Brando, why would you leave 1 inf in each territory? The only ones that matter are rostov and Baltic States. You will lose 6 ipcs in units for not much gain in epl/bess.
I leave 1 Inf in each territory, so the Axis/enemy can’t just walk in. Inf have a 33% chance of a hit. Prevents a country from just taking a territory w/1 Inf. Usually the attacking country has to attack w/2 ground units, just in case your Inf gets a hit. Also prevents the enemy from sending just one ground unit on a long walk across your territories(i.e. when Japan starts marching across the Soviet Far East). I don’t always do this. Like in China, I consolidate the Chinese Inf whenever possible. But in Russia, I always try to leave at least 1 Inf in each territory. One thing to point out, I don’t leave 1 Inf in each territory, unless the enemy has a chance to take that territory.
Because they only have a 33% chance to hit, I would not want to risk giving away nearly free infantry kills to Germany unless they are defending something valuable. Each infantry you put in his way is 1 less body defending something critical for a 33% chance to kill 1 thing.
It’s not just a 33% chance of killing something. It’s making the enemy commit more than 1 Inf/1 ground unit to take the territory How would this hurt a country like germany that will have mechs constantly reinforcing and the positioning does not screw him?. Maybe you didn’t read my entire post. Again, I don’t always leave 1 Inf behind in each territory(i.e. China and other territories) Japan can just send 1 inf and air, it really won’t hurt him if he wants to.. However, leaving 1 Inf behind on such things as islands, even 1 IPC islands. Your enemy would most likely have to commit at least 2 ground units to take the islandIt depends on the value of the island and the likelihood he/she would go for it.. Therefore, forcing your opponent to commit more resources to take territories and have less units to use elsewhere. I understand what you mean, but this is also a game of economics and efficiency. If your opponent does not need to go for it, or is not even affected by it, the one infantry won’t be an issue.Like I said in my explanation, Soviet Far East is a good example. There are 13 IPC’s from Soviet Far East to Vologda/Samara. If your strategy is to leave these unguarded for Japan to just take w/1 Inf, then go for it. In my opinion, over the 26 years I’ve played A&A, it’s the wrong stategySince russia can easily stop japan from taking it unless Japan commits more to the front, it really is not an issue. Also, with mongolia, it won’t be unguarded.
Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
-
My friend is attempting t take the Money Islands with the US.
I thought only UK and ANZAC may do that?
-
You are right.
America can only take them from Japan. If they are still Dutch and the US land there, they remain Dutch. It sounds like you have understood correctly. -
@wittmann:
You are right.
America can only take them from Japan. If they are still Dutch and the US land there, they remain Dutch. It sounds like you have understood correctly.Thank you.
So after they’ve been invaded by Japan, any ally can claim them as their own? Or will they merely be liberated if the US take them?
-
So after they’ve been invaded by Japan, any ally can claim them as their own?
Yes
Or will they merely be liberated if the US take them?
No.
The Dutch territories are like the French territories (after Paris falls), except that UK/ANZ has the “special ability” to take control of the (Dutch) friendly territories with a non-com of a ground unit into them.
So if the Axis take control of a Dutch territory, then basically you can forget that it was ever Dutch. Yes, any ally can then take control of the Dutch territory when taking it back from the Axis
-
Any Ally can take them Bass. Hope you are enjoying the game.
-
So after they’ve been invaded by Japan, any ally can claim them as their own?
Yes
Or will they merely be liberated if the US take them?
No.
The Dutch territories are like the French territories (after Paris falls), except that UK/ANZ has the “special ability” to take control of the (Dutch) friendly territories with a non-com of a ground unit into them.
So if the Axis take control of a Dutch territory, then basically you can forget that it was ever Dutch. Yes, any ally can then take control of the Dutch territory when taking it back from the Axis
Thanks for your help, guys! :)
Yes, I’m definitely enjoying the game. Just finished G6 yesterday and I’m standing pretty in Moscow with 92 IPC’s in my bank and decent control in both theatres. We’ve been playing Friday, saturday and sunday. :D Gotta get some gaming in now as he’s expecting a baby in two weeks. 8-)
I’ve been playing A&A since ca 1990 but mostly revised enhanced.
