Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
Here’s Europe https://www.hasbro.com/common/documents/60D52426B94D40B98A9E78EE4DD8BF94/01976084F8F14994BE3DA27CAF498033.pdf
Some Global Rules at the bottom
-
@barnee thank you, that section is missing from Pacific. I knew I read that in the past.
“You can’t move sea units through a canal or narrow strait that is controlled by a neutral territory or by a power which you at war”
- this sentence had me asking the question. Turkey is still neutral but now pro allied neutral so wanted to know if that changed anything.
“Turky begins the game as a neutral territory, so neither side may move through the Turkish Straits until Turkey is captured”
- Turkey is captured seems to answer this but it again references its neutral status. It’s that wording that made me curious.
I don’t think I’m the first to think that some of Krieg’s rulings have been rather mind blowing. This may or may not be one of them.
Krieg just popped into my last thread to tell someone what they said was very much against the rules - I’m glad he did because I was going to immediately start using it.
-
@dazedwit From page 9 of the Europe Rulebook:
If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move sea units through it (you can’t use it in the same turn that you capture it). If a canal or narrow strait is controlled by a power not on your side, but with which you are not yet at war, you must ask permission to use it, which may be denied. You can’t move sea units through a canal or narrow strait that is controlled by a neutral territory or by a power with which you are at war.
From page 11 of the Europe Rulebook:
When a neutral territory is invaded, it’s no longer considered neutral and immediately becomes hostile to the alliance of the power that attacked it and friendly to the opposing alliance. For example, if Germany attacked Yugoslavia, Yugoslavia would join the Allies.
And also:
If the attack upon the formerly neutral territory is unsuccessful (the territory is not captured), any remaining defending units stay in the territory but can’t move. The territory remains uncontrolled (place a national control marker on it face down to indicate its new status) but is considered friendly to powers on the side it’s now allied with. Units belonging to those powers can move into it and take control of it and its remaining units in the same way as if it were a friendly neutral.
In your scenario, Italy attacks Turkey and fails to capture it, so Turkey joins the Allies (it doesn’t become a pro-Allies neutral), but it is not yet controlled by an Allied power. Obviously, Turkey is not controlled by the Axis at the beginning of Germany’s turn, so German units don’t have implicit permission to pass through the straits. If either ANZAC or France has taken control of Turkey, it is controlled by a power at war with Germany; otherwise it remains uncontrolled and the straits are not controlled by a power on the other side, so there is no one to ask permission of to pass, therefore permission cannot be granted. Either way, German sea units cannot move through the straits.
-
Hmm, I would think in the scenario that Italy attacks but fails to capture, then the allies would be allowed to pass through the strait, since Turkey has now joined the allies.
-
@simon33 As the rules in the first quote above require a canal/strait to be controlled by a friendly power (not just friendly), the Allies may not pass through either until Turkey becomes controlled by an Allied power.
-
@Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):
@simon33 As the rules in the first quote above require a canal/strait to be controlled by a friendly power (not just friendly), the Allies may not pass through either until Turkey becomes controlled by an Allied power.
That is not what I would expect, but I guess that is a decision. Rules state that (eur, p9)“If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move
sea units through it” so in this scenario, Turkey has joined the allies, so for other allies,their side has controlled the strait at the start of their turn.Hmm…
-
@simon33 Also per page 9, “In order to control a canal or narrow strait, you must control its controlling land territory or territories.” As quoted above, Turkey “remains uncontrolled” until a power moves land unit into it. While it is friendly to the Allies, it is not controlled by an Allied power, and therefore they may not pass through the strait until it is.
-
UK1, the SZ 111 fleet was spared. Germany dropped an AB in Holland with 3 ftrs, 110 is empty.
On UK noncombat phase they move the 111 fleet to 110.
Can the Germans scramble?
Reading the rule book and this forum it seems the answer is no, since it is non combat. Rule book constantly mentions combat over and over so I assume you can’t scramble during noncombat.
Seems weird but that’s how I am reading the rules.
-
Page 16 of the Europe rulebook (under Phase 2: Combat Move):
“Scrambling is a special movement that the defender can make at the end of this phase.”
[Which I take to mean only during Phase 2]Also page 16:
“Surviving scrambled air units land during that turn’s Noncombat Move phase, before the attacker makes any movements.”
[Therefore even if scramblers still exist above the SZ, they retreat before UK makes their Non-Combat movements] -
That’s right, there is never scrambling in noncombat
Scramble on page 16 says it’s a special movement the defender can make at the end of this phase. It must be done after all of the attacker’s combat movements have been completed and all attacks have been declared.
The scramble rule on page 16 is at the end of Phase 2 Combat movement in the rulebook
So I’m just confirming simon.tressel
I am curious about your explanation that it is “how I am reading the rules”. Where does the question come from, if you don’t mind?
-
-
All,
Good morning from USA! Question about amphib assaults. Scenario is 10 infantry attacking a territory via land. In addition, two infantry + four artillery attacking same territory via amphib assault. Can all four artillery pair with infantry on the attack?? Or because only two infantry are part of the amphib assault, only two of the artillery can pair with the infantry. Any of you smart gents know the answer?? -
@Trout They can be paired together regardless of where they came from.
-
@Krieghund Got it - thx Krieghund