Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
can the U.S. attack a German sub if it has a friendly British destroyer in the same sea zone? my second edition pacific rule book says that when attacking or defending, hits scored by air units can only be applied to subs if a friendly destroyer is present, but under destroyers it says destroyers friendly to the attacker do not allow you to hit subs?
-
If you mean can a US Air unit hit a Sub with a Destroyer from an Allied nation, the answer is no. To attack, the Destroyer has to belong to the player whose turn it is, in this case, the US.
-
@wittmann:
If you mean can a US Air unit hit a Sub with a Destroyer from an Allied nation, the answer is no. To attack, the Destroyer has to belong to the player whose turn it is, in this case, the US.
I know they can’t fire, but they could ,at least tell me where the subs are.
-
If you’re defending, the DD is present in the battle and you can hit the SS with a plane. If you’re attacking, the DD is not present in the battle. Just because it’s in the seazone doesn’t make it present in the battle.
It really wouldn’t make much sense for a unit that the enemy can’t destroy be able to confer special battle abilities…
-
Q1. How do you stop a sub convoy disrupting you if you don’t have a destroyer around? The sub just submerges and then pops on the collect income phase to drain your income.
Q2. I declare an amphibious assault on Java accompanied by sea combat in the sea zone 42. The sea combat fails and the attacking fleet is sunk. What happens to the transports and troops on them?
-
Q1. How do you stop a sub convoy disrupting you if you don’t have a destroyer around? The sub just submerges and then pops on the collect income phase to drain your income.
I guess you need to have some destroyers. :-D
Q2. I declare an amphibious assault on Java accompanied by sea combat in the sea zone 42. The sea combat fails and the attacking fleet is sunk. What happens to the transports and troops on them?
If the transports aren’t hit, they can retreat. They cannot offload in the same turn. If they can’t retreat for some reason, they are lost, along with their cargo.
-
If the transports aren’t hit, they can retreat. They cannot offload in the same turn. If they can’t retreat for some reason, they are lost, along with their cargo.
Can the transports offload in the non-combat phase if they retreated to a sea zone with a friendly territory attached?
-
Can the transports offload in the non-combat phase if they retreated to a sea zone with a friendly territory attached?
Nope, retreated Transports can never offload during the turn they retreated.
-
A transport may participate in the combat phase or in the non-combat phase, but not both on the same turn.
-
A transport may participate in the combat phase or in the non-combat phase, but not both on the same turn.
Hi Fortress. Not true - a unit can never participate in combat during the Noncombat Move phase as the Conduct Combat phase for that turn is already over.
-
I think you misunderstood my post. I was simply stating that the transport in question can’t participate in a non-combat move. And the reason it can’t is because it had already participated in the combat. Its retreat is irrelevant and only matters because it put the transport into a location where it became timely to ask the question. This limitation is true of every unit in the game except those where it is expressly permitted (air units and blitzing units) as a definition of special abilities.
Please forgive my shortened version of that answer that may have caused some confusion.
-
No problem and thanks for clarifying. :-)
-
can british units from india capture territory on europe board, and if so does the money go to england?
-
Yes and yes.
-
-
During the non-combat phase, can a transport carrying cargo move into, and than unload from a sea zone that contains only enemy submarines?
-
@Young:
During the non-combat phase, can a transport carrying cargo move into, and than unload from a sea zone that contains only enemy submarines?
yes.
-
IF italy declares war on russia, takes a russian territory, is reinforced with a german non-com (germany does not declare) and russia does not dow on germany, can russia still collect from 125 if there are no axis ships there? and can russia counter the italians while ignoring the germans?
-
yes for the money, as ussr is at war. no for the counter-attack; they need to declare war on germany to kill germans.
-
well no killing germans, just killing italians