Our gaming group has come to the conclusion that some bid is needed to balance the game for the Allies. In reading through the posts it seems to me that the general consensus is that the Allies need a bid of about 9-12.
My questions are:
Is a bid of 9-12 the current and reasonable amount? As we will not want to bid for a particular side, we will set a certain bid point for each game and then let people choose which side they want to be as some Players enjoy playing particular Powers. So what is a fair bid?My group usually goes 10-15, some where in the ball park of 8 to 14 is what everyone does.
Is this bid added as starting income to be spent on Turn 1?What Siparo said.
Is this bid added as units and money such as the Revised FIDA bid?Never played revised, and what is FIDA? Another government agency?
Is this bid added as units on the board with remainders as starting money?Siparo doesn’t do it, but my group allows it.
For any units placed on the board are there any restrictions? For example:
a) Must have a unit already in the territory / sea zone?
b) May not place more than X number of units?My group has 3 rules:
1. Must be one unit per territory/seazone.
2. Can only be placed in a territory/seazone where you already have units occupying it.
3. Can only be a unit that power has access to (china can be inf and art only).I would appreciate your kind thoughts and comments. Thank you…
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
I’m thinking like a programmer. There are a few other cases, mostly with the sub starting in that same SZ. Perhaps the TT moved there on that power’s NCM either suiciding or planning for an ally to sink the TT.
I guess under the defenseless transport rule, you shouldn’t get an option to submerge.
Be nice if we could get rid of as many unnecessary prompts as possible.
-
Ok, I’m satisfied that the defenseless transport applies even if the attacker is a sub and could normally submerge.
The reason for this post is a First Edition of 1940 question. I’ve noticed that in the XML for SBR fighters attack on a 1 but defend on a 2. Is that a mistake? I can’t find a copy of the rule book.
BTW, still looking for Kreighund’s answer for this question:
@simon33:In fact, the formerly noted “bug” about 2nd rockets being able to be targetted after the 1st rocket is rolled appears to be not a bug unless there is some previous answer making it a bug.
-
No, it’s right. I own a first edition rulebook and I just verified that fighters attack on a 1 and defend on a 2 in the original out of the box game.
Defenseless transport rule is only that you don’t have to actually roll the dice when only transports are left (in the conduct combat phase).
From the blue box: “In a sea battle, if the defender has only transports remaining and the attacker still has units capable of attacking, the defending transports are all destroyed.”This is in the rules for “Phase 3: Conduct Combat”
The defenseless transport rule does not come into play in the movement phases
-
Hmm, is it the same rule as v5 (aka 1942.2) where the attacking units get a first strike on the defenders and remaining defenders then fire on a 2? This rule is not emulated in Triple-A.
Re: defenseless transports, from that rule I read that there is no option for a sub to submerge instead of firing at a defenseless transport. If you don’t want to attack it at all you will still get the prompt “attack transports in X Sea Zone”
-
BTW, still looking for Kreighund’s answer for this question:
@simon33:In fact, the formerly noted “bug” about 2nd rockets being able to be targetted after the 1st rocket is rolled appears to be not a bug unless there is some previous answer making it a bug.
There is no reason why you would need to declare all rocket targets before rolling for any rockets.
-
Ok, thanks.
A lot of people have seen it differently BTW. Goes against the Zen of Axis and Allies which is you can’t change your attacks after you see the results of another attack, other than retreating.
I might see if I can convince the developers to add an option. Easy enough to do, hard to convince them!
-
Ok
Can USA take control of celeb (celeb is not activated by any power yet) when at war (with Japan)?
-
No Oystello. Only Uk or Anzac can do that, if still Dutch.
-
However, it can still land air or land units on those territories while they remain Dutch. And if UK or ANZAC activate the territories, the units survive, I’m sure.
-
If an AA gun fires a rocket, does that constitute a combat action depriving the AA gun of a non-combat move?
-
If an AA gun fires a rocket, does that constitute a combat action depriving the AA gun of a non-combat move?
I think I found the answer, and it is no, right?
-
If an AA gun fires a rocket, does that constitute a combat action depriving the AA gun of a non-combat move?
I think I found the answer, and it is no, right?
Well, actually the rules don’t contain AA-fire against rockets.
Apart from this rocket attacks take place during your enemy’s turn, so the movement of your own units on your next turn is not affected.
But I am not sure if you meant that.I case you meant AA guns just defending against Air Units (by shooting “rockets”), this action occurs during the enemy’s turn, too.
Again, the movement of your own units on your next turn is not affected.HTH :-)
-
I think he meant that if you have the tech which is rockets.
-
AA guns shot the rockets in earlier versions, now it’s airbases
-
AA guns shot the rockets in earlier versions, now it’s airbases
Thanks, this interpretation of the above issue did not come to my mind.
-
Happy if I can be helpful!
You answer all the questions that I can’t! Awesome! -
US Navy starts his turn in a hostile sz (95).
The US occupies Sicily and Sardinia in BM3 with Inf and Art.The US can’t move out with TTs only in CM and move back in (after seabattle is solved) on NCM to load troops, Correct?
According to Page 21 in the Pac.'40 rulebook, Correct?
-
Yes.
-
Then this needs to be fixed in triple a i guess.
I was able to move all of my TTs on CM and moved them back in on NCM and load them.
(While i am thinking this not as bad as it is, being able to do so w. TTs)My opponent locked my units on Sicily and Sardinia b/c all he needs to do is to buy a DD as long he has enough income.
Or getting somehow France or Anzak to clear the sz before US next turn (have fun w. that). Loophole :|Will adress this issue in the League section concerning BM.
This will make the NO less favourable hmm :?.
Thank you Simon -
You may want to check out the game notes in Triple A that lists known items where Triple A does not follow the rule book
Go to Help -> Game Notes in the menu bar
One of the known flaws is that you can move units in the combat phase and also the noncombat phase, when only aircraft are supposed to be able to do this