moves), they could reach the carriers couldn’t they.
Yes, they could. However, from the wording of the original question (“Japan needs the carriers to legally land all 20 air units”), I assumed that they had only one movement point left. Perhaps that was an invalid assumption, as it was not stated that they needed to be in that particular sea zone.
So there can be a retreat even if the attacker stated that it would be an amphibious assault? I thought retreats were not allowed during amphibious assaults.
-
Land units cannot retreat from an amphibious assault once landed. This is a retreat from a naval battle. The amphibious assault never happened.
-
Land units cannot retreat from an amphibious assault once landed. This is a retreat from a naval battle. The amphibious assault never happened.
OK Great… Thanks.
-
There WOULD be a battle in Hawaii even though the hypothetical fighter scrambled and defended against 10 carriers which had no attack value.
The fighters are required to attack for at least one round, even though the amphibious ground units didn’t make it to the party.So in this example, where the attacker clearly didn’t understand the rules or made a big oversight, the fighter scrambles.
I’m assuming, like Krieghund did, that the fighters over Hawaii only have 1 movement point left.
Retreating the carriers from the fighter (because it’s a losing proposition) would save the carriers and transports and ground units (at least until USA’s turn!). They would all have to retreat 1 space to a sea zone along a path that they attacked from.
The 20 fighters over Hawaii are doomed because there is no landing space, so the attacker should attack until all attacking or all defending units are destroyed.Wild Bill is mistaken in saying the land battle wouldn’t happen. The battle in Hawaii MUST happen (at least for one full round) because the attacker legally made a combat move of 20 fighters to Hawaii. It’s only the attacking amphibious ground units that will not be attacking Hawaii, but retreating and staying on their transport(s).
-
There WOULD be a battle in Hawaii even though the hypothetical fighter scrambled and defended against 10 carriers which had no attack value.
The fighters are required to attack for at least one round, even though the amphibious ground units didn’t make it to the party.So in this example, where the attacker clearly didn’t understand the rules or made a big oversight, the fighter scrambles.
I’m assuming, like Krieghund did, that the fighters over Hawaii only have 1 movement point left.
Retreating the carriers from the fighter (because it’s a losing proposition) would save the carriers and transports and ground units (at least until USA’s turn!). They would all have to retreat 1 space to a sea zone along a path that they attacked from.
The 20 fighters over Hawaii are doomed because there is no landing space, so the attacker should attack until all attacking or all defending units are destroyed.Wild Bill is mistaken in saying the land battle wouldn’t happen. The battle in Hawaii MUST happen (at least for one full round) because the attacker legally made a combat move of 20 fighters to Hawaii. It’s only the attacking amphibious ground units that will not be attacking Hawaii, but retreating and staying on their transport(s).
So what you’re saying is, after the lone Fighter on Hawaii has scrambled and defended the sea zone for at least one combat round (forcing the naval units to retreat). The 20 Japanese air units that were assigned to the land battle in Hawaii (but will eventually crash after combat)…. will get a chance to kill the single American fighter once it returns home after scrambling during the same resolve combat phase?
-
No, I’m not saying that.
The American fighter is out in Z26. Scrambled fighters and tacs don’t land until all combat is complete.
I’m saying the 20 Japanese fighters can (must, for one round) attack everything else that is still left behind at Hawaii. If there are other tacs or fighters, the USA player may want to scramble them as well to protect them from the 20 fighters (depending on the amount of USA force on Hawaii)
-
No, I’m not saying that.
The American fighter is out in Z26. Scrambled fighters and tacs don’t land until all combat is complete.
I’m saying the 20 Japanese fighters can (must, for one round) attack everything else that is still left behind at Hawaii. If there are other tacs or fighters, the USA player may want to scramble them as well to protect them from the 20 fighters (depending on the amount of USA force on Hawaii)
Agreed, the original scenario said that there was only one American Fighter on Hawaii (which scrambled)… but if there was more there, the air units could engage them before they crash.
-
Hi.
I don’t really understand rule about kamikaze.
What if USA attacks me (Japan).-
do i have to declare kamikaze attack and scrambling simultaneously or one of these goes first?
-
if i hit an AC does his fighters still participate in fight?
AC are in that sz because attacking aircraft’s must land on it.
If yes - do they fight till end or must they be removed first as losses?
If no - are planes dead or they can stay in there original position before combat moves?
thanx
-
-
Hi cro.
-
Pretty much simultaneously, because both declarations must be made before any dice are rolled. (First thing in combat phase)
-
Yes. The fighters are in the air before you get any hits.
Fighters may fight to the end - you may take a carrier off before the fighters, even if the fighters will then have no place to land.
Think of it this way. Fighters must only be guaranteed a possible place to land in the combat movement phase
Once you’re in combat, you are free to strand fighters at will.
The only time fighters are EVER trapped on board a carrier in combat, is a GUEST ALLIED fighter on your ATTACKING carrier. Those are the only fighters that are NOT in the air during combat.
-
-
Thank you.
We always moved planes before AC. We thought they have to have landing space all the time.
This will be nice for different strategy. -
Technically, since scrambling occurs at the end of the Combat Move phase and kamikaze strikes occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, scrambling occurs just before kamikaze strikes.
-
Technically, since scrambling occurs at the end of the Combat Move phase and kamikaze strikes occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, scrambling occurs just before kamikaze strikes.
But practically, they’re simultaneous, right? Would it even make a difference if different people are controlling Japan and Germany/Italy? Is there any circumstance where it matters that scrambling occurs at the end of the combat move phase and kamikaze decisions are made at the beginning of the combat phase?
-
The only thing that’s important is that all scrambling is done before any dice are rolled for kamikaze (or anything else). From that perspective, it’s just easier to do scrambling first.
-
can japan load a transport into a newly hostile seazone on their combat move, if japan declared war at the beginning of it’s turn?