-
Just a quick recap of the various straits and canals.
Denmark controls the Passing of the Danish straits and only allies may pass.
Gibraltar controls the Strait of Gibraltar and allies and all subs may pass.
The Suez Canal and Istanbul: One must controll both sides for any ships to pass.
Is this correct?
-
@wittmann:
The Germans own Denmark, so it is the Axis who are permitted to pass (or give permission to the Russians to pass, when not at war).
Gib: correct.
It is not Istanbul, but the territory of Trans Jordan that is the second territory, along with Egypt, that allows passage of the Suez.You misread my post a little. I wrote “allies” not “The Allies”. As in allies of whomever holds Denmark. Italy is an ally of Germany, though seldom ventures that far north.
The Suez canal and the Istanbul passage are two different passages. I’m aware.
But thanks. :)
-
You must control both sides to pass the Suez, but both sides of the Turkish Straits are Turkey. So you need two territories for the Suez but only one for every other strait. If that is what you meant, then you are correct.
-
My opponent just non-combed a DD into a sea zone containing some subs of mine. On my turn, may I move them out of the zone or will combat immediately ensue?
-
If you don’t want to fight the DD, you may move the subs out of the sea zone during the combat movement phase.
-
If you don’t want to fight the DD, you may move the subs out of the sea zone during the combat movement phase.
Thanks! Was hoping for that answer! ;)
So what if I attack a sea zone containing 1 DD and a bunch of trsp with my little fleet of subs. It’s adjacent to an aribase with 3 figs so I assume he can scramble. His figs get to shoot at my subs for one round because of the DD. My subs can’t hit his figs so any hits will be counted towards the DD. How will this be resolved if my subs hit first round and his figs don’t kill all of my subs. Will I win the battle and take out his transports?
-
Yes: If you sink the DD and have at least one surviving Sub, then all the Transports will sink.
-
The following situation. In Sea Zone 37, I as Japan have a destroyer and a transport. I have two land units in Siam. The UK has a cruiser and battleship in Sea Zone 37 as well. I can declare war THEN load my transport and go to Sumatra etc AND most importantly leave my destroyer in 37 to fight the UK? So in other words, when starting in a sea zone with enemy units, can some of your units stay and attack while others move on? Or must they move together?
-
Yes you can load the turn YOU Declare War.
They can split up, some moving and some staying. -
Thanks for the fastest reply ever Wittmann :-D
-
The units are assumed to get onboard before the DOW. But if the TT was in SZ36 the exemption would not apply.
-
Great site guys … New poster
Was wondering if you could help … have a question and I’ll provide a scenario:
Say you build an air base (say US) on a territory that US control on US turn and you already have 2 US planes on that territory (or u fly them in on that US turn. Then on UK’s turn you fly another British plane in.
If there is British navy in that seazone and it is attacked by Italy straight after UK’s move are the fighters allowed to scramble?Are the US fighters and the U.K. Fighters allowed to scramble or can none scramble until US next turn?
In other words is the air base operational as soon as it us placed on the board?
Please help … reading the rules I lean towards its operational for both movement (of foreign allies planes that are already there) and all planes that want to scramble as soon as it is placed on the board during US’s place units phase.
I’d appreciate your thoughts … Thank you.
-
Absolutely.
Indeed, the UK units if present would be able to use the airbase.
-
Say you build an air base (say US) on a territory that US control on US turn and you already have 2 US planes on that territory (or u fly them in on that US turn. Then on UK’s turn you fly another British plane in.
If there is British navy in that seazone and it is attacked by Italy straight after UK’s move are the fighters allowed to scramble?Yes, all fighters from the same side, Axis or Allies, can scramble to defend any ships in the alliance or coastal territories that are being attacked by amphibious assault
Are the US fighters and the U.K. Fighters allowed to scramble or can none scramble until US next turn?
In other words is the air base operational as soon as it us placed on the board?
Yes, bases are operational immediately. It’s not like new IC’s that have to wait a turn to produce.