@Bass:
I want to upgrade a minor IC to a Major IC in Kiangsu. Can I build units in the IC and then upgrade same turn? Can upgrade and then place more than 3 units in the same turn?
This is against the rules. As Kiangsu is originally controlled by China:
@rulebook:
A minor industrial complex can be upgraded to a major one at
a cost of 20 IPCs. The industrial complex to be upgraded must be located on an originally controlled (not captured) territory
that you have controlled since the beginning of your turn and that has an IPC value of 3 or higher.
Upgrading factories takes place in the “Mobilize New Units”-Phase, see:
@rulebook:
The number of combat (land, air, or sea) units that can be
produced by each industrial complex each turn is limited
to 10 for major industrial complexes and 3 for minor ones.
(If you are upgrading a minor industrial complex to a major
one, you may still only mobilize up to 3 combat units from
that industrial complex this turn.)
HTH :-)