Hi ANZAC. For the HBG 1939 map, think of a 4x8 sheet of plywood. Its is HUGE and awesome. You need a big room for that size table plus room to walk around on all 4 sides. I only played the 1939 game one time and I can say it is definitely superior in a hundred different ways, but playing it is an order of magnitude more complex than global 1940. Global 1940 seems like the kiddie game next to it, which is nuts because global 1940 is not an easy game by any means. I’d say your best bet is to get the global 1940 if only for the pieces, and then blow the extra money for the 1939 map and elite pieces if and when you and your crew outgrow it. Another option is to play 1940 on this site with triplea.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
-
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
It would have been illegal to load AAA onto the transport in the combat movement phase. It would be possible to unload AAA immediately after a successful amphibious assault only if you had loaded that AAA onto a transport in a previous non-combat movement phase.
-
Has to be a different transport to be strictly rules compliant.
-
Right, because you can never unload one unit from a transport in the combat movement phase and then another in the non-com phase. Once a transport unloads, it’s DONE for the turn
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
Yes
-
Another one… Does Colombia border seazone 89? It looks like Venezuela, Colombia and Central America converge.
-
You’re right, they meet at a point. Colombia does not border Z89
Here’s a reference of Krieghund explaining that Venezuela does not border Central America because they meet at a point. He says if they meet at a point, they’re not adjacent.
-
I think I might have found a loophole. If you are playing with tech and have rockets, you can target the rocket on an air or naval base and if you are also strategically bombing the same territory, you don’t have to nominate the target until after the air battle which means you can see the results of the rocket attack and attack the factory instead, or a different base or vice versa.
Am I reading the rules correctly?
-
The rules for rockets just say they take place “during the Strategic bombing phase of your turn” so it’s not definitive
I probably knew a couple years ago but haven’t played tech for at least that long so I don’t remember for sure. Somebody else would have to answer that for sure, and if someone doesn’t have notes from Krieghund’s previous clarifications on this you’ll probably need Krieghund himself to answer this for sure
-
-
But if there’s no air battle?
Then are targets chosen by all bombers before rockets are rolled? -
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle? The air battle and the bombing both take place in the same step. The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
-
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle?
Because when there’s an air battle, the attacker divides his bombers into groups after the air battles. If there are no air battles, the attacker would declare targets at some point before AAA fire. It is unclear whether you have to declare targets before rolling rocket dice.
The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
And there’s the answer we need - thanks!!!
Wait, you said “resolved”
To be 100% clear, you can roll rockets before you choose facility targets for bombers? -
Yes.
-
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
-
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
But the correct order is:
1. Choose rocket target
2. Roll for rocket damage
3. SBR Air Battle (if occurring)
4. SBR declare targets
5. SBR AA fire
6. SBR roll for damage -
Isn’t the rule as clarified a bit against the spirit of the A&A rules? If it is as I have proposed it still isn’t against the rules, it just enforces some additional (house) rules.
BTW, Triple-A requires targets to be declared before rocket targets are if there are no potential interceptors.
-
It would be great if Triple A followed the actual official rules as closely as possible please
-
It would be great if Triple A followed the actual official rules as closely as possible please
A bit difficult to have rocket attacks and SBR in any desired order which appears to be rule.
In fact, the formerly noted “bug” about 2nd rockets being able to be targetted after the 1st rocket is rolled appears to be not a bug unless there is some previous answer making it a bug.
I suppose the order as expounded by P@nther is possible. Maybe have an option?





