Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
1. Can transports alone pass through sea zones with just an enemy sub?
2. Is a lone sub deemed a warship for the purpose of defending a sea zone before an amphibious assault?
3. Can your sub be brought in to a sea zone to ignore an enemy sub for the purpose of an amphibious assault or do you need a surface warship?
Thanks
-
1 Yes
2 Sort of. There is a special rule that forbids unescorted (by warships) transports from performing amphibious assaults
3 Yes. -
My thanks. Thanks for your succinct answer!
Cheers -
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
-
After unloading transports in the combat phase (for amphibious assault) can I (after conquering the territory) also move in any AAA I brought? I seem to recall you can’t use AAA in combat phase except in defending against attacking planes.
It would have been illegal to load AAA onto the transport in the combat movement phase. It would be possible to unload AAA immediately after a successful amphibious assault only if you had loaded that AAA onto a transport in a previous non-combat movement phase.
-
Has to be a different transport to be strictly rules compliant.
-
Right, because you can never unload one unit from a transport in the combat movement phase and then another in the non-com phase. Once a transport unloads, it’s DONE for the turn
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
-
Can I attack a territory, take it and then move tanks/mech through it to reinforce a neighboring territory that I already controlled?
Yes
-
Another one… Does Colombia border seazone 89? It looks like Venezuela, Colombia and Central America converge.
-
You’re right, they meet at a point. Colombia does not border Z89
Here’s a reference of Krieghund explaining that Venezuela does not border Central America because they meet at a point. He says if they meet at a point, they’re not adjacent.
-
I think I might have found a loophole. If you are playing with tech and have rockets, you can target the rocket on an air or naval base and if you are also strategically bombing the same territory, you don’t have to nominate the target until after the air battle which means you can see the results of the rocket attack and attack the factory instead, or a different base or vice versa.
Am I reading the rules correctly?
-
The rules for rockets just say they take place “during the Strategic bombing phase of your turn” so it’s not definitive
I probably knew a couple years ago but haven’t played tech for at least that long so I don’t remember for sure. Somebody else would have to answer that for sure, and if someone doesn’t have notes from Krieghund’s previous clarifications on this you’ll probably need Krieghund himself to answer this for sure
-
-
But if there’s no air battle?
Then are targets chosen by all bombers before rockets are rolled? -
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle? The air battle and the bombing both take place in the same step. The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
-
Why would it make a difference whether or not there’s an air battle?
Because when there’s an air battle, the attacker divides his bombers into groups after the air battles. If there are no air battles, the attacker would declare targets at some point before AAA fire. It is unclear whether you have to declare targets before rolling rocket dice.
The rocket attacks can be done before any of the SBRs are resolved.
And there’s the answer we need - thanks!!!
Wait, you said “resolved”
To be 100% clear, you can roll rockets before you choose facility targets for bombers? -
Yes.
-
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
-
Hmm, if the pull request I have on github is accepted this loophole will be closed in Triple-A. Order will be: nominate rocket targets, SBR, roll rocket damage. Current order is: nominate rocket territories; for each rocket pick facility to target then roll. I’m somewhat disinclined to change it.
But the correct order is:
1. Choose rocket target
2. Roll for rocket damage
3. SBR Air Battle (if occurring)
4. SBR declare targets
5. SBR AA fire
6. SBR roll for damage