OMG! :) Thx all for the replies. I didnt know there were that many differences. Gonna send the new 2nd edition gameboard for enlargement too then! ASAP!
:runner: :upside_down_face:
Jonas
1. Can transports alone pass through sea zones with just an enemy sub?
2. Is a lone sub deemed a warship for the purpose of defending a sea zone before an amphibious assault?
3. Can your sub be brought in to a sea zone to ignore an enemy sub for the purpose of an amphibious assault or do you need a surface warship?
Thanks
1 Yes
2 Sort of. There is a special rule that forbids unescorted (by warships) transports from performing amphibious assaults
3 Yes.
My thanks. Thanks for your succinct answer!
Cheers
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
It would have been illegal to load AAA onto the transport in the combat movement phase. It would be possible to unload AAA immediately after a successful amphibious assault only if you had loaded that AAA onto a transport in a previous non-combat movement phase.
Has to be a different transport to be strictly rules compliant.
Right, because you can never unload one unit from a transport in the combat movement phase and then another in the non-com phase. Once a transport unloads, it’s DONE for the turn
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
Yes
Another one… Does Colombia border seazone 89? It looks like Venezuela, Colombia and Central America converge.
You’re right, they meet at a point. Colombia does not border Z89
Here’s a reference of Krieghund explaining that Venezuela does not border Central America because they meet at a point. He says if they meet at a point, they’re not adjacent.
I think I might have found a loophole. If you are playing with tech and have rockets, you can target the rocket on an air or naval base and if you are also strategically bombing the same territory, you don’t have to nominate the target until after the air battle which means you can see the results of the rocket attack and attack the factory instead, or a different base or vice versa.
Am I reading the rules correctly?
The rules for rockets just say they take place “during the Strategic bombing phase of your turn” so it’s not definitive
I probably knew a couple years ago but haven’t played tech for at least that long so I don’t remember for sure. Somebody else would have to answer that for sure, and if someone doesn’t have notes from Krieghund’s previous clarifications on this you’ll probably need Krieghund himself to answer this for sure
But if there’s no air battle?
Then are targets chosen by all bombers before rockets are rolled?
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle? The air battle and the bombing both take place in the same step. The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle?
Because when there’s an air battle, the attacker divides his bombers into groups after the air battles. If there are no air battles, the attacker would declare targets at some point before AAA fire. It is unclear whether you have to declare targets before rolling rocket dice.
The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
And there’s the answer we need - thanks!!!
Wait, you said “resolved”
To be 100% clear, you can roll rockets before you choose facility targets for bombers?
Yes.
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
But the correct order is:
1. Choose rocket target
2. Roll for rocket damage
3. SBR Air Battle (if occurring)
4. SBR declare targets
5. SBR AA fire
6. SBR roll for damage