Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
@ProtesT:
Assuming Germany and Russia are at peace after G1 and Russia moves their sub and cruiser from SZ 115 to 114 as a “blocker” for an eventual DOW. While still at peace, can Germany move any sea units into and past the Russian cruiser into SZ 115?
Yes, but then they can’t load units on the combat Movement unless they are in Finland. Is the theory that you can then amphibiously assault Leningrad from the Baltic? I don’t see why you would do that. If they leave the sub in SZ115 you also need a warship.
-
Why I asked is I played a game yesterday and my opponent kept Russia neutral until G4. On turn 3 he moved his cruiser, a destroyer, carrier and 4 loaded transports into SZ 115 and kept the land units at sea until G4 where he declared war and attacked Leningrad. First time ive seen it done in my experience. Furiously searched through the rulebook but couldn’t find anything to go against it. Unless surface war ships cannot pass through which I doubt. Figured I’d ask here just to double check.
-
Curious move.
If you are blocking Baltic States and the Italians can’t can open, I guess it’s a way of getting Leningrad on the same turn as the DOW. Question is: why is that so important?
-
It wasn’t the same turn as the DOW - that’s what you can’t do.
He noncommed to 115 on G3, and declared war on G4. That is perfectly legal. -
The Leningrad attack was on the same turn as the DOW. That is what I meant. Apparently that isn’t clear!?
-
@ProtesT:
Why I asked is I played a game yesterday and my opponent kept Russia neutral until G4. On turn 3 he moved his cruiser, a destroyer, carrier and 4 loaded transports into SZ 115 and kept the land units at sea until G4 where he declared war and attacked Leningrad.
This is what he said. Totally legal
-
Yes, I agree that it was legal. No argument.
I was just wondering why you’d want to.
-
Ah - to prevent the Russians from blocking you. Consider if both Italian planes were lost on UK1 to scramble - bomber vs. cruiser is dicey and the Italian bomber is very important, so many players probably wouldn’t want to risk that. Or, maybe the Italian bomber was lost on I1 trying to clean up the Med
-
2 questions, a major complex has 8 damage and is captured and dropped to a minor, how much of that damage is carried over?
India is controlled by Japan if London armies recapture west India or Hong Kong from Japan does that money go to London or just lost? -
Afternoon comd1024.
The maximum: six.The income is lost. Is better to let the US or Anzac (or Russia) capture former UK Pacific territories. They can claim them and the income, as long as India is not recaptured. In which case, they revert to UK Pacific.
-
Do excuse me: liberated is the correct term. Not recaptured.
-
That was my thought for #1 but not #2. Thanks for clarification.
UK Pacific is like France then once India falls. -
Well, UK Pacific is unique in that when India is in Axis hands, all UK Pacific territories are completely worthless to UK Europe. They can’t even build facilities in these territories (from London)
-
Yeah, was wondering about that. If Calcutta has fallen and the UK reclaims a territory from Japan that was originally own by UK_Pacific, why shouldn’t the income revert to London? And vice versa.
If ANZAC reclaims the territory, Sydney can collect the income. I would argue that it would be consistent if the income reverted for a retaken territory. Perhaps there is a rule which specifically covers this situation?
EDIT: Oh, yes there is:
Capture of One of the United Kingdom’s Regional Capitals
If one of the regional capitals is captured by the Axis, it will surrender any unspent IPCs that its economy has in its treasury
to the capturing power. An economy whose capital is held by the Axis can’t collect income, spend IPCs, or repair units. The
free regional capital may never collect IPCs that would normally go to the captured regional capital, even if such territories
are recaptured from the Axis. Other Allied powers can temporarily take control of any original United Kingdom territory that
would otherwise be liberated when its regional capital (London or Calcutta) has been captured by the Axis. -
When exactly are the USA minor factories supposed to be converted to majors? There seems to be a TripleA bug in conditions when Japan doesn’t declare on USA, so I’m trying to figure out exactly when the USA factories are supposed to convert if it happens at the end of USA3. Should it be before or after the USA places units on USA3?
-
When exactly are the USA minor factories supposed to be converted to majors? There seems to be a TripleA bug in conditions when Japan doesn’t declare on USA, so I’m trying to figure out exactly when the USA factories are supposed to convert if it happens at the end of USA3. Should it be before or after the USA places units on USA3?
It is after unit placement, at the beginning of the Collect Income phase.
@rulebook:
(p38) However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any
or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase. This is an exception to the rules for declaring war (see “Declaring War”,
page 12), which may normally be done only at the beginning of the Combat Move phase.…
(p39) The industrial complexes in Eastern United States, Central United States, and Western United States begin the game as
minor complexes. They are upgraded to major complexes at no cost when the United States enters a state of war and
may be used as such immediately.HTH :-)
Edit:
I don’t know what happend to you in your triplea-game, but there is an issue that is noted in the map’s game notes:
@game:- (EM) USA does not have to declare war at the end of USA 3 if they do not want to.
Triplea brings USA to war, although USA has the possibility to stay out. The factories are converted at the beginning of the
Combat Movement phase on USA turn 4 (although they should be converted earlier (see above)). But the engine correctly allows
to place 10 units per factory on turn 4 Unit Placement phase.
If USA does not want to join the allies at the end of turn 3, Edit Mode has to be used. -
Strictly speaking it is true that it is a bug in TripleA. But there is no reason why they wouldn’t and plenty of reason to DOW.
The annoyance in TripleA is that the warning for too many units bought doesn’t consider the imminent upgrade.
-
@P@nther:
When exactly are the USA minor factories supposed to be converted to majors? There seems to be a TripleA bug in conditions when Japan doesn’t declare on USA, so I’m trying to figure out exactly when the USA factories are supposed to convert if it happens at the end of USA3. Should it be before or after the USA places units on USA3?
It is after unit placement, at the beginning of the Collect Income phase.
@rulebook:
(p38) However, if it’s not yet at war by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, the United States may declare war on any
or all Axis powers at the beginning of that phase. This is an exception to the rules for declaring war (see “Declaring War”,
page 12), which may normally be done only at the beginning of the Combat Move phase.…
(p39) The industrial complexes in Eastern United States, Central United States, and Western United States begin the game as
minor complexes. They are upgraded to major complexes at no cost when the United States enters a state of war and
may be used as such immediately.HTH :-)
Edit:
I don’t know what happend to you in your triplea-game, but there is an issue that is noted in the map’s game notes:
@game:- (EM) USA does not have to declare war at the end of USA 3 if they do not want to.
Triplea brings USA to war, although USA has the possibility to stay out. The factories are converted at the beginning of the
Combat Movement phase on USA turn 4 (although they should be converted earlier (see above)). But the engine correctly allows
to place 10 units per factory on turn 4 Unit Placement phase.
If USA does not want to join the allies at the end of turn 3, Edit Mode has to be used.Thanks!
-
Poll in Software of desired Triple A improvements: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=38399.0
-
I know it should never happen, but for clarification… if the Soviet Union attacks a Mongolian territory, will all other strict neutrals in Europe become pro Axis?